Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

It is natural to be concerned about the future, but studies show that 52% of Veterans report easy adjustments to their post-service lives. With proper planning and support, you can make the most of out of this important period in your life.

What is a transition interview?

When transitioning to life after service, one of the steps you should take is to complete a transition interview. It is a discussion about your particular needs and experiences, it can answer questions you have about your transition to post-service life, and provide information on programs that may be available to you. A transition interview can:

  • offer advice on applying for Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) programs,
  • refer you to a case manager from VAC or the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), and
  • refer you and your family members to other community service providers.

Bring a family member to your transition interview. Your family transitions with you. Their perspective on this important life change can offer new ideas and new solutions to challenges.

What do I need to bring?

You do not need to bring anything to your transition interview, but you may wish to prepare ahead of time. Think about:

  • what activities you find meaningful or beneficial,
  • how you will ensure financial security for you and your family, and
  • ways you could become engaged in your community and create a support network around you

Do I qualify? When should I schedule an interview?

If you served in either the CAF or the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), you qualify for a transition interview. Interviews are available to all regular and reserve members of the CAF—and regular and civilian members of the RCMP—if you have already started, or plan to start, your release process.

There is no set time to schedule a transition interview, but it is best to go through the process before you release. We recommend scheduling as early as possible—up to six months, or even a year before you release—so you can be fully prepared. Doing so helps us understand your needs and gives us time to work with you to complete applications for any programs and benefits for which you may qualify.

Even if you have already released, you may still qualify for a transition interview. Contact us to learn more.

Schedule your interview

Schedule your transition interview by visiting your local Transition Centre or a regional VAC office. You can also call 1-866-522-2122.

Date published: 2020-01-29


Articles for Veterans and families

John's Story

John's Story

John O’Neill’s service record is a roadmap of places where Canadian service men and women have made a real difference over the past two decades. Bosnia in 1998. Kosovo in 1999. Ethiopia and Eritrea in 2000. Afghanistan in 2007 and again in 2010.

Preserving Canadian military gravesites

Preserving Canadian military gravesites

A retired Technician with the Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Corps in the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), Nick Hébert now works with Commemoration Division’s Cemetery Maintenance team at Veterans Affairs Canada.

Veteran Family Program

Veteran Family Program

The Veteran Family Program connected Jo Anne and Michael Truskoski to a network of support while navigating the challenges of life after service.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Tirez le maximum de votre entrevue de transition

Quitter l’armée peut représenter un grand changement. En tant que vétéran vous préparant à la transition, vous pouvez vous poser des questions sur votre vie après le service, telles que « où vais-je trouver un travail? », « suis-je admissible à des avantages et services? », « à quels soutiens communautaires ai-je accès? »

Partager cet article sur:
Transition Interview

Il est normal d’être préoccupé par son avenir, mais des études montrent que 52 % des vétérans déclarent s’adapter facilement à la vie après le service. Avec un soutien et une planification adéquats, vous pouvez tirer le maximum de cette période importante de votre vie.

Qu’est-ce qu’une entrevue de transition?

Dans le cadre de la transition vers la vie après le service, l’une des étapes que vous devriez suivre consiste à passer l’entrevue de transition. Il s’agit d’une discussion portant sur vos besoins et expériences propres, sur les questions que vous vous posez au sujet de la transition vers la vie après le service, et sur les programmes auxquels vous pourriez avoir accès. Une entrevue de transition peut :

  • vous offrir des conseils au sujet des demandes de participation aux programmes d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC);
  • vous aiguiller vers un gestionnaire de cas d’ACC ou des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC);
  • aiguiller les membres de votre famille et vous-même vers d’autres fournisseurs de services dans la collectivité.

Venez à votre entrevue de transition avec un membre de votre famille. Votre famille effectue la transition avec vous. Son point de vue sur cet important changement de vie peut apporter de nouvelles idées et de nouvelles solutions aux défis.

Que dois-je apporter?

Vous n’avez rien besoin d’apporter à votre entrevue de transition, mais il est conseillé de s’y préparer. Réfléchissez à ce qui suit :

  • Quelles activités jugez-vous utiles ou bénéfiques?
  • Comment allez-vous assurer votre sécurité financière et celle de votre famille?
  • De quelles manières pourriez-vous vous impliquer dans votre collectivité et dans des relations de soutien mutuel?

Suis-je admissible? Quand devrais-je planifier une entrevue?

Si vous avez servi dans les FAC ou dans la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), vous êtes admissible à une entrevue de transition. Les entrevues sont offertes à tous les membres réguliers et aux réservistes des FAC – ainsi qu’aux membres réguliers et civils de la GRC – si vous avez déjà entrepris ou envisagez d’entreprendre votre processus de libération.

Il n’y a pas de moment déterminé pour planifier une entrevue de transition, mais il est préférable de s’engager dans le processus avant votre libération. Nous recommandons de planifier votre entrevue aussi tôt que possible – six mois, voire un an avant votre libération – afin d’y être pleinement préparé. En procédant de la sorte, vous nous aidez à comprendre vos besoins, et cela nous donne du temps pour travailler à vos côtés à remplir les demandes relatives aux programmes et avantages auxquels vous pourriez être admissible.

Même si vous avez déjà été libéré, vous pouvez tout de même être admissible à une entrevue de transition. Communiquez avec nous pour en savoir davantage.

Planifiez votre entrevue

Planifiez votre entrevue de transition en vous rendant dans le centre de transition de votre localité ou dans un bureau régional d’ACC. Vous pouvez également composer le 1-866-522-2022.

Date de publication : 2020-01-29

Date de modification :