The Canadian Armed Forces in Cambodia

Introduction

United Nations trucks leaving Canadian Armed Forces base in Cambodia

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

More than a thousand Canadians served in Cambodia to help stabilize and rebuild the country during four peace support missions spread over the years 1954 to 2000.

Cambodia

Cambodia is a tropical country in Southeast Asia. It has an area of approximately 180,000 km2 (about three times the size of Nova Scotia) and a population of more than 14 million people. It is a hot and humid country, but also very poor. Bordering Vietnam, Laos and Thailand, Cambodia was formerly a part of French Indochina, a colony of France that was founded in the 1800s but was dissolved in the years following the Second World War.

Cambodia became an independent country after the end of colonial rule, but the ensuing power struggle, the Vietnam War (which spilled over into Cambodia at times) and a military coup resulted in constant internal strife. The Khmer Rouge faction gained power in 1975 (renaming the country Kampuchea) and its Communist regime saw the deaths of an estimated two million Cambodians to famine, sickness, forced labour and execution. After four years of terror, the government was overthrown following an invasion by neighbouring Vietnam which then occupied much of the country. Resistance groups fought for control and the violence continued. When Vietnam announced it would finally withdraw from the country in the late 1980s, a new chapter in Cambodia’s history began—one which Canada and the international community would help bring about.

Canada and the World Responds

Our country’s first efforts in Cambodia began in 1954 when approximately 30 Canadians went there as part of the International Commission for Supervision and Control (ICSC). This military mission had been set up by the international community to help French Indochina make the rocky transition to becoming the countries of Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam. The Canadians serving in Cambodia helped maintain order and supervised the withdrawal of French colonial forces, as well as those from neighbouring countries. International personnel also watched for border violations in the volatile region, and monitored the first elections in the new country. The ICSC mission was soon reduced in size and, after a few years, only a token number of Canadians would serve there until the mission finally ended in 1969.

Canadian Armed Forces members would again travel to Cambodia in late 1991 as part of the international efforts to help the war-torn country following the horrors of the Khmer Rouge regime and the ensuing Vietnamese occupation and civil war. The United Nations Advance Mission in Cambodia (UNAMIC) was tasked with helping implement a peace agreement that had finally been reached and pave the way for a larger UN mission to come. Canadians were part of this initial mission, helping monitor the delicate cease-fire and working in landmine awareness and removal. Indeed, Canadian military engineers would go on to play an important role in the landmine clearance efforts in a country that, after decades of conflict, was riddled with millions of them.

In early 1992, the massive United Nations Transitional Authority Cambodia (UNTAC) mission began. Its more than 20,000 peacekeepers monitored the cease-fire, disarmed the warring sides and oversaw the repatriation of hundreds of thousands of Cambodian refugees in time for a national election. A total of about 700 Canadian Armed Forces members served with UNTAC between February 1992 and September 1993. While they made up only a small portion of the UN force, the extensive peacekeeping knowledge shared by the experienced Canadians was a great asset. The approximately 240 Canadian Armed Forces members who served there at any given time performed several roles. A primary task was the challenging job of transporting supplies and the thousands of UN personnel around a country that still saw guerrilla activity and wide-spread banditry in some regions. The No. 92 Transport Company delivered food, fuel, natural gas, election supplies and other goods required by the UN. The Canadians offered other logistical support as well, such as finding accommodations for the huge UN force from many different countries speaking many different languages. Thirty Canadian sailors also served with UN naval detachments patrolling the Gulf of Thailand and Mekong River monitoring refugee movements and watching for cease-fire violations, smugglers and bandits. As well, approximately 40 Canadian officers served with the UN command in the country.

The UNTAC mission was over by the end of 1993, however some Canadian Armed Forces members would soon return to the country to work with the Cambodia Mine Action Centre. Between 1994 and 2000, more than 60 Canadian Armed Forces members served to find and remove deadly land mines—a UN task that continues there to this day.

Facts and Figures

  • UNTAC was one of the largest peace support operations ever undertaken by the UN with more than 20,000 military and police personnel drawn from more than 40 countries.
  • Many of the Canadians serving with UNTAC were bilingual—a great asset as English and French were spoken in many of the countries contributing UN troops; French was also still spoken by some Cambodians as a result of decades of colonial rule.
  • Cambodia has one of the heaviest concentrations of land mines in the world. An estimated four to six million land mines have killed some 15,000 people and injured 120,000 more.

Heroes and Bravery

Canadian Armed Forces members endure many hardships while performing peace support duties. While Canadian Armed Forces members did not experience any major incidents of violence in Cambodia, guerrilla forces and bandits did threaten and attack UN forces there at times. Witnessing the poverty, violence and destruction in Cambodia was hard, while the extreme temperatures and humidity, poisonous snakes and spiders, banditry, contaminated drinking water, dysentery and malaria were also very challenging. Doing one’s job under such conditions during a rotation lasting six months or more required great endurance and courage. But Canadians who participate in these efforts often go beyond the call of duty to help those in need. In Cambodia, they also volunteered their resources and skills to work with the local people, such as reaching out to young people by distributing toys and working in the “Canada House” Children’s Centre.

Sacrifice

Canadian Armed Forces members aboard a United Nations patrol boat in Cambodia

Canadian Armed Forces members know well the sacrifices that go along with the rewards of participating in international peace support efforts. Hostile fire and land mines are perhaps the most obvious dangers in a conflict zone, but they are not the only ones. Vehicle accidents, mysterious illnesses, and psychological effects resulting from the arduous conditions they are exposed to take a serious toll as well – a toll that can last a lifetime. One Canadian Armed Forces member died in Cambodia. About 130 Canadian peacekeepers have died in peace support operations over the years.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Les Forces armées canadiennes au Cambodge

Introduction

Camions des Nations Unies sortant de la base des Forces armées canadiennes au Cambodge.

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Plus d’un millier de Canadiens ont contribué à stabiliser et à reconstruire le Cambodge au cours de quatre missions de soutien de la paix réparties entre 1954 et 2000.

Le Cambodge

Le Cambodge est un pays tropical situé en Asie du Sud-Est. Il a une superficie d’environ 180 000 km2 (soit trois fois celle de la Nouvelle-Écosse) et une population de plus de 14 millions d’habitants. C’est un pays humide et chaud, mais aussi très pauvre. Pays frontalier avec le Vietnam, le Laos et la Thaïlande, le Cambodge faisait auparavant partie de l’Indochine française, une colonie de la France fondée dans les années 1800 et dissoute dans les années qui ont suivi la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le Cambodge a acquis sa souveraineté à la fin du règne colonial, mais la lutte pour le pouvoir qui s’en est suivie, la guerre du Vietnam (qui s’est étendue jusqu’au Cambodge à un certain moment) et un coup d’état militaire ont résulté en des dissensions internes constantes. La faction des Khmers rouges a pris le pouvoir en 1975, et a changé le nom du pays en Kampuchéa. Sous son régime communiste, environ deux millions de Cambodgiens sont morts de famine, de maladie, de travail forcé et lors d’exécutions. Après quatre années de terreur, le gouvernement a été renversé suite à une invasion du Vietnam voisin, qui a ainsi pris le contrôle d’une bonne partie du pays. Des groupes de résistance se sont battus pour le contrôle, et la violence a continué. Lorsque le Vietnam a annoncé qu’il se retirerait enfin du pays vers la fin des années 1980, une nouvelle page de l’histoire du Cambodge s’est ouverte. Le Canada et la communauté internationale joueraient un rôle important dans l’avènement de cette nouvelle page.

L’intervention du Canada et de la communauté internationale

Les premières actions de notre pays au Cambodge ont commencé en 1954 lorsqu’environ 30 Canadiens y sont allés en tant que membres de la Commission internationale de surveillance et de contrôle (CISC). La mission militaire avait été mise en place par la communauté internationale en vue d’aider l’Indochine française à traverser la dure période de transition pour se diviser en trois pays, soit le Cambodge, le Laos et le Vietnam. Les Canadiens qui ont servi au Cambodge ont aidé au maintien de l’ordre et de la supervision du retrait des forces coloniales françaises et de celles des pays voisins. Les forces internationales ont aussi veillé à la non violation des frontières dans cette région instable, et supervisé les premières élections dans le nouveau pays. La mission de la CISC s’est bientôt vue réduite et, après quelques années, il n’y est resté qu’un petit nombre de Canadiens jusqu’à la fin de la mission en 1969.

Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes sont repartis au Cambodge vers la fin de 1991 dans le cadre des efforts de la communauté internationale pour aider le pays déchiré par la guerre après les horreurs perpétrées par le régime des Khmers rouges, l’occupation vietnamienne et la guerre civile. La Mission préparatoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (MIPRENUC) avait reçu pour feuille de route d’aider à la mise en œuvre d’un accord de paix qui a été finalement atteint, ce qui a préparé le chemin à une mission plus grande des Nations Unies. Les Canadiens ont fait partie de cette mission préparatoire. Ils ont aidé dans la supervision du délicat cessez-le-feu, dans la détection de mines et dans le déminage. D’ailleurs, les ingénieurs militaires canadiens ont joué un rôle important dans les missions de déminage, dans ce pays où, après des décennies de conflit, des millions de mines étaient enfouies.

Au début de 1992, la gigantesque mission de l’Autorité provisoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (APRONUC) a débuté. Plus de 20 000 gardiens de la paix ont aidé à contrôler le cessez-le-feu, à désarmer les parties belligérantes et à superviser le rapatriement des centaines de milliers de refugiés cambodgiens pour qu’ils prennent part aux élections nationales. Environ 700 membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont servi dans le cadre de l’APRONUC entre février 1992 et septembre 1993. Bien qu’ils formaient un petit nombre de l’effectif des forces onusiennes, les Canadiens expérimentés disposaient d’une expertise considérable en maintien de la paix qu’ils ont partagée. Les quelque 240 membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui y ont servi à un moment ou à un autre ont exercé plusieurs rôles. Une première tâche difficile a été de transporter les ravitaillements et les milliers de membres du personnel des Nations Unies à l’intérieur d’un pays qui voyait encore des activités de la guérilla et du brigandage généralisé dans certaines régions. La 92e Compagnie de transport a livré de la nourriture, du carburant, du gaz naturel, du matériel pour les élections et d’autres biens nécessaires au personnel des Nations Unies. Les Canadiens ont aussi apporté d’autres soutiens logistiques, tels que la recherche et la fourniture de logement pour les nombreux contingents onusiens venant de plusieurs pays et parlant différentes langues. Trente marins canadiens ont aussi servi dans le détachement naval des Nations Unies qui faisait des patrouilles sur le Golfe de la Thaïlande et la rivière du Mekong, contrôlant les mouvements des refugiés, les violations du cessez-le-feu, les contrebandiers et les bandits. En outre, environ 40 officiers canadiens ont servi au sein du commandement des Nations Unies dans le pays.

La mission de l’APRONUC a pris fin vers la fin de 1993, mais quelques membres des Forces armées canadiennes sont vite retournés au pays pour travailler avec le Cambodia Mine Action Centre. Entre 1994 et 2000, plus de 60 membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont contribué à repérer et à déminer les champs de mines meurtriers. Il s’agit d’une tâche que les Nations Unies poursuivent à ce jour.

Faits et chiffres

  • L’APRONUC a été l’une des plus grandes opérations de maintien de la paix entreprises par les Nations Unies, avec plus de 20 000 militaires et policiers en provenance de plus de quarante pays.
  • Bon nombre des Canadiens travaillant avec l’APRONUC étaient bilingues, ce qui était un grand atout dans la mesure où l’anglais et le français étaient les langues d’un grand nombre des pays qui envoyaient des contingents pour les troupes des Nations Unies. Quelques Cambodgiens parlaient encore le français, le résultat de décennies de règne colonial.
  • Le Cambodge a l’une des plus fortes concentrations de champs de mines au monde. Environ quatre à six millions de mines ont provoqué la mort de quelque 15 000 personnes et blessé plus de 120 000 autres.

Héros et braves

Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes endurent de nombreuses difficultés au cours de leurs missions de soutien de la paix. Bien qu’ils n’aient pas connu d’incidents majeurs de violence au Cambodge, les forces de guérilla et les bandits ont parfois menacé et attaqué les forces onusiennes. C’était éprouvant d’être témoin de la pauvreté, de la violence et de la destruction au Cambodge, tout en faisant face à des températures extrêmes, à l’humidité, aux araignées et aux serpents venimeux, au brigandage, à l’eau potable contaminée, à la dysenterie et au paludisme. Accomplir une mission dans de telles conditions durant une affectation de six mois ou plus demande une grande endurance et du courage. Mais les Canadiens qui prennent part à ces missions vont souvent au-delà de l’appel du devoir. Au Cambodge, ils ont aussi mis leurs ressources et leurs compétences au profit des populations locales, par exemple en distribuant des jouets aux enfants et en travaillant dans le Centre pour enfants de la « Maison du Canada ».

Sacrifices

Un équipage des Forces armées canadiennes à bord d'un bateau de patrouille des Nations Unies au Cambodge.

Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes connaissent bien les sacrifices qui accompagnent les récompenses lorsqu’ils participent aux missions internationales de soutien de la paix. Les tirs hostiles et les champs de mines sont peut-être les dangers les plus évidents dans une zone de conflit, mais ils ne sont pas les seuls. Les accidents, les maladies mystérieuses et les effets psychologiques résultant des conditions sévères auxquelles sont exposées ces personnes font aussi de nombreuses victimes, ce qui peut laisser des traces à vie. Un membre des Forces armées canadiennes est mort au Cambodge. Environ 130 gardiens de la paix canadiens ont perdu la vie au cours des années pour les opérations de soutien de la paix.

Programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient, d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et en temps de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :