Language selection

Rwanda Stage 5

Aftermath

Canadian Armed Forces members leave Rwanda. Despite Canadians’ efforts being restricted during the genocide, they saved many Rwandans.

Post-1996


Rwanda

Sacrifice

When people think of peacekeeping, they may not realize, in some circumstances, how little “peace” there often is to “keep”. The risk of harm is very real. About 130 CAF members have died in the course of international peacekeeping efforts. One soldier lost his life in Rwanda. The effects of serving in these missions can be psychological as well as physical. Seeing the widespread death and suffering in Rwanda took a great toll on a number of our Veterans. Some of our peacekeepers who served there went on to suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder.

Legacy

Controversy surrounded the mission and hundreds of thousands of people died. But the UN efforts in Rwanda made a difference. Even though Canadians’ efforts were restricted during the genocide, they rescued many Rwandans. Canadian peacekeepers assisted countless Rwandans in the aftermath of the killing. They provided help through communications, logistical, medical and mine clearing efforts.

In the words of Major-General Dallaire, these CAF contributions to the people of Rwanda were “...nothing less than a godsend.” Our country recognized the great efforts of the Canadian generals who commanded the UN peacekeeping missions in Rwanda. Major-General Dallaire and Major General Tousignant both earned the Meritorious Service Cross for their leadership in the face of some of the worst conditions imaginable.

Rwanda today

Rwanda still continues to recover from its violent past. The country has seen much economic growth, and today it is much more peaceful. Rwanda has two public holidays to mark the 1994 mass killings, and denial of the genocide is a criminal offence.

The Rwandan crisis helped spur the creation of the International Criminal Court. It investigates claims of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes—like those that the world saw so clearly in Rwanda in the 1990s.


Classroom materials

Classroom materials main page

Lesson plan: 12-18

Humanitarian aid tree

Lesson plan: All ages

Peace and Freedom WebQuest

historical sheet

Rwanda

Open PDF
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Rwanda phase 5

Répercussions

Des membres des Forces armées canadiennes quittent le Rwanda. Même si les efforts des Canadiens se voient imposer des restrictions, les Canadiens sauvent de nombreux Rwandais.

Après 1996


Rwanda

Sacrifices

Quand les gens pensent au maintien de la paix, ils ne se rendent peut-être pas compte qu’il y a des circonstances dans lesquelles il y a si peu de « paix » à « maintenir ». Le risque de blessure est très réel. Environ 130 membres des FAC sont morts au cours des opérations internationales de maintien de la paix. Un soldat a perdu la vie au Rwanda. Les effets du service dans ces missions peuvent être aussi bien sur le plan psychologique que physique. Un certain nombre de nos vétérans ont payé un lourd tribut en voyant la mort et les souffrances généralisées qui ont frappé le Rwanda. Certains de nos soldats de la paix qui ont servi là-bas se trouvent en état de stress post-traumatique.

Héritage

La mission a provoqué la controverse et des centaines de milliers de personnes sont mortes. Mais les efforts de l’ONU au Rwanda ont compté. Même si les efforts des Canadiens ont été limités pendant le génocide, ils ont sauvé de nombreux Rwandais. Les Casques bleus canadiens ont aidé d’innombrables Rwandais à la suite de massacres. Ils ont fourni de l’aide dans les domaines des communications, de la logistique, des soins médicaux et du déminage.

Selon le major-général Dallaire, ces contributions des FAC au peuple rwandais n’étaient « rien de moins qu’une bénédiction ». Notre pays a reconnu les grands efforts des généraux canadiens qui ont commandé les missions de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies au Rwanda. Le major-général Dallaire et le major-général Tousignant ont tous deux reçu la Croix du service méritoire pour leur leadership face à certaines des pires conditions imaginables.

Le Rwanda aujourd’hui

Le Rwanda continue de se remettre de son passé violent. Le pays a connu une forte croissance économique et, aujourd’hui, il est beaucoup plus pacifique. Le Rwanda a deux jours fériés pour souligner les massacres de 1994, et le déni du génocide est une infraction pénale.

La crise rwandaise a contribué à la création de la Cour pénale internationale. Elle enquête sur les allégations de génocide, de crimes contre l’humanité et de crimes de guerre, comme ceux que le monde a vus si clairement au Rwanda dans les années 1990.


Ressources d'apprentissage

Page principale des ressources d'apprentissage

Plan de leçon : Tous âges

Cyber-recherche sur la paix et la liberté

Plan de leçon : 12 à 18 ans

Arbre de l'aide humanitaire

Feuillet historique

Rwanda

Ouvrir PDF
Date de modification :