Our Freedom

This year's Remembrance vignette, Our Freedom, is featured in our digital and online Remembrance Advertising campaign. It supports the Department's mandate to promote recognition and remembrance of the achievements and sacrifices of those who served Canada in times of war, military conflict and peace.

Here is a look behind the scenes of the people featured in the Our Freedom vignette.

Captain (retired) Mark Johnson CD

Captain (retired) Mark Johnson, CD served in the Canadian Armed Forces for more than 25 years. He was stationed across Canada with units like the 2nd Battalion, Black Watch and the 2nd Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment. Captain Johnson was also deployed overseas as a peacekeeper in Cyprus, as well as with NATO forces in West Germany where he served under 3rd Canadian Mechanized Commando and the 3rd Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment. After his retirement from the Regular Forces, he remained involved in the Reserves and Cadet units.

Captain (retired) Mark Johnson CD

Sergeant (retired) Nelly Michaud

Sergeant (retired) Nelly Michaud joined the Canadian Armed Forces at the age of 18. She served for more than 17 years with postings in Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Bagotville, CFB Petawawa and CFB Trenton and overseas deployments which included Bosnia, Afghanistan and Haiti.

Sergeant (Sgt) Nelly Michaud (retired)

Master Seaman (retired) Alain Gravel

Master (retired) Seaman Alain Gravel was a member of the Canadian Armed Forces for 20 years and was posted to the HMCS Algonquin. He served many tours at sea and had the opportunity to explore the world before deciding on a career change. He re-mustered to the Canadian Military Police which took him to CFB Cornwallis and CFB Halifax and on overseas tours to Cyprus and East Timor.

Master Seaman (MS) Alain Gravel (retired)

Commander (Retired) Alex Grant

Commander (Retired) Alex Grant

Alex Grant, raised in Pincourt, Quebec, enrolled in the Canadian Armed Forces in 1981. He attended Royal Roads Military College, graduating in 1986 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Physics and Oceanography. Following Navy training, he completed a two-year foreign posting at the Integrated Undersea Surveillance System’s (IUSS) Naval Facility Whidbey Island, Washington.

Alex went back to school to complete a Master of Science in Oceanography and Acoustics. The next three years were spent supporting Royal Canadian Navy and NATO exercises and operations as a tactical oceanographer. He spent a lot of time at sea in various warfare positions including deployments to the Persian Gulf and peace keeping operations in the Sea of Japan.

In 2000, he took command of NCSM DONNACONA, Montreal’s Naval Reserve Division. In July 2004, Alex was selected to attend the Naval War College in Newport, Rhode Island earning a diploma in National Security, Strategy and Policy, and Joint Military Operations. Alex then returned to Halifax as HMCS ATHABASKAN’s Executive Officer deploying for hurricane Katrina relief operations and a NATO deployment. In 2007, he was appointed as Commanding Officer HMCS TORONTO, deploying on the NATO exercise NOBLE MARINER and two arctic sovereignty patrols (Operation NANOOK).

Alex retired from the Regular Force in 2010, but continues to serve on a part-time basis as a Captain(N) in the Naval Reserve.

Corporal (Retired) Pedro Ibaceta-Carter

Corporal (Retired) Pedro Ibaceta-Carter, born in Chile, served in the Canadian Armed Forces as a Reservist for 13 years with the 34th Service Battalion of Canada. He joined the Regular Forces as a supply technician. Corporal (Retired) Ibaceta-Carter proudly served in Nunavut and four tours to Afghanistan.

During his service he was injured which ended his military career. His injuries did not slow him down. After his medical release, he continued to serve his country with honour, representing Canada at the 2018 Invictus Games in Sydney, Australia.

"Today, I am busy with my family. I have four children and an extraordinary wife who keep me alive," says Corporal(Retired) Ibaceta-Carter.

Corporal (Retired) Pedro Ibaceta-Carter

Alexa Dubé

Alexa Dubé, a former leading seaman, released from the Royal Canadian Navy after serving as a Reservist for 10 years. She left high school at the age of 15 after dealing with a number of family issues. Following a year of isolating herself and not going to school, Alexa decided to take charge of her responsibilities and started to train physically so she could join the Canadian Armed Forces. The summer she turned 16, she completed her training at CFB Borden. This commitment gave her the mental strength and energy to return to school and complete secondary school through an adult education program. Working with the Canadian Armed Forces allowed her to learn a lot about herself, develop positive leadership skills and gain a variety of other skills on a personal level. Alexa now has a Master's degree in Psychoeducation, and she is an actress.

Alexa Dubé

Jackee Jing

Jackee's father came to Canada from China as refugee. After being separated from her father for four years, Jackee came to Canada. She is grateful to get to live a different life than the early days her father had in China.

Jackee Jing

Philippe Laurin

A trip to Spain with friends gave Philippe a disheartening firsthand view of refugees fleeing from Syria. When the Canadian government announced it would be welcoming more Syrian refugees to Canada, Philippe volunteered to help. As a volunteer along side the Canadian Red Cross, he worked with children who didn't know where they were, but knew they were safe.

Philippe Laurin

Aliona Munteanu

Aliona was born in Moldova and she lived through the conflict in Transnistria which affected the entire country. She left Moldova, first for Romania and then to Canada. She says she can now sleep during the night without fear. When she was young, Aliona says she didn't know if she was Moldovian, Romanian or Russian. Now, she knows she is a Canadian.

Aliona Munteanu

Amy Trefry

From the time she was young, Amy's parents, both wildlife biologists, engrained in her an understanding and respect for the relationship and impact humans have on the natural world. Through her academic studies and work in climate change and food security, both in Canada and overseas, she has been an advocate for vulnerable communities impacted by these global changes. Amy believes that it is each of our responsibility to reach out to those around us, to speak up for those who are not heard through whatever means we have, and that through collective care for one another change can happen.

Amy Trefry

Izad Etemadi

Izad's family left Iran for a refugee camp in Germany, where Izad was born. They became friends with the Canadian Armed Forces members stationed in Germany. When those CAF members returned to Canada, they had their church sponsor Izad's family's immigration to Canada. He is constantly reminded of what life would be like if his family were still in Iran. He feels lucky and grateful to be living and working in Canada.

Izad Etemadi
Date modified:

Notre liberté

La capsule commémorative de cette année, Notre liberté, est présentée dans notre campagne commémorative numérique et en ligne. Elle appuie le mandat du Ministère de promouvoir la reconnaissance et la commémoration des réalisations et des sacrifices de ceux qui ont servi le Canada en temps de guerre, de conflit militaire et de paix.

Voici un aperçu des personnes présentées dans la capsule Notre liberté.

Capitaine (à la retraite) Mark Johnson CD

Le capitaine (à la retraite) Mark Johnson a servi pendant plus de 25 ans au sein des Forces armées canadiennes. Au cours de sa carrière, il a été affecté à plusieurs endroits et a servi dans plusieurs bataillons, notamment le 2e Bataillon du Black Watch et le 2e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment. En plus de ses affectations canadiennes, le capitaine Johnson a effectué des missions à Chypre et en Allemagne, où il a servi dans le 3e Mech Commando et le 3e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment , forces de l'OTAN. Après avoir pris sa retraite de la Force régulière, il a continué à servir son pays au sein de la Force de réserve et des unités de cadets.

Capitaine (à la retraite) Mark Johnson CD

Sergent (à la retraite) Nelly Michaud

Le sergent (à la retraite) Nelly Michaud s'est joint aux Forces armées canadiennes à l'âge de 18 ans. Elle a servi pendant plus de 17 ans aux BFC Bagotville, Petawawa et Trenton, et lors de déploiements à l'étranger, notamment en Bosnie, en Afghanistan et en Haïti.

Sergent (à la retraite) Nelly Michaud

Matelot-chef (à la retraite) Alain Gravel

Le matelot-chef (à la retraite) Alain Gravel a été membre des Forces armées canadiennes pendant 20 ans et a été affecté au NCSM Algonquin. Il a effectué plusieurs missions en mer et a eu la chance d'explorer le monde avant de faire le choix d'une nouvelle carrière. Il s'est ensuite rengagé dans la Police militaire canadienne, ce qui l'a amené aux BFC Cornwallis et Halifax, ainsi qu'à Chypre et au Timor-Oriental pour des missions à l'étranger.

Matelot-chef (à la retraite) Alain Gravel

Commandant (à la retraite) Alex Grant

Commandant (retraité) Alex Grant

Alex Grant a grandi à Pincourt, au Québec, et s'est enrôlé dans les Forces armées canadiennes en 1981. Il a fréquenté l’Université Royal Roads où il a obtenu, en 1986, un baccalauréat ès sciences en physique et en océanographie. Après avoir suivi son entraînement de la marine, il a été affecté pendant deux ans à l'étranger à l'installation maritime du Système intégré de surveillance sous-marine (SISSM) de Whidbey Island (Washington).

Alex Grant est ensuite retourné aux études afin d’obtenir une maîtrise ès sciences en océanographie et en acoustique. Pendant les trois années suivantes, il a apporté un soutien aux exercices et aux opérations de la Marine royale canadienne et de l'OTAN en tant qu'océanographe en acoustique tactique. Il a passé beaucoup de temps en mer dans divers contextes de guerre, y compris des déploiements dans le golfe Persique et des opérations de maintien de la paix dans la mer du Japon.

En 2000, il a pris le commandement du NCSM DONNACONA, division de la Réserve navale à Montréal. En juillet 2004, M. Grant a été sélectionné pour étudier au Naval War College de Newport, dans le Rhode Island, où il a obtenu un diplôme d'études sur les politiques et stratégies en matière de sécurité nationale et d'opérations militaires interarmées. M. Grant est ensuite retourné à Halifax comme commandant en second du NCSM Athabaskan où il a participé à un déploiement dans le cadre des opérations de secours aux victimes de l'ouragan Katrina et à un déploiement de l'OTAN. En 2007, il a été nommé commandant du NCSM TORONTO et a pris part à l'exercice NOBLE MARINER de l'OTAN, ainsi qu’à de deux patrouilles de souveraineté dans l'Arctique (opération Nanook).

Alex Grant a pris sa retraite de la Force régulière en 2010, mais il continue à servir à temps partiel comme capitaine de vaisseau dans la Réserve navale.

Caporal (à la retraite) Pedro Ibaceta-Carter

Né au Chili, le caporal (retraité) Pedro Ibaceta-Carter a servi dans les Forces armées canadiennes comme réserviste pendant 13 ans au sein du 34e Bataillon des services du Canada. Il s'est joint à la Force régulière à titre de technicien en approvisionnement. Le caporal (retraité) Ibaceta-Carter a fièrement servi au Nunavut et a pris part à quatre missions en Afghanistan.

Il a été blessé pendant son service, ce qui a mis un terme à sa carrière militaire. Mais ses blessures ne l'ont pas ralenti. Après avoir été libéré pour des raisons médicales, il a continué à servir son pays avec honneur en représentant le Canada aux Jeux Invictus de 2018 à Sydney, en Australie.

« Aujourd'hui, je suis occupé avec ma famille. J'ai quatre enfants et une femme extraordinaire qui sont ma joie de vivre », dit le caporal (retraité) Ibaceta-Carter.

Caporal (retraité) Pedro Ibaceta-Carter

Alexa Dubé

Alexa Dubé, anciennement matelot de première classe, a été libérée de la Marine royale canadienne après y avoir servi en tant que réserviste pendant 10 ans. Alexa Dubé a laissé l'école secondaire à l'âge de 15 ans car elle faisait face à plusieurs problématiques familiales. Après une année passée à se marginaliser, sans aller à l'école, elle décide de prendre ses responsabilités en main et commence à s'entraîner physiquement afin d'intégrer les Forces armées canadiennes. À l'été de ses 16 ans, elle termine sa formation à la BFC Borden. Cet engagement lui donne la force et l'énergie mentale pour effectuer un retour à l'école. Elle termine donc son secondaire à l'enseignement des adultes. Son travail dans les Forces armées canadiennes lui a permis d'en apprendre beaucoup sur elle-même, de développer un leadership positif et d'acquérir différentes compétences sur le plan personnel. Alexa possède maintenant une maîtrise en psychoéducation et elle est également comédienne.

Alexa Dubé

Jackee Jing

Le père de Jackee a quitté la Chine pour venir au Canada en tant que réfugié. Après avoir été séparée de son père pendant quatre ans, Jackee est elle aussi venue au Canada. Elle est reconnaissante de pouvoir mener une autre vie que celle qu'a connue son père en Chine.

Jackee Jing

Philippe Laurin

C'est en voyageant en Espagne avec des amis que Philippe a eu une première vision désolante des réfugiés fuyant la Syrie. Lorsque le gouvernement canadien a annoncé qu'il accueillerait plus de réfugiés syriens au Canada, Philippe s'est porté volontaire pour aider. En tant que bénévole au sein de la Croix-Rouge canadienne, il dit avoir travaillé avec des enfants qui ne savaient pas où ils étaient, mais qui se sentaient en sécurité.

Philippe Laurin

Aliona Munteanu

Aliona est née en Moldova et a vécu le conflit en Transnistrie qui a secoué tout le pays. Elle a quitté Moldova, d'abord pour se rendre en Roumanie et ensuite au Canada. Elle dit qu'elle peut maintenant dormir sans crainte la nuit. Lorsqu'elle était jeune, Aliona ne savait pas si elle était Moldave, Roumaine ou Russe. Maintenant, elle sait qu'elle est Canadienne.

Aliona Munteanu

Amy Trefry

Dès le plus jeune âge d'Amy, ses parents, tous deux biologistes de la faune, lui ont enseigné la compréhension et le respect des relations qui unissent les humains au monde naturel et des répercussions qu'ils ont sur ce dernier. Ses études universitaires et ses recherches sur les changements climatiques et la sécurité alimentaire, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger, lui ont permis de défendre les communautés vulnérables touchées par ces changements mondiaux. Amy croit qu'il est de notre responsabilité de nous tourner vers ceux qui nous entourent et de parler au nom de ceux qui ne parviennent pas à se faire entendre. Elle croit qu'en nous entraidant, il est possible de faire évoluer les choses.

Amy Trefry

Izad Etemadi

La famille d'Izad a quitté l'Iran pour un camp de réfugiés en Allemagne lorsque ce dernier est né. Les membres de la famille se sont liés d'amitié avec les membres des Forces armées canadiennes affectés en Allemagne. Lorsque ces derniers sont rentrés au Canada, ils ont demandé à leur église de parrainer l'immigration de la famille d'Izad au pays. On lui rappelle constamment à quoi ressemblerait la vie si sa famille était toujours en Iran. Il se sent privilégié et reconnaissant de vivre et de travailler au Canada.

Izad Etemadi
Date de modification :