Language selection


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Afghanistan Stage 3

Training and rebuilding

Canada’s combat role concluded. Our main objective shifted to continuing humanitarian efforts and helping the Afghanistan government become independent and look after their own country’s security.

Mid 2011 – March 2014


Afghanistan

Canada in Afghanistan - Fallen Canadian Armed Forces Members

Search for family and friends who died in service.

Introduction

Canada's combat role concluded. Our main role shifted to helping the Afghanistan government become independent and look after their own country's security. CAF members joined a NATO-led initiative to train and support Afghanistan's military and police forces. Canada's large-scale humanitarian efforts helped improve the lives of the Afghan people. By March 2014, Canada's military mission came to an end. Our troops finally returned home.

Operation Attention

Canada's combat role in Afghanistan ended in 2011. Operation Attention launched that May. This was Canada's participation in NATO's Training Mission–Afghanistan. It provided training and support to the Afghan National Army, Air Force, and National Police. The aim of the mission was to help the Afghan government build the capacity to govern themselves and provide security for their own country.

MCpl Dion Sylvain, Kandak Mentor Team (KMT) 4 Recce Coy mentors Afghan National Police members (ANP) at Camp Hero on a live fire exercise. Afghan National Police members (ANP) training and mentoring takes place at Camp Hero with a live fire exercise. The Operation Mentor and Liaison Team (OMLT) operate with their Afghan counterparts to provide training, mentorship and liaison services. Photo: DND AR2011-0018-013

A significant contribution

Canada provided up to 950 CAF members and 45 police officers to the training mission task force that was mainly based in Kabul. This made Canada the second largest contributor to the mission. They worked to help Afghan leaders design training programs and develop teaching skills. They also helped Afghan National Police and military members enhance their techniques.

Canadians also worked with the Afghan National Army. CAF members provided specialized training in fields such as medicine, logistics, communications and air operations.

Humanitarian aid

CAF members engaged in many humanitarian efforts in Afghanistan. They did this both as part of their official duties and during their own free time. Canadian initiatives included digging wells and constructing roads and dams. They rebuilt damaged schools and distributed medical and relief supplies. They also helped enable many young girls to go to school for the first time, and improved gender equity in governing bodies.

Governmental girl school in the Eraq valley, Shibar district, Afghanistan, on October 12, 2009. With the support of countries such as Canada the teachers have been trained by the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN). Photo: Canadian Armed Forces / AKDN

Canadians come home

On 18 June 2013, Afghan National Security Forces assumed primary responsibility for security across their own country. Coalition forces, however, provided continued support. On 12 March 2014, Canada's military mission in Afghanistan came to an end. The last of our CAF members lowered our flag there and finally came home.

Sacrifice

Sadly, some 158 CAF members and a number of Canadian civilians died in the cause of peace and freedom while serving in Afghanistan. Many more suffered injuries that have taken an enduring toll on their physical and mental health.

Canadian Armed Forces members carrying the casket of one of their fallen comrades during a ramp ceremony at Kandahar Airfield in Afghanistan in September 2006. Photo: Department of National Defence AR2006-G020-010

A complex and challenging campaign

Canada's efforts in Afghanistan offered the Afghan people some relief from the violence and oppression under Taliban rule. More than 40,000 Canadian women and men in uniform—as well as hundreds of civilians and government officials—served in Afghanistan. CAF members helped the war torn country transition from its violent past as a haven for international terrorism towards a more secure future. The situation in Afghanistan continues to evolve. It remains challenging, but Canadians in uniform served there in the cause of peace and freedom.


Classroom materials

Classroom materials main page

Lesson plan: Ages 8-11

I Remember Afghanistan Word Search

Lesson plan: Ages 12–18

Remembrance Dog Tag

historical sheet

The Canadian Armed Forces in Afghanistan

Open PDF
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Afghanistan phase 3

Formation et reconstruction

Le rôle de combat du Canada prend fin. Notre rôle principal est maintenant de déployer des efforts humanitaires et d'aider le gouvernement afghan à devenir indépendant et à assurer la sécurité de son propre pays.

Milieu de 2005 au milieu de 2011


Afghanistan

Introduction

Lorsque la mission de combat du Canada a pris fin, nous avons entrepris d'aider le gouvernement afghan à devenir indépendant et à assurer la sécurité du pays. Les membres des FAC se sont joints à une initiative dirigée par l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord pour former et soutenir les forces militaires et policières afghanes. Les efforts humanitaires à grande échelle du Canada ont contribué à améliorer la vie du peuple afghan. En mars 2014, la mission militaire du Canada a pris fin. Nos troupes sont finalement rentrées au pays.

Opération Attention

Pour les troupes canadiennes, la mission de combat en Afghanistan s'est terminée en 2011. En mai de la même année a débuté l'Opération Attention, soit la participation du Canada à la mission de formation de l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord en Afghanistan. Nous avons ainsi offert de la formation et du soutien à l'Armée nationale, à la Force aérienne et à la Police nationale de l'Afghanistan. L'objectif de cette mission était d'aider le gouvernement afghan à renforcer sa capacité d'autogouvernance et à assurer la sécurité du pays.

Le Cplc Dion Sylvain, de l’équipe de mentorat de kandak (EMK), 4 Cie Reco, donne des conseils à des membres de la Police nationale afghane (PNA) lors d’un exercice de tir réel, au Camp Hero. L’Équipe de liaison et de mentorat opérationnel (ELMO) collabore avec ses homologues afghans pour offrir de l’entraînement, des conseils et des services de liaison. Photo: DND AR2011-0018-013

Une contribution importante

Le Canada a fourni jusqu'à 950 membres des FAC et 45 policiers à la force opérationnelle de la mission de formation qui était essentiellement basée à Kaboul. Le Canada était ainsi le deuxième contributeur en importance de la mission. Les Canadiens ont aidé les dirigeants afghans à concevoir des programmes de formation et à perfectionner les compétences en enseignement. Ils ont par ailleurs aidé la Police nationale afghane et les militaires à améliorer leurs techniques.

Les Canadiens ont également travaillé avec l'Armée nationale afghane. Les membres des FAC ont offert une formation spécialisée dans des domaines tels que la médecine, la logistique, les communications et les opérations aériennes.

Aide humanitaire

Les membres des FAC ont participé à de nombreuses initiatives humanitaires en Afghanistan, et ce, tant dans le cadre de leurs fonctions officielles que pendant leurs temps libres. Les Canadiens ont notamment creusé des puits et construit des routes et des barrages. Ils ont reconstruit des écoles endommagées et distribué des articles médicaux et de secours. Ils ont également permis à de nombreuses jeunes filles d'aller à l'école pour la première fois et ont amélioré l'égalité entre les sexes dans les organes directeurs.

Une école gouvernementale pour filles dans la vallée de l'Eraq, dans le district de Shibar en octobre 2009. Avec le soutien de divers pays tel que le Canada, des enseignants ont été formés par le Khan Development Network (AKDN). Photo: Forces armées canadiennes / AKDN

Retour au pays

Le 18 juin 2013, les Forces de sécurité nationales afghanes ont pris le relais afin d'assumer la principale responsabilité de la sécurité dans leur pays. Les forces de la coalition ont toutefois continué d'apporter leur soutien. Le 12 mars 2014, la mission militaire du Canada en Afghanistan a pris fin. Les derniers membres des FAC ont descendu le drapeau canadien et sont finalement rentrés au pays.

Sacrifices

Malheureusement, 158 membres des FAC et un certain nombre de civils canadiens ont perdu la vie en Afghanistan alors qu'ils servaient la cause de la paix et de la liberté. Beaucoup d'autres ont subi des blessures qui auront des répercussions permanentes sur leur santé physique et mentale.

Membres des Forces armées canadiennes portant le cercueil d’un camarade tombé au champ d’honneur au cours d’une cérémonie d’adieu à l’aérodrome de Kandahar en Afghanistan, au mois de septembre 2006. Photo: Department of National Defence AR2006-G020-010

Une campagne complexe et difficile

Les initiatives du Canada en Afghanistan ont donné au peuple afghan un certain répit face à la violence et à l'oppression exercées par les talibans. Plus de 40 000 militaires canadiens – ainsi que des centaines de civils et représentants gouvernementaux – ont servi en Afghanistan. Les membres des FAC ont aidé ce pays déchiré par la guerre à laisser derrière lui son passé violent et sa situation de refuge pour le terrorisme international afin de se diriger vers un avenir plus sûr. La situation en Afghanistan continue d'évoluer et demeure difficile, mais les soldats canadiens y ont servi la cause de la paix et de la liberté.


Feuillet historique

Les forces armées canadiennes en Afghanistan

Ouvrir PDF
Date de modification :