Language selection

Munnings – The War Years: 1918 War Artist Exhibition

The Beaverbrook Art Gallery

Munnings – The War Years is a 1918 war artist travelling exhibition organized by the Canadian War Museum and London’s National Army Museum. It brings together for the first time in nearly a century over 40 original impressionist paintings. The Beaverbrook Art Gallery in Fredericton, New Brunswick was the first stop on the exhibition’s Canadian tour.

Share this article on:

The Beaverbrook Art Gallery presents a rotating schedule of contemporary and historical exhibitions that give focus to the art and visual culture of New Brunswick and the Atlantic region, as well as of Canada and Britain. The exceptional exhibition of Munnings – The War Years reveals Sir Alfred Munnings’ powerful legacy, making it possible to more clearly understand Canada’s First World War experience.

The exhibition, showcasing Alfred Munnings’ artistic talent, was made possible through funding support from the Commemorative Partnership Program.

“This funding enabled our goal of community engagement as we wanted to create an appreciation of what it was like to experience war,” says Tom Smart, Director and CEO of the Beaverbrook Art Gallery. “And from an arts perspective, we were very pleased to showcase Munnings’ work because he demonstrated the relationship between soldier and horse in military operations, capturing their beauty in the war-affected landscapes of France in 1918.”

Alfred Munnings was commissioned in 1918 by Lord Beaverbrook through the Canadian War Memorials Fund to paint scenes illustrating the Canadian Cavalry Brigade and the Canadian Forestry Corps in battle. “He is one of the more important British painters and an official war artist of the first half of the twentieth century,” says Smart.

The essential role of the horse

In his art, the unique bond between horse and soldier was beautifully captured. Munnings portrayed the significant role of the horse during the Great War, from hauling artillery guns, to transporting vital supplies and ammunition, and carrying men into battle. He also successfully portrayed how soldiers cared for horses. The horses and soldiers were a team living in close proximity when on active service. They relied on each other. Munnings often painted representations of a soldier’s strength coupled with his compassion for his horse. As an artist, he captured the human side of war.

Inspired by art

In addition to presenting this exhibition, the Beaverbrook Art Gallery has partnered with CFB Gagetown to develop a full educational arts program to engage youth, Veterans, Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members, and the general public.

Alfred Munnings used art as a tool of engagement and his work gave soldiers hope. His contribution to the war effort will forever be recognized in our history.

“We’d like to inspire the local CAF community at CFB Gagetown to use their artistic abilities and to celebrate their service through art,” says Smart. “We know that through his paintings, Alfred Munnings was able to express friendship, caring, creativity, and spirit of innovation in support of mental health”.

Honouring Canada’s Veterans

Veterans Affairs Canada honours those who served Canada during times of war, military conflict and peace, and keeps the memory of their achievements and sacrifices alive for all Canadians. Funding is available to organizations undertaking commemorative initiatives through the Commemorative Partnership Program.

Note: Due to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, Munnings – The War Years, 1918 war artist exhibition was closed to all visitors at the end of March. The Beaverbrook Art Gallery has established a partnership with the Canadian War Museum for future projects of this kind.

Date published: 2020-11-26


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Munnings – The War Years : Exposition de l’artiste de guerre de 1918

Galerie d’art Beaverbrook

Munnings – The War Years est une exposition itinérante de l’artiste de guerre de 1918 organisée par le Musée canadien de la guerre et le National Army Museum de Londres. Elle réunit pour la première fois en près d’un siècle plus de 40 peintures impressionnistes originales. La Galerie d’art Beaverbrook de Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, était le premier arrêt de la tournée canadienne de l’exposition.

Partager cet article sur :

La Galerie d’art Beaverbrook présente en alternance des expositions contemporaines et historiques qui mettent l’accent sur l’art et la culture visuelle du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la région de l’Atlantique, ainsi que du Canada et de la Grande Bretagne. L’exposition exceptionnelle de Munnings – The War Years révèle le remarquable héritage de sir Alfred Munnings, permettant ainsi de mieux comprendre l’expérience canadienne de la Première Guerre mondiale.

L’exposition, qui fait connaître le talent artistique d’Alfred Munnings, a pu être réalisée grâce au soutien financier du Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration.

« Ce financement a permis d’atteindre notre objectif d’action communautaire, car nous voulions créer une appréciation de l’expérience de guerre », déclare Tom Smart, directeur et chef de la direction de la Galerie d’art Beaverbrook. « Et d’un point de vue artistique, nous étions très heureux de présenter le travail de Munnings, parce qu’il a montré la relation entre le soldat et le cheval dans les opérations militaires, saisissant leur beauté dans les paysages français touchés par la guerre en 1918. »

Dans le cadre du Canadian War Memorials Fund, Lord Beaverbrook a demandé à Alfred Munnings en 1918 de peindre des scènes illustrant la Brigade de cavalerie canadienne et le Corps forestier canadien au combat. « Il est l’un des plus importants peintres britanniques et un artiste de guerre officiel de la première moitié du vingtième siècle », affirme Smart.

Le rôle essentiel du cheval

Dans son art, le lien unique entre le cheval et le soldat était magnifiquement immortalisé. Munnings a représenté l’important rôle du cheval pendant la Grande Guerre : du tir des pièces d’artillerie au transport des fournitures essentielles et des munitions, et comme monture dans les batailles. Par ailleurs, il a réussi à donner une idée de la façon dont les soldats prenaient soin des chevaux. Le cheval et le soldat formaient une équipe qui cohabitait en service actif. Ils reposaient l’un sur l’autre. Munnings peignait souvent des toiles représentant la force du soldat jumelée à sa compassion pour son cheval. En tant qu’artiste, il a reproduit le côté humain de la guerre.

Inspiré par l’art

En plus de tenir cette exposition, la Galerie d’art Beaverbrook s’est associée à la BFC Gagetown pour élaborer un programme d’arts éducatif complet visant à mobiliser les jeunes, les vétérans, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et le grand public.

Alfred Munnings a utilisé l’art comme outil de mobilisation et son travail a donné de l’espoir aux soldats. Sa contribution à l’effort de guerre sera à jamais reconnue dans notre histoire.

« Nous aimerions que les membres de la communauté locale des FAC à la BFC Gagetown utilisent leurs capacités artistiques et célèbrent leur service avec l’art, dit Smart. Nous savons que par ses peintures, Alfred Munnings a pu exprimer l’amitié, la compassion, la créativité et l’esprit d’innovation en vue de favoriser la santé mentale. »

Hommage aux vétérans canadiens

Anciens Combattants Canada honore ceux qui ont servi le Canada en temps de guerre, de conflit militaire et de paix, et grave dans la mémoire de tous les Canadiens le souvenir de leurs réalisations et de leurs sacrifices dans le cadre du Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration.

Remarque : En raison de l’éclosion de la pandémie de COVID‑19, l’exposition de l’artiste de guerre de 1918 Munnings – The War Years était fermée à tous les visiteurs à la fin de mars. La Galerie d’art Beaverbrook a établi un partenariat avec le Musée canadien de la guerre pour d’autres projets de ce genre.

Date de publication : 2020-11-26


Date de modification :