Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

Howard Elson has experienced his fair share of action and adventure over the years. He often reflects about the events that have shaped his journey through life.

Mr. Elson served 31 years with the Canadian Army's artillery division, with postings all over Canada and even along the Rhine river in Germany. After an accident in 1979 while working with the 155mm artillery shells left Mr. Elson with a permanent back injury, he left the Army to recover.

He didn't let his injury stop him from pursuing a number of different opportunities after his service, including many years working as a training officer for the Canadian Rangers, as well as a security guard for a mining company in Labrador.

Discovering the Veterans Independence Program

At 78 years young, Mr. Elson now receives support through the Veterans Independence Program, such as snow removal services and regular assistance around his Nova Scotia home. "I didn't know about Veterans Affairs when I released," Mr. Elson recalls. "I only found out in 1996!"

He encourages any Veteran who feels they might benefit from the program to apply. "By all means, look into it. I've been happy with what the program has to offer, and it's always easy to get answers if ever I have questions."

If you'd like to know more about what this program can do for you, please visit the Veterans Independence Program Web site.

"By all means, look into it. I've been happy with what the program has to offer, and it's always easy to get answers if ever I have questions".

Articles for Veterans and families

Veterans: Life After the Forces Exhibit

Veterans: Life After the Forces Exhibit

“In order to better understand Veterans and the reality they face after release, it’s critical to know who they are, where they come from and what they’ve been through".

Veteran Family Program

Veteran Family Program

The Veteran Family Program connected Jo Anne and Michael Truskoski to a network of support while navigating the challenges of life after service.

What single parents need to know during and after transition

What single parents need to know during and after transition

Dr. Alla Skomorovksy is a defence scientist at the Department of National Defence who conducts research on military families and well-being. Her recent work highlights the strain some single parents feel while serving or during transition. Here is what you need to know.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Partager cet article sur:

Howard Elson a vécu sa juste part d'action et d'aventure au fil des ans. Il repense souvent aux événements qui ont façonné son cheminement de vie.

Au cours des 31 ans pendant lesquels il a servi au sein de la division de l'artillerie de l'armée canadienne, M. Elson a eu des affectations partout au Canada et même dans la vallée du Rhin en Allemagne. Après qu'un accident subi en 1979 alors qu'il travaillait avec des obus d'artillerie de 155 mm l'a laissé avec une blessure permanente au dos, M. Elson a quitté l'armée pour se rétablir.

Il n'a pas laissé cette blessure l'empêcher de profiter de différentes occasions après son service, notamment de nombreuses années à travailler comme officier de l'instruction pour les Rangers canadiens, ainsi que comme garde de sécurité pour une entreprise minière au Labrador.

Découverte du Programme pour l'autonomie des anciens combattants

Maintenant âgé de 78 ans, M. Elson reçoit du soutien dans le cadre du Programme pour l'autonomie des anciens combattants, comme des services de déneigement et de l'aide régulière dans sa maison en Nouvelle-Écosse. « Je ne connaissais pas le ministère des Anciens Combattants quand j'ai été libéré, souligne M. Elson. Je ne l'ai découvert qu'en 1996! »

Il encourage tout vétéran croyant pouvoir bénéficier du programme à présenter une demande. « Absolument, il faut le faire. Je suis très satisfait de ce que le programme a à m'offrir, et c'est toujours facile d'obtenir des réponses lorsque j'ai des questions. »

Si vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur ce que ce programme peut faire pour vous, visitez le site Web Programme pour l'autonomie des anciens combattants.

« Absolument, il faut le faire. Je suis très satisfait de ce que le programme a à m'offrir, et c'est toujours facile d'obtenir des réponses lorsque j'ai des questions. »

Articles pour les vétérans et leur famille

Le plus tôt sera le mieux : quand commencer à réfléchir à la vie après le service

Le plus tôt sera le mieux : quand commencer à réfléchir à la vie après le service

Le colonel (retraité) Mark Gasparotto a fait carrière au sein des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) pendant vingt ans avant d’être libéré. Au moment de la remise de son fourbi et de la signature de tous les documents nécessaires, il réfléchissait à sa transition vers la vie civile depuis dix ans.

Modernisation des Services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle

Modernisation des Services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle

Services de réadaptation de pointe adaptés aux besoins individuels.

Les combats oubliés : la bataille de l’enclave de Medak

Les combats oubliés : la bataille de l’enclave de Medak

Parfois, on ne peut maintenir la paix qu’en se battant. La bataille de l’enclave de Medak en est la preuve.

Date de modification :