Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

Ortona. Vimy Ridge. Juno Beach. Queenston Heights. These four places echo throughout Canadian military history and resonate in the minds of many Canadians. Other important names ring much less forcefully in popular memory. We would like to change that. This series of articles focuses on our country’s lesser-known military engagements during Canada’s wars, as part of United Nations peacekeeping missions (UNPROFOR), and in fulfilling commitments to NATO allies. We begin with the Battle of Medak Pocket.

A region at war

In 1991, war broke out in the former Yugoslavia in Southeastern Europe. Forces from many sides—Croats, Serbs and Bosnians, Christians and Muslims—fought to secure and expand their territorial claims. Croatia and neighbouring Bosnia and Herzegovina saw particularly bitter violence. Months of fighting killed hundreds of civilians. Troops chased many thousands more from their homes. The international community had moved to curb the fighting and Canadian Armed Forces members were part of the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR) mission in the region to help restore peace.

A fragile peace

The two sides failed to keep the peace. They sniped, fired shells and carried out small-scale attacks. Much of the shelling by Serb Krajina forces against the Croatian Army originated from high ground near Medak, Croatia. On 9 September 1993, the Croats began an offensive to take that position. After several days of intense fighting, another ceasefire agreement was arranged. It required all warring forces to pull out of the so-called Medak Pocket the Croatian Army had taken during its offensive.

A peace kept by force

On 15 September 1993, UNPROFOR sent hundreds of soldiers from the 2nd Battalion Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, supported by troops from France, to oversee the withdrawal. The Croats had other plans. In an attempt to move the Canadians out of the Medak Pocket, the Croats rained down heavy machine gun and artillery fire on our troops. The Canadians didn’t back down. They built a fortified position to withstand the shelling, return fire, and beat back night assaults by the Croatian infantry. The next day an impromptu news conference by Canadian commander, Lieutenant-Colonel James Calvin, pressured Croatians to relent and the Canadians finally advanced into the Medak Pocket. Sadly they found evidence of ethnic cleansing of Serbian residents by Croatian forces, but their arrival had stopped additional killing.

A duty to remember

Four Canadian soldiers were wounded in what is considered a forgotten chapter in our country’s military history. Despite the public’s lack of knowledge, the Battle of Medak Pocket is considered by many to be the toughest action faced by our troops in the period between the conflicts in Korea and Afghanistan. In 2002, the fog that shrouded the battle began to lift when Governor-General Adrienne Clarkson bestowed the Commander-in-Chief Unit Commendation on the 2nd Battalion Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry. "Your actions were nothing less than heroic and yet your country didn't recognize it at the time,” she told them. “Now I hope that the Canadian people will celebrate you for what you did, for what you represent, for how you have contributed to the pride we have in being Canadians."

Date published: 2020-02-10


Articles for Veterans and families

Todd Ross: Success in spite of the harassment

Todd Ross: Success in spite of the harassment

Expelled from the Royal Canadian Navy in the LGBT purge, Todd Ross turned his considerable talents to build an impressive public service career, and helped lead the drive for redress from the federal government.

Veteran story: Dave Berry

Veteran story: Dave Berry

Dave Berry’s life and career have changed direction a number of times. Sometimes, the shifts were surprising—even to him.

John's Story

John's Story

John O’Neill’s service record is a roadmap of places where Canadian service men and women have made a real difference over the past two decades. Bosnia in 1998. Kosovo in 1999. Ethiopia and Eritrea in 2000. Afghanistan in 2007 and again in 2010.

Date modified:

Les combats oubliés : la bataille de l’enclave de Medak

Parfois, on ne peut maintenir la paix qu’en se battant. La bataille de l’enclave de Medak en est la preuve.

Partager cet article sur:
Les combats oubliés : la bataille de l’enclave de Medak

Ortona. La crête de Vimy. Juno Beach. Queenston Heights. Ces quatre lieux ont un écho dans toute l’histoire militaire canadienne et résonnent dans l’esprit de nombreux Canadiens. D’autres noms importants résonnent nettement moins fortement dans la mémoire populaire. Nous aimerions que cela change. Cette série d’articles est axée sur les engagements militaires les moins connus de notre pays au cours des guerres auxquelles il a pris part, dans le cadre des missions de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies auxquelles il a participé (FORPRONU) et de l’exécution de ses engagements envers ses alliés de l’OTAN. Nous commençons par la bataille de l’enclave de Medak.

Une région en guerre

En 1991, la guerre a éclaté en ex-Yougoslavie, eu Europe du Sud-Est. Des forces de nombreux côtés – Croates, Serbes et Bosniaques, chrétiens et musulmans – se sont battues pour garantir et élargir leurs revendications territoriales. Les combats ont été particulièrement violents dans la zone frontalière entre la Croatie et la Bosnie-Herzégovine. Des mois d’affrontements ont provoqué la mort de centaines de civils. Les soldats en ont chassé des milliers d’autres de leurs habitations. La communauté internationale s’était mobilisée pour faire cesser les combats, et les membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont pris part à la mission de la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) dans la région pour aider à rétablir la paix.

Une paix fragile

Les deux parties ont échoué à maintenir la paix. Elles ont tiré des coups de feu et des obus, et ont mené des attaques de petite envergure. La plus grande partie des tirs d’artillerie effectués par les forces serbes de Krajina contre l’armée croate provenait d’un terrain surélevé à proximité de Medak en Croatie. Le 9 septembre 1993, les Croates ont lancé une offensive dans le but de s’emparer de cette position. Après plusieurs jours de combats intenses, un autre accord de cessez-le-feu a été signé. L’accord exigeait des forces croates et des forces serbes de Krajina qu’elles se retirent de l’enclave à travers laquelle l’armée croate avait coupé au cours de son offensive.

Une paix maintenue par la force

Le 15 septembre 1993, la FORPRONU a envoyé des centaines de soldats du groupe tactique du 2e bataillon du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, appuyés par des troupes françaises, pour surveiller le retrait. Les Croates avaient d’autres plans. Pour tenter d’obliger les Canadiens à abandonner leurs positions dans l’enclave de Medak, les Croates ont fait pleuvoir des grenades propulsées par fusée et des tirs d’artillerie sur nos troupes. Les Canadiens ont résisté. Ils ont construit une position fortifiée pour résister au bombardement, riposter et repousser les attaques nocturnes de l’infanterie croate. Le jour suivant, lors d’une conférence de presse impromptue donnée par un commandant canadien, le lieutenant-colonel James Calvin, on a fait pression sur les Croates pour qu’ils cessent leur résistance, et les Canadiens sont enfin entrés dans l’enclave de Medak. Malheureusement, ils ont trouvé des preuves de nettoyage ethnique des résidents serbes par les forces croates, mais leur arrivée avait empêché d’autres décès.

Un devoir de mémoire

Quatre soldats canadiens ont été blessés dans ce que l’on considère comme un chapitre oublié de l’histoire militaire de notre pays. Malgré le manque de connaissances de la population, nombre d’observateurs considèrent la bataille de l’enclave de Medak comme le combat le plus dur qu’aient mené les Forces armées canadiennes entre les conflits de Corée et d’Afghanistan. En 2002, le brouillard qui enveloppait la bataille a commencé à se dissiper lorsque la gouverneure générale Adrienne Clarkson a remis la Mention élogieuse du commandant en chef à l’intention des unités du 2e bataillon Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry. « Votre action n’a été rien moins qu’héroïque, et pourtant, à l’époque, votre pays ne l’a pas reconnu », leur a-t-elle dit. « J’espère maintenant que le peuple canadien vous rendra hommage pour ce que vous avez accompli, pour ce que vous représentez, pour la façon dont vous avez contribué à notre fierté d’être Canadiens. »

Date de publication : 2020-02-10

Date de modification :