The 75th anniversary of the Italian Campaign

Learn more about Canada’s involvement in the Italian Campaign and our plans to commemorate this military milestone.

Canada and the Italian Campaign

Canada’s participation in the Italian Campaign took place over a 20-month period during the Second World War. More than 93,000 Canadians played an important role during this bitter struggle, battling some of the German Army’s best troops. The Italian Campaign began on the island of Sicily in July, 1943, and moved north up the Italian mainland through to the end of the war in Europe in May 1945. Nearly 6,000 Canadians would die there.  

Learn more about Canada’s involvement in the Italian Campaign.


Government of Canada delegation

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Italian Campaign, an official Canadian delegation will travel to Italy 28 November to 6 December 2019. The delegation will include Veterans of the Italian Campaign, their caregivers, representatives from Veterans’ and Indigenous organizations, Canadian youth, and a Silver Cross Mother.


Travel subsidy

Second World War Canadian Veterans and Allied Veterans living in Canada travelling outside the official delegation may qualify for a travel subsidy of up to $2,000 CDN to attend 2019-2020 commemorative ceremonies. Learn more about this travel subsidy.


Events

We will mark the 75th anniversary of Canada’s involvement in the Italian Campaign with in-Canada and overseas activities. An official delegation will travel to Italy and participate in a number of ceremonies throughout the country.

26 November 2019

Ceremony of remembrance

Time: 18:00 (TBC)

Location: Horticulture Building (1525 Princess Patricia Way)
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

To mark the 75th anniversary of Canada’s participation in the Italian Campaign, Veterans Affairs Canada will host a commemorative ceremony, with participation by Veterans, youth and a Canadian Armed Forces contingent.

28 November 2019

Ceremony of remembrance at Agira Canadian War Cemetery

Time: 10:30 (CET)

Location: Agira Canadian War Cemetery
Agira, Sicily, Italy

A small delegation will attend a traditional ceremony of remembrance at Agira Canadian War Cemetery. The cemetery contains the graves of 490 Canadians (13 members of the RCAF and 477 of the army), six of whom are unidentified

30 November 2019

Ceremony of remembrance at Pontecorvo Monument

Time: 10:00 (CET)

Location: Pontecorvo Monument
Pontecorvo, Italy

The Canadian delegation will participate in a traditional ceremony of remembrance at Pontecorvo Monument, a location near the most heavily defended line faced by the Allies during the Italian Campaign—The Adolf Hitler Line.

2 December 2019

Ceremony of remembrance at the Price of Peace Monument

Time: 10:00 (CET)

Location: Canadian Heroes Square
Ortona, Italy

The Canadian delegation will participate in a traditional ceremony of remembrance at the Price of Peace Monument. The square where the Price of Peace monument is located was badly damaged during the war. The base of the monument incorporates bricks from buildings that had been smashed in the fighting. Atop the monument is a bronze, life-sized sculpture of a wounded Canadian soldier being comforted by a comrade.

4 December 2019

Ceremony of remembrance at Ravenna War Cemetery

Time: 11:30 (CET)

Location: Ravenna War Cemetery
Piangipane, Ravenna, Italy

The Canadian delegation will participate in a traditional ceremony of remembrance at Ravenna War Cemetery. Ravenna was taken by the Canadian Corps at the beginning of December 1944, and the burials in the cemetery reflect the fighting for the Senio line and the period of relative quiet during the first three months of 1945. The cemetery contains 438 Canadian Graves.

*Planning an event in your community? Funding is available for commemorative events through our Commemorative Partnership Program. We encourage you to add your event to our Calendar of Events.


Travelling to Italy


Media information

Backgrounders

YouTube videos

Interview requests

If you are interested in speaking with a Veteran from the delegation, please contact Veterans Affairs Canada Media Relations.

Related

Faces of Freedom - Explore the stories of soldiers and Veterans who have served Canada, and those inspired to remember them.

Victoria Cross recipients

Date modified:

Le 75e anniversaire de la campagne d’Italie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la participation du Canada à la campagne d’Italie et sur nos plans pour commémorer ce jalon militaire.

Le Canada et la campagne d’Italie

La participation du Canada à la campagne d’Italie s’est échelonnée sur une période de 20 mois durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Plus de 93 000 Canadiens ont joué un rôle important au cours de cette lutte acharnée, en combattant certaines des meilleures troupes de l’armée allemande. La campagne d’Italie a commencé sur l’île de Sicile en juillet 1943, et s’est déplacée vers le nord sur le continent italien jusqu’à la fin de la guerre en Europe en mai 1945. Près de 6 000 Canadiens y ont péri.

Informez-vous sur la participation du Canada à la campagne d’Italie.


Délégation du gouvernement du Canada

Pour commémorer le 75e anniversaire de la campagne d’Italie, une délégation canadienne se rendra en Italie du 28 novembre au 6 décembre 2019. La délégation regroupera des vétérans de la campagne d’Italie, leurs aidants, des représentants d’organismes de vétérans et d’Autochtones, des jeunes Canadiens, et une mère décorée de la Croix d’argent.


Subvention de voyage

Les vétérans canadiens de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et les vétérans alliés vivant au Canada qui voyagent et ne font pas partie de la délégation officielle peuvent être admissibles à une subvention de voyage pouvant atteindre 2 000 $ CA pour assister aux cérémonies commémoratives de 2019‑2020. Renseignez-vous sur cette subvention de voyage.


Activités

Nous soulignerons le 75e anniversaire de la participation du Canada à la campagne d’Italie en tenant des activités au Canada et à l’étranger. Une délégation officielle se rendra en Italie et participera à plusieurs cérémonies dans tout le pays.

26 novembre 2019

Cérémonie commémorative

Heure : 13 h (à confirmer)

Lieu : Édifice de l’horticulture (1525, chemin Princess Patricia)
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Pour souligner le 75e anniversaire de la participation du Canada à la campagne d’Italie, Anciens Combattants Canada tiendra une cérémonie commémorative à laquelle participeront des vétérans, des jeunes et un contingent des Forces armées canadiennes.

28 novembre 2019

Cérémonie commémorative au cimetière de guerre canadien d’Agira

Heure : 10 h 30 (HEC)

Lieu : Cimetière de guerre canadien d’Agira
Agira, Sicile, Italie

Une petite délégation assistera à une cérémonie commémorative traditionnelle au cimetière de guerre canadien d’Agira. Le cimetière renferme les tombes de 490 Canadiens (13 membres de l’ARC et 477 de l’Armée de terre), dont six ne sont pas identifiés.

30 novembre 2019

Cérémonie commémorative au monument de Pontecorvo

Heure : 10 h (HEC)

Lieu : Monument de Pontecorvo
Pontecorvo, Italie

La délégation canadienne participera à une cérémonie commémorative traditionnelle au monument de Pontecorvo, situé près de la ligne la plus défendue par les Alliés pendant la campagne d’Italie – la ligne Adolf Hitler.

2 décembre 2019

Cérémonie commémorative au monument Le Prix de la paix

Heure : 10 h (HEC)

Lieu : Place des héros canadiens
Ortona, Italie

La délégation canadienne participera à une cérémonie commémorative traditionnelle au monument Le Prix de la paix. La place où est situé le monument Le Prix de la paix se trouve dans une partie de la ville qui a été gravement endommagée pendant la guerre, et la base du monument est formée de briques d’immeubles qui ont été détruits lors du combat. Sur le monument, on y trouve une sculpture en bronze de grandeur nature d’un soldat canadien blessé et d’un compagnon qui le réconforte.

4 décembre 2019

Cérémonie commémorative au cimetière de guerre de Ravenne

Heure : 11 h 30 (HEC)

Lieu : Cimetière de guerre de Ravenne
Piangipane, Ravenne, Italie

La délégation canadienne participera à une cérémonie commémorative traditionnelle au cimetière de guerre de Ravenne. Ravenne a été prise par le Corps canadien au début de décembre 1944, et les sépultures dans le cimetière reflètent les combats menés pour la ligne Senio et la période relativement calme durant les trois premiers mois de 1945. Le cimetière contient 438 sépultures canadiennes.

*Vous planifiez une activité dans votre communauté? Des fonds sont disponibles pour les activités commémoratives dans le cadre de notre Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration. Nous vous encourageons à ajouter votre activité à notre calendrier des activités.


Voyager en Italie

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur les voyages en Italie, veuillez consulter les sites suivants :


Questions et réponses

Q1. Qu’a prévu le gouvernement du Canada pour souligner le 75e anniversaire de la campagne d’Italie?

R1. Cette année, le gouvernement du Canada soulignera le 75e anniversaire de la participation du Canada à la campagne d’Italie par des activités nationales et internationales. Anciens Combattants Canada offre également du matériel didactique gratuit et des programmes sur le Web

Apprenez-en plus dans la FAQ sur le 75e anniversaire de la campagne d’Italie.


Renseignements pour les médias

Documents d’information

Vidéos (YouTube)

Demander une entrevue

Si vous souhaitez parler à un vétéran de la délégation, veuillez communiquer avec les Relations avec les médias d’Anciens Combattants Canada.

Connexe

Visages de la liberté - Explorez les récits de soldats et de vétérans qui ont servi le Canada, et de ceux inspirés par leur souvenir.

Récipiendaires de la Croix de Victoria

Date de modification :