Veteran homelessness : Research, outreach and partnerships

Addressing homelessness is a shared responsibility. It will require a whole-of-government approach that also includes non-profit organizations and stakeholders. In order to properly address homelessness among Veterans, it is important to understand the scale of the issue.

Research

Employment and Social Development Canada tracks emergency shelter use and reports that 150,000 people use emergency shelters every year. The State of Homelessness in Canada: 2013 reported that at least 200,000 Canadians experience homelessness each year and at least 30,000 are homeless on any given night.

How many Veterans are homeless?

Two reports from Employment and Social Development Canada provide the most recent data on Veteran homelessness:

  • The 2018 "Everyone Counts" report provides a snapshot of homelessness across Canada. These statistics show that Veterans account for approximately 4.4% of homeless individuals counted in communities across Canada, which constitutes a 0.3% decrease from 2016. The 2018 statistics also indicate that homeless Veterans tend to be older (median age of 48) than non-Veterans (median age 39), and are more likely to be male (82.7% compared to 62.7% of non-Veterans).
  • The National Shelter Study (2005 - 2016) used emergency shelter data collected over an extended period of time to establish a baseline count and description of the characteristics of the homeless population using emergency shelters in Canada. The data indicates that Veteran homelessness in Canada decreased by an estimated 450 emergency shelter users from 2014 to 2016. In 2016, an estimated 2,400 emergency shelter users (1.8%) identified as a Veteran. This is down from 2,950 (2.2%) in 2014, the first year this information was collected.

Outreach

Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) has provided information on its programs and services to approximately 200 community organizations that work with the homeless in more than 50 cities across the country, including key information on how to connect with VAC. For example, a downloadable poster with key information on how to connect with VAC is available for display in areas such as emergency homeless shelters, drop-in centres and soup kitchens.

To ensure effective outreach at the community level, all VAC offices across Canada have a staff member identified as the point of contact to work with homeless Veterans and local homelessness organizations and service providers.

Partnerships

VAC is currently involved in outreach initiatives with Veterans' groups and community organizations to find and assist homeless Veterans. Over the years, VAC has partnered with and provided support to a number of local and national organizations on various pilot projects and initiatives.

In addition to ongoing outreach activities , VAC also participates in the annual National Conference on Ending Homelessness which brings together policy makers, funders, researchers, advocates, community leaders and front line workers to address the issue of homelessness in Canada. This enables VAC to meaningfully connect with stakeholders and receive the latest information, tools and training related to addressing homelessness.

Through the Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund – which provides funding for innovative research projects that can improve the well-being of Canadian veterans and their families – we are supporting local and national organizations, including those working to address Veteran homelessness.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

L'itinérance chez les vétérans : Recherche, sensibilisation et partenariats

La lutte contre l’itinérance est une responsabilité partagée. Elle exigera une approche pangouvernementale qui inclura également des organismes sans but lucratif et des intervenants. Afin de s’attaquer adéquatement à l’itinérance chez les vétérans, il est important de comprendre l’ampleur du problème.

Recherche

Selon Emploi et Développement social Canada, qui suit de près l’utilisation des refuges d’urgence, 150 000 personnes par année utilisent des refuges d’urgence. Le rapport État de l’itinérance au Canada 2013 indique qu’au moins 200 000 Canadiens connaissent l’itinérance au cours d’une année donnée et au moins 30 000 sont sans abri durant toute nuit donnée.

Combien y a-t-il de vétérans sans abri?

Deux rapports d’Emploi et Développement social Canada fournissent les plus récentes données sur l’itinérance chez les vétérans :

  • Le rapport Tout le monde compte – 2018 donne un aperçu de l’itinérance au Canada. Ces statistiques révèlent que les vétérans représentent environ 4,4 % des sans-abri répertoriés dans les collectivités du Canada. Il s’agit d’une diminution de 0,3 % par rapport à 2016. Les statistiques de 2018 indiquent également que les vétérans sans abri ont tendance à être plus âgés (âge médian de 48 ans) que les non vétérans (âge médian de 39 ans) et qu’ils sont plus susceptibles d’être des hommes (82,7 % comparativement à 62,7 % chez les non vétérans).
  • L’Étude nationale sur les refuges (2005-2016) a utilisé des données sur les refuges d’urgence recueillies sur une longue période de temps pour établir un dénombrement de référence et une description des caractéristiques de la population de sans-abri qui utilisent les refuges d’urgence au Canada. Les données indiquent qu’entre 2014 et 2016, le nombre de vétérans qui utilisent des refuges d’urgence au Canada a diminué d’environ 450. En 2016, on estime que 2 400 (1,8 %) des personnes qui ont eu recours aux refuges d’urgence étaient des vétérans. Il s’agit d’une baisse par rapport aux 2 950 (2,2 %) vétérans répertoriés en 2014, la première année que cette information a été recueillie.

Sensibilisation

ACC a fait parvenir de l’information sur ses programmes et ses services à environ 200 organismes communautaires œuvrant auprès des sans abri dans plus de 50 villes du pays, y compris les moyens de communiquer avec lui. Par exemple, une affiche téléchargeable with key information on how to connect with VAC indiquant les coordonnées d’ACC est offerte et peut être affichée dans divers endroits comme les refuges pour sans abri, les centres d’accueil et les soupes populaires.

De plus, afin de garantir une sensibilisation efficace à l’échelle communautaire, chaque bureau d’ACC du Canada compte un membre du personnel qui agit comme personne-ressource pour collaborer directement avec des organismes de vétérans, des organismes locaux et les fournisseurs de services connexes.

Partenariats

Actuellement, ACC travaille à des projets de sensibilisation en partenariat avec des groupes de vétérans et des organismes communautaires pour trouver et aider les vétérans sans abri. Au fil des ans, ACC s’est associé à plusieurs organismes locaux et nationaux et leur a apporté un soutien dans le cadre de divers projets pilotes et initiatives.

En plus des activités de sensibilisation en cours, ACC participe également à la conférence nationale annuelle sur la lutte contre l’itinérance qui réunit décideurs, bailleurs de fonds, chercheurs, défenseurs, dirigeants d’organismes communautaires et travailleurs de première ligne afin de s’attaquer au problème de l’itinérance au Canada. Cette conférence permet à ACC de tisser des liens significatifs avec des intervenants et d’obtenir les renseignements, les outils et la formation les plus récents afin de s’attaquer à l’itinérance.

Grâce au Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille, qui finance des projets de recherche novateurs susceptibles d’améliorer le bien-être des vétérans canadiens et de leur famille, nous soutenons des organismes locaux et nationaux, y compris ceux qui luttent contre l’itinérance chez les vétérans.

Date de modification :