Battle of the Scheldt Canadian War Cemeteries - Backgrounder

Most of the Canadians who lost their lives in the Battle of the Scheldt are buried in two Commonwealth War Graves Commission cemeteries in the region: Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian and Adegem Canadian War Cemetery.

Adegem Canadian War Cemetery

Adegem Canadian War Cemetery is located at Maldegem in the northwestern corner of Belgium, close to the Dutch border. This cemetery contains the graves of 848 Canadians, most of whom died during the struggle to clear the Breskens pocket on the south shore of the Scheldt.

Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery

Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery is located in Bergen-op-Zoom in the southwestern Netherlands. This cemetery contains the graves of 972 Canadians, most of whom were killed during military actions to clear the banks of the Scheldt River and allow the Allies to supply their armies in continental Europe using the port city of Antwerp, Belgium.

Date modified:

Cimetières de guerre canadiens de la bataille de l’Escaut - Fiche d’information

La plupart des Canadiens ayant perdu la vie dans la bataille de l’Escaut sont inhumés dans deux cimetières de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth de la région : les cimetières de guerre canadiens de Bergen-op-Zoom et d’Adegem.

Cimetière de guerre canadien d’Adegem

Le cimetière de guerre canadien d’Adegem est situé à Maldegem dans le coin nord ouest de la Belgique, près de la frontière des Pays Bas. Ce cimetière compte les sépultures de 848 Canadiens, dont la majorité sont morts pendant l’affrontement visant à dégager la « poche » de Breskens sur la rive sud de l’Escaut.

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom

Le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom est situé à Bergen-op-Zoom dans le sud ouest des Pays Bas. Ce cimetière compte les sépultures de 972 Canadiens, dont la majorité sont morts pendant les opérations militaires visant à s’emparer des rives de l’Escaut et à permettre aux Alliés d’approvisionner leurs armées en Europe continentale par l’entremise de la ville portuaire d’Anvers, en Belgique.

Date de modification :