Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

Canadian Armed Forces personnel have taken part in many combat and peacekeeping operations overseas since the end of the Second World War. What may be less well known is the role Canadian police officers play in overseas deployments.

Their duties have centered mostly on training, mentoring and monitoring police forces, as well as focusing on security and justice sector reforms.

We recognize these members—be they Veterans or personnel who still serve—with a close look at five of these deployments:

  1. Bosnia and Herzegovina. From 1996 to 2005, Canada supplied police officers to the United Nations Mission in Bosnia and Herzegovina and to the European Union Police Mission. The Canadian personnel helped develop a civilian police force in the war torn Balkan country. Fifteen RCMP officers were among the mission’s first contingent.
  2. Afghanistan. From 2003 to 2014, Canada played a prominent role in the United Nations mandated and NATO led mission in Afghanistan. Some 300 police officers served along with thousands of military personnel and many diplomats. These officers, many from the RCMP, trained and mentored their counterparts in the Afghan national police.
  3. Haiti. Since 1990, peacekeepers from the Canadian Armed Forces and civilian police forces have served in Haiti on various United Nations missions. For the RCMP, the United Nations Civilian Police Mission in Haiti (MIPONUH) stands out as being the most consequential of all deployments. Operating from 1997 to 2000, the mission was made up of 300 police personnel from Canada and 10 other countries. Its role was to improve the methods and conduct of the country’s national police.
  4. Ukraine. Seventeen RCMP officers are deployed in Ukraine as of September 2019. These personnel serve as part of two missions: a bilateral operation with Ukraine’s national police, and EUAM Ukraine (the European Union Advisory Mission for Civilian Security Sector Reform). They supply training and advice to strengthen the effectiveness of the country’s national police in dealing with criminal investigations and in preventing and responding to gender based violence.
  5. Mali. As of September 2019, nine RCMP officers are serving in Mali. They are in the West African country as part of MINUSMA (the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali) and EUCAP Sahel Mali (the European Union capacity building mission). These officers have joined colleagues from other countries to improve the abilities of Malian police to uphold laws and protect civilians, to ultimately improve the safety and security of the Malian people.

Date published: 2020-02-04


Articles for Veterans and families

Chris Batchilder: Senior Business Analyst, My VAC Account

Chris Batchilder: Senior Business Analyst, My VAC Account

Growing up, I never imagined I would serve in the military. Some 30 years later, I’m not only a Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces, but also an employee of Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC). Funny how life goes.

The sooner, the better: when to start thinking about life after service

The sooner, the better: when to start thinking about life after service

Mark Gasparotto spent 20 years in the Canadian Armed Forces before he released from service. By the time he turned in the last of his kit and signed all the necessary paperwork, he had been thinking about his transition for a decade.

Goddard Peace Conference

Goddard Peace Conference

“Every year, kids who didn’t know each other in the morning are hugging goodbye at the end of the day. It gives me goosebumps,” says Susan Casey, Principal of East St. Margaret's Elementary School in Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Partager cet article sur:

Depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont pris part à de nombreuses opérations de combat et de maintien de la paix à l'étranger. Ce qui est peut-être moins bien connu, c'est le rôle que les policiers canadiens ont joué dans les déploiements à l'étranger.

Leurs fonctions ont consisté sur la formation, l'encadrement et le suivi des forces de police, ainsi que sur la réforme du secteur de la sécurité et de la justice.

Nous rendons hommage à ces membres – qu'il s'agisse de vétérans ou de membres du personnel qui servent encore – en examinant de près cinq de ces déploiements.

  1. Bosnie-Herzégovine. De 1996 à 2005, le Canada a envoyé des policiers prendre part à la Mission des Nations Unies en Bosnie-Herzégovine et à la Mission de police de l’Union européenne. Le personnel canadien a aidé à mettre sur pied une force de police civile dans ce pays des Balkans déchiré par la guerre. Quinze agents de la GRC faisaient partie du premier contingent de la mission.
  2. Afghanistan. De 2003 à 2014, le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la mission mandatée par les Nations Unies et dirigée par l’OTAN en Afghanistan. Quelque 300 policiers ont servi aux côtés de milliers de militaires et de nombreux diplomates. Ces agents, dont plusieurs membres de la GRC, ont formé et encadré leurs homologues de la police nationale afghane.
  3. Haïti. Depuis 1990, des Casques bleus des Forces armées canadiennes et de la police civile ont servi en Haïti dans le cadre de diverses missions des Nations Unies. Pour la GRC, la Mission de police civile des Nations Unies en Haïti (MIPONUH) est le déploiement le plus important de tous. Ayant eu lieu de 1997 à 2000, la mission était composée de 300 policiers du Canada et de policiers de 10 autres pays. Son rôle était d’améliorer les méthodes et le comportement de la police nationale du pays.
  4. Ukraine. En septembre 2019, 17 agents de la GRC étaient déployés en Ukraine. Ce personnel fait partie de deux missions : une opération bilatérale avec la police nationale ukrainienne et l’EUAM Ukraine (mission de conseil de l’Union européenne sur la réforme du secteur de la sécurité civile en Ukraine). Ils fournissent une formation et des conseils pour renforcer l’efficacité de la police nationale du pays dans le traitement des enquêtes criminelles et dans la prévention et l’intervention en cas de violence fondée sur le genre.
  5. Mali. Depuis septembre 2019, neuf agents de la GRC sont en service au Mali. Ils se trouvent dans ce pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest dans le cadre de la MINUSMA (Mission multidimensionnelle intégrée des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation au Mali) et de l’EUCAP Sahel Mali (mission de renforcement des capacités de l’Union européenne). Ces agents se sont joints à des collègues d’autres pays pour améliorer la capacité de la police malienne à faire respecter les lois et à protéger les civils, afin d’améliorer la sécurité et la sûreté du peuple malien.

Date de publication : 2020-02-04


Articles pour les vétérans et leur famille

« It’s Not ’Cuz of Me »

« It’s Not ’Cuz of Me »

Livre pour aider à faire comprendre l’ESPT aux enfants

Exposition militaire mobile des Premières Nations

Exposition militaire mobile des Premières Nations

L’exposition militaire mobile des Premières Nations présente des articles militaires appartenant à des membres du peuple Mohawk ayant servi dans différents théâtres de guerre.

L’histoire de John

L’histoire de John

John O’Neill et sa femme Tracy parlent de leur expérience concernant la préparation de John à quitter les forces militaires.

Date de modification :