Chronic Otitis Media

MPC 00642

ICD-9 318.0, 381.1, 381.2, 381.3, 381.4; 382 (Cross reference with Conductive and Sensorineural Hearing Loss and Otitic Barotrauma)

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

On this page

Definition

Otitis Media is an inflammation in the middle ear. The middle ear is an air chamber containing the mechanism that conducts sound from the air in the external ear to the fluid in the inner ear. It includes the eardrum (tympanic membrane), the ossicles and their ligaments. Various terms are employed to categorize Otitis Media, with inconsistencies in the precise meaning of the various terms.

This guideline excludes acute Otitis Media.

Please note: Entitlement should be granted for a chronic condition only. For VAC purposes, "chronic" means that the condition has existed for at least 6 months. Signs and symptoms are generally expected to persist despite medical attention, although they may wax and wane over the 6 month period and thereafter.

Diagnostic Standard

A diagnosis from a qualified medical practitioner is required. Occasionally, a tympanogram will be helpful.

Evidence of duration of a disability for at least 6 months should be provided.

Anatomy and Physiology

The usual chronology of events in Otitis Media, the various terms applied, and the categories of Otitis Media follow.

Chronology:

The middle ear receives its ventilation and oxygen through the eustachian tube, which acts as a pressure-regulating device for the middle ear. When it is not functioning properly a condition called aero-otitis can develop. The term barotrauma may also refer to middle ear difficulties resulting from exposure to abnormal atmospheric pressure.

The eustachian tube can remain closed for a variety of reasons. A non-functioning eustachian tube will prevent the air in the middle ear space from being exchanged with the ambient air. The result is known as atelectasis, i.e. the tissues of the middle ear begin absorbing the air in the middle ear. Atelectasis leads to a displacement of the drum inward, i.e. a drum retraction.

Following retraction, several kinds of fluid, know as effusion, can collect in the middle ear space. A clear, watery substance (serum) may be drawn from the surrounding tissues. A thicker substance (mucus) may be secreted from glands. Blood from ruptured vessels may collect. These three types of fluid may accumulate independently or simultaneously. The middle ear can become infected, which creates a variety of substances. If an infection is present, the effusion is described as purulent or suppurative. With time the fluid thickens and adhesions, i.e. bands of fibrous tissue, form on the ossicles and can ultimately destroy them.

With continuation of the infectious process, the eardrum may rupture spontaneously. This produces a discharge of purulent matter (otorrhea). In most cases the perforation resulting from the rupture of the eardrum will heal spontaneously. A thinner membrane at the location of the rupture may result, known as a monomere. Scar tissue may form, known as tympanosclerosis. The rupture may destroy a portion of the eardrum or create a perforation too large to heal.

A perforation which involves the margin of the eardrum may cause a cholesteatoma, a cystic mass. The term keratoma is used synonymously with cholesteoma.

Long term infections may cause pathological changes in the mucosa of the middle ear and erosion, or necrosis of the ossicles. It may produce acute mastoiditis.

When the processes of Otitis Media first occur or are readily resolved with therapy, the term acute is used. If the processes are still active after approximately three weeks, or if medical intervention is not successful, or if the processes have occurred so often that a permanent perforation of the tympanic membrane is present, the term chronic is used. If there are repeated attacks of acute Otitis Media followed by periods of normal middle ear conditions, the term recurrent is used.

Categories:

The common categories of Otitis Media are as follows:

  1. Serous Otitis Media

    There is no infection. The condition is non-suppurative. There is often no pain unless the drum is severely retracted.

  2. Secretory Otitis Media

    The mucus membranes are swollen and thickened. The effusion is mucus. If no infection is present the condition is non-suppurative. Some authorities make no distinction between secretory and serous Otitis Media.

  3. Acute Suppurative Otitis Media

    This is generally an extension of an upper respiratory infection that reaches the middle ear via the eustachian tube, or more rarely through a perforated eardrum. The main symptom is otalgia, a throbbing ear ache.

  4. Chronic Suppurative Otitis Media

    This type occurs when middle ear infections are not controlled. A permanent tympanic membrane perforation may result. Cholesteatomas are common in this type. If adhesions are present, the condition is referred to as Adhesive Otitis Media.

The hearing loss that is produced by Otitis Media depends on a variety of factors. It can result from negative middle ear air pressure, from effusion, from adhesions, from a necrosis which results in a complete disarticulation of the ossicles, and from perforation of the tympanic membrane.

Clinical Features

Otitis Media is one of the most common causes of Conductive Hearing Loss, if not the most common cause. Fluctuating hearing sensitivity occurs. Perforation of the eardrum may result in ear drainage. Vertigo and/or Tinnitus may accompany Chronic Otitis Media.

Generally, Otitis Media with an intact eardrum results in minimal changes in hearing sensitivity, approximately 30 dB. There may be more of an impact on the lower frequencies, (up to about 1000 Hz), than on the higher frequencies. Ossicular discontinuities are associated with the maximum conductive hearing losses, of approximately 60 dB.

Treatment depends on the specific conditions involved. Surgery may be required depending on the reason for the dysfunction. If there is a danger that the drum may rupture spontaneously, an incision in the drum (myringotomy) may be made. If healing of a perforation does not occur, surgical repair (myringoplasty) may be performed. This procedure is one of a class of reconstructive operations called tympanoplasty. To prevent infection or growth reaching the covering of the brain, a modified radical mastoidectomy may be performed.

Much otological surgery is devoted to improvement or restoration of function. The aim of all tympanoplasty procedures is the restoration of hearing.

Pension Considerations

On this page

  1. Causes And / Or Aggravation

    The timelines cited below are not binding. Each case should be adjudicated on the evidence provided and its own merits.

    1. Dysfunction of the eustachian tube prior to clinical onset or aggravation

      Dysfunction can be influenced by, but not limited to, the following:

      • Barotrauma
      • Upper respiratory tract infection
      • Incomplete eustachian tube maturation
      • Abnormal or incomplete development of the muscles that open the eustachian tube (such as in congenital cleft palate)
      • Swelling of eustachian tube entrance in the nasopharynx due to allergy or infection
      • Swelling of adenoid tissue around the eustachian tube due to allergy or infection
      • Scar tissue after adenoidectomy
      • Improper nose blowing which may contribute to the secondary involvement of the ear during an upper respiratory infection
    2. Rupture of tympanic membrane

      For this factor to be considered, Otitis Media must occur before the healing of the rupture.

      Rupture of the drum membrane may be caused from the outside with a dirty instrument, such as a toothpick or a hairpin. In this manner, infection can be introduced. Rupture may be also caused by indirect trauma, such as blast injuries.

    3. Inability to obtain appropriate clinical management
  2. Medical Conditions Which Are To Be Included In Entitlement / Assessment

  3. Common Medical Conditions Which May Result In Whole Or In Part From Chronic Otitis media And / Or Its Treatment

    • Chronic mastoiditis
    • Cholesteatoma
    • Tinnitus
    • Vertigo
    • Facial nerve paralysis
    • Chronic otitis externa
    • Hearing loss

    Although the following conditions normally resolve completely, in some instances, permanent sequellae may result and consideration for pensioned entitlement could be considered. Medical consultation(s) should be requested on the following:

    • Meningitis
    • Subdural abscess
    • Cerebral abscess

References for Chronic Otitis Media

  1. Canada. Department of Veterans Affairs. Medical Guidelines on Hearing Loss
  2. Fauci, Anthony S. and Eugene Braunwald, et al, eds. Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 14th ed. Montreal: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
  3. Hallowell Davis and S. Richard Silverman. Hearing and Deafness. 4th ed. Montreal: Holt Rineheart and Winston, 1978, pp 107 - 111.
  4. Newby, Hayes A. and Gerald R. Popelka. Audiology. 6th ed. New Jersey: Prentice Hall, 1992, pp 71 - 80.
  5. Paparella, Michael and Donald A. Shumrick, et al, eds. Otolaryngology Vol II Otology and Neuro-Otology. 3rd ed. Chapter 45. Philadelphia: W. B. Saunders, 1991.
  6. Berkow, Robert and Andrew J. Fletcher, eds. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy. 16th ed. New Jersey: Merck, 1992.
Date modified:

Otite moyenne chronique

CMP 00642

CIM-9 318.0, 381.1, 381.2, 381.3, 381.4, 382 (références croisées : surdité de perception, surdité de transmission et otite barotraumatique)

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Sur cette page

Définition

L'otite moyenne est une inflammation de l'oreille moyenne, une cavité aérienne qui contient les mécanismes assurant la transmission des vibrations aériennes vers l'oreille externe, jusque dans le liquide de l'oreille interne. L'oreille moyenne comprend le tympan (membrane tympanique), les osselets et leurs ligaments. Différents termes, marquant parfois de cohérence dans leurs définitions, sont utilisés pour classer l'otite moyenne.

La présente ligne directrice exclut l'otite moyenne aiguë.

Nota : Seule une affection chronique donne droit à pension. Pour les besoins d'ACC, le terme « chronique » signifie que l'affection est présente depuis au moins six mois. Les signes et symptômes tendent généralement à persister malgré les soins médicaux prodigués, mais à des degrés qui peuvent fluctuer au cours des six premiers mois et par la suite.

Norme diagnostique

Un diagnostic doit être posé par un médecin qualifié. À l'occasion, un tympanogramme sera utile.

Il devrait être démontré que l'invalidité dure depuis au moins six mois.

Anatomie et physiologie

Cette section présente le processus morbide usuel de l'otite moyenne, les différents termes utilisés et les catégories d'otite moyenne.

Chronologie :

L'oreille moyenne est ventilée et oxygénée par l'entremise de la trompe d'Eustache, laquelle agit comme un régulateur de pression de l'oreille moyenne. Un dysfonctionnement de la trompe d'Eustache peut entraîner une affection appelée otite moyenne. Le terme barotraumatisme peut lui aussi faire référence à des troubles de l'oreille moyenne découlant de l'exposition à une pression atmosphérique anormale.

La trompe d'Eustache peut rester fermée pour diverses raisons. Le dysfonctionnement d'une trompe d'Eustache empêchera l'air de circuler entre l'extérieur et l'intérieur de la caisse du tympan. Le phénomène qui en découle est connu sous le nom d'atélectasie. En d'autres mots, les tissus de l'oreille moyenne se mettent à absorber l'air qui s'y trouve, provoquant un déplacement du tympan vers l'intérieur appelé rétraction du tympan.

Cette rétraction entraîne l'accumulation, dans l'oreille moyenne, de plusieurs liquides; ce phénomène est appelé épanchement. Trois types de liquides peuvent s'accumuler isolément ou simultanément : une substance claire et aqueuse (sérum) peut être drainée des tissus environnants; une autre substance plus épaisse (mucus) est sécrétée par les glandes et du sang peut s'accumuler par suite d'une rupture de vaisseaux. L'oreille moyenne peut s'infecter, ce qui contribuera à la formation de différentes substances. S'il y a infection, l'épanchement est dit purulent ou suppuré. Avec le temps, le liquide s'épaissit et des adhérences, c'est-à-dire des bandes de tissu fibreux, se forment sur les osselets et peuvent, à la limite, les détruire.

Si le processus infectieux se poursuit, une rupture spontanée de la membrane tympanique peut survenir et provoquer un écoulement de matière purulente (otorrhée). Le plus souvent, la perforation du tympan se répare spontanément, par la formation d'une membrane plus mince, connue sous le nom d'épithélium. Une tympanosclérose, ou formation d'un tissu cicatriciel, est également possible. Quant à la rupture, elle peut détruire une partie du tympan ou entraîner une perforation permanente, si son diamètre est trop important pour permettre la guérison.

Il est possible qu'une perforation marginale de la caisse du tympan évolue vers un cholestéatome ou kyste épidermique. Les termes kératome et cholestéatome sont interchangeables.

Les infections persistantes sont susceptibles de causer des écarts pathologiques de la muqueuse de l'oreille moyenne et une érosion ou nécrose des osselets pouvant mener à une mastoïdite aiguë.

Lorsque les processus infectieux entraînant l'otite moyenne se manifestent pour la première fois ou qu'on y remédie promptement par une thérapie, l'otite est qualifiée d'aiguë. Si les processus sont toujours en évolution après environ trois semaines ou si l'intervention médicale est un échec ou, encore, si la récurrence des processus a entraîné une perforation tympanique permanente, l'otite est dite chronique. En présence d'otites moyennes aiguës à répétition, entrecoupées de périodes pendant lesquelles l'oreille moyenne se rétablit, on parle d'otite récidivante.

Catégories :

Voici les catégories courantes de l'otite moyenne :

  1. Otite moyenne séreuse

    Il n'y a ni infection ni suppuration et, à moins d'une rétraction tympanique importante, l'otite séreuse est souvent indolore.

  2. Otite moyenne muqueuse

    Les membranes muqueuses sont bombées et épaissies, et l'épanchement est de type muqueux. En l'absence d'infection, l'otite est non suppurative. Certaines autorités du domaine médical ne font aucune distinction entre les otites séreuses et muqueuses.

  3. Otite moyenne aiguë suppurée

    On constate généralement qu'une infection des voies respiratoires supérieures a atteint l'oreille moyenne via la trompe d'Eustache ou, plus rarement, via un tympan perforé. L'otalgie, une douleur auriculaire pulsatille, en est le symptôme principal.

  4. Otite moyenne chronique suppurée

    Ce type d'otite apparaît lorsque des infections de l'oreille moyenne ne sont pas contrôlées et il peut mener à une perforation permanente de la membrane tympanique. Les cholestéatomes sont couramment associés à cette catégorie d'otite. L'otite adhésive est évoquée en présence d'adhérences.

La perte auditive provoquée par l'otite moyenne dépend de différents facteurs. Elle peut être associée à une pression d'air négative, dans l'oreille moyenne, due à un épanchement, des adhérences, une perforation de la membrane tympanique ou une nécrose menant à une désarticulation complète de la chaîne ossiculaire.

Caractéristiques cliniques

L'otite moyenne est une des causes les plus courantes de la surdité de transmission, sinon la plus courante. Elle s'accompagne d'une fluctuation de l'acuité auditive. La perforation du tympan peut également susciter un écoulement de l'oreille. Des vertiges et/ou acouphènes peuvent accompagner l'otite moyenne chronique.

En général, l'otite moyenne à tympan normal entraîne une diminution minime de l'acuité auditive, soit d'environ 30 dB. Il se peut que les fréquences basses soient plus lourdement touchées (jusqu'à 1 000 Hz) que les fréquences élevées. Les ruptures ossiculaires sont associées à des surdités de transmission profondes, représentant une perte auditive d'environ 60 dB.

Le traitement varie en fonction des particularités de l'affection. Selon l'origine du dysfonctionnement, il peut être nécessaire d'opérer. En cas de risque de rupture tympanique spontanée, on peut procéder à une incision au niveau du tympan (paracentèse). On peut également, si la perforation ne se cicatrise pas, recourir à une greffe (myringoplastie). La myringoplastie fait partie de la catégorie des opérations de reconstruction appelées tympanoplasties. Pour prévenir l'infection ou empêcher qu'elle ne s'étende aux méninges du cerveau, on peut pratiquer une mastoïdectomie radicale modifiée.

La chirurgie otologique se consacre surtout à l'amélioration ou à la restauration fonctionnelle. Toute tympanoplastie vise à restituer les capacités auditives.

Considérations liées à la pension

Sur cette page

  1. Causes et / ou aggravation

    Les conditions énoncées ci-dessous ne doivent pas obligatoirement être remplies. Dans chaque cas, la décision doit se prendre en fonction du bien-fondé de la demande et des preuves fournies.

    1. Dysfonctionnement de la trompe d'Eustache, avant l'apparition ou l'aggravation des symptômes. Voici quelques-uns des facteurs qui peuvent avoir une influence sur ce dysfonctionnement :
      • Barotraumatisme
      • Infection des voies respiratoires supérieures
      • Immaturité de la trompe d'Eustache
      • Béance ou obstruction tubaire découlant du développement incomplet ou anormal des muscles (telle que la fente palatine congénitale)
      • Hypertrophie de l'entrée de la trompe d'Eustache au niveau du nasopharynx, par suite d'une allergie ou d'une infection
      • Hypertrophie du tissu adénoïde entourant la trompe d'Eustache consécutive à une allergie ou à une infection
      • Formation d'un tissu cicatriciel à la suite d'une adénoïdectomie
      • Façon impropre de se moucher pouvant contribuer à la surinfection de l'oreille au cours d'une infection des voies respiratoires supérieures
    2. Rupture de la membrane tympanique

      Elle ne sera prise en considération que si l'otite moyenne survient avant sa guérison.

      La rupture de la membrane tympanique peut être causée par l'introduction dans l'oreille d'un objet souillé, tel qu'un cure-dents ou une épingle à cheveux, qui provoque une infection. La rupture peut également faire suite à un traumatisme, tel qu'une exposition à une onde de choc (effet de souffle).

    3. Incapacité d'obtenir un traitement médical approprié

  2. Affections dont il faut tenir compte dans la détermination du droit à pension/l'évaluation

  3. Affections courantes pouvant découler, en totalité ou en partie, d'un otite moyenne chronique et/ou de son traitement

    • Mastoïdite chronique
    • Cholestéatome
    • Acouphènes
    • Vertiges
    • Paralysie du nerf facial
    • Otite externe chronique
    • Perte auditive

    Bien que les affections suivantes guérissent en général complètement, dans certains cas, le patient peut avoir des séquelles permanentes et un droit à pension peut être envisagé. On doit demander une ou plusieurs consultations médicales pour les affections suivantes :

    • Méningite
    • Abcès sous-dural
    • Abcès cérébral

Bibliographie

  1. Canada. Department of Veterans Affairs. Medical Guidelines on Hearing Loss.
  2. Fauci, Anthony S. and Eugene Braunwald, et al, eds. Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 14th ed. Montreal: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
  3. Hallowell Davis and S. Richard Silverman. Hearing and Deafness. 4th ed. Montreal: Holt Rineheart and Winston, 1978, pp 107 - 111.
  4. Newby, Hayes A. and Gerald R. Popelka. Audiology. 6th ed. New Jersey: Prentice Hall, 1992, pp 71 - 80.
  5. Paparella, Michael and Donald A. Shumrick, et al, eds. Otolaryngology Vol II Otology and Neuro-Otology. 3rd ed. Chapter 45. Philadelphia: W. B. Saunders, 1991.
  6. Berkow, Robert and Andrew J. Fletcher, eds. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy. 16th ed. New Jersey: Merck, 1992.
Date de modification :