The Canadian Armed Forces in the Post-War Years

Introduction

Canadian warplane in the Middle East in 2014.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Every day Canadian Armed Forces members put their lives on the line to serve our country. Canada has become well known for its commitment to international peace support operations. This is only one of many duties, however, that our military members have fulfilled over the years. These brave men and women have also served in many other important and challenging roles in the post-war era.

National Security

The main responsibility of the Canadian Armed Forces is the protection of our country. Vigilantly patrolling our borders, they are continually at the ready to defend Canada. For many years during the Cold War between the communist countries of the East and the democratic countries of the West, the primary threat was the former Soviet Union. Canadian Armed Forces members had to constantly guard against the Soviet bombers and submarines that carried nuclear weapons and probed our defences. The nature of external threats to our country have changed over the years. Today, keeping watch against possible terrorist attacks is an important duty.

Regional Security

Canada also helps protect its allies. This was perhaps most evident during the Cold War that dominated the world’s international relations from the late 1940s to the early 1990s. For example, as a member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Canada stationed a brigade group and a number of fighter squadrons in Western Europe, helping offset the communist forces in Eastern Europe.

Another key international military commitment is to the North American Aerospace Defence Command (NORAD). This joint American/Canadian organization is responsible for watching the skies over North America for potential threats. As missile and bomber technology evolved during the Cold War, strings of radar stations were built across Canada’s North to guard against possible attack.

Today, the Canadian Armed Forces continue to uphold our country’s international military responsibilities. For example, Canadians were in Afghanistan as part of a United Nations-authorized NATO deployment and our ships train and serve with a standing NATO fleet in the Atlantic Ocean. As part of the war on terror, the Canadian Armed Forces have served with the United States coalition fleet in the waters off Southwest Asia and taken part in airstrikes against ISIS forces in the Middle East.

Domestic Stability

On rare occasions, members of the Canadian Armed Forces are called upon to help maintain civil peace within Canada. During the October Crisis of 1970, the federal government invoked the War Measures Act and Canadian soldiers were deployed in Quebec and Ottawa. They helped maintain security in the aftermath of dramatic kidnappings and bombings which, it was feared, may have escalated into widespread violence and unrest.

In 1990, Canadian Armed Forces members were sent to a Quebec community west of Montréal during the Oka Crisis to help deal with an Indigenous land dispute. The Canadian Armed Forces also often help the RCMP monitor our borders for criminal activity, such as the international smuggling of drugs and undocumented immigrants.

Search and Rescue

Members of the Canadian Armed Forces have saved many lives in search and rescue operations. Parachuting into a remote area to help those injured in a plane crash or dangling beneath helicopters during storms to rescue people on a sinking ship takes great skill and courage. This expertise has been valuable in many situations, such as when Swissair Flight 111 crashed off the coast of Nova Scotia in 1998. At that time, the Canadian Armed Forces helped in the recovery effort to retrieve human remains and aircraft debris.

Canadian Armed Forces members during Manitoba floods.

Natural Disasters

The highly trained men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces are an invaluable resource when natural disasters strike. During the 1997 Red River floods in Manitoba, they helped build levees, rescued stranded people and provided aid to those in need. The Canadian Armed Forces also provided support and helped clear the damage after a massive ice storm hit Eastern Canada in 1998, causing major power outages. Forest fires are another natural threat they are called upon to help handle. For example, soldiers helped to fight major forest fires in British Columbia in 2003 and evacuated residents threatened by wildfires in northern Alberta in 2016.

The Canadian Armed Forces also assist when natural disasters hit farther from home. For example, a tsunami battered the coasts of countries along the Indian Ocean in 2004 and Hurricane Katrina hit the Southern United States in 2005, causing great destruction and suffering. In both cases, Canadian Armed Forces members were quickly sent to provide specialized assistance and relief supplies. To effectively offer this kind of help, the Canadian Armed Forces has a Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) with the capability and equipment to provide safe drinking water, basic medical care and infrastructure repair to areas devastated by natural disasters or other upheavals.

Support Roles

The many different operational efforts made by the Canadian Armed Forces would be impossible without the skills of the men and women who work in support roles. It takes great effort to provide the help necessary to enable front-line personnel to effectively perform their tasks. Members who have worked in roles like logistics, maintenance, transport, medical and administration services have been integral to the successes of our military.

Facts and Figures

  • Canada’s vast size and relatively small population has resulted in the development of some unique ways to defend our borders. For example, the Canadian Rangers are a reserve force that patrols Canada’s northern areas and remote portions of our east and west coasts. These volunteers number approximately 5,000 and are mostly Inuit or other Indigenous men and women.
  • The Canadian Army, Royal Canadian Navy and Royal Canadian Air Force comprise the three branches of the Canadian Armed Forces. Their long and proud tradition of protecting and serving Canada on land, at sea and in the air continues today.

Heroes and Bravery

  • Many of the roles that Canadian Armed Forces members have performed are very hazardous. Constant training and being at the ready around the clock in all kinds of weather conditions take great effort and create an increased risk of accidents.
  • In the fall of 1991, during a rescue mission to the site of a Hercules military transport crash near CFS Alert in Canada’s High Arctic, 17 search and rescue technicians parachuted to the scene of the crash at night in a raging blizzard. They helped save the lives of 13 crash survivors and each technician earned a meritorious service award for bravery.

Operational Stress Injuries

The rigors that Veterans of the Canadian Armed Forces have experienced can take a great toll, even if the injuries that result are not readily visible to others. The strains of experiencing violence, trauma, terror and loss of comrades can often lead to operational stress injuries—psychological difficulties such as post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety disorders, depression or other conditions that interfere with daily functioning. These consequences of serving in the cause of peace and freedom can have a significant impact on individuals and families.

Sacrifice

HMCS Fredericton and Canadian helicopter in the Mediterranean Sea in 2016.

The Books of Remembrance, located in the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill in Ottawa, record the names of Canadians who have died in service to our country over the years. The Seventh Book of Remembrance contains the names of more than 1,800 Canadian Armed Forces members who have died in the line of duty since 1947. This number does not include those who died during the Korean War, whose names are recorded in a separate book.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements of those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Les Forces armées canadiennes dans l'après-guerre

Introduction

Un avion de guerre canadien au Moyen-Orient en 2014.

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes risquent leur vie tous les jours pour servir leur pays. Le Canada s’est forgé une réputation par son engagement envers les opérations internationales de maintien de la paix. Cependant, il ne s’agit là que d’une des fonctions qu’ils ont assumées au fil des années de leur carrière militaire. Ces braves hommes et femmes ont également rempli de nombreux autres rôles importants et exigeants dans l’après-guerre.

Sécurité nationale

La première obligation des Forces armées canadiennes est la protection de notre pays. Elles patrouillent les frontières avec vigilance, toujours prêtes à défendre le Canada. Pendant de nombreuses années, durant la guerre froide entre les pays communistes de l’Est et les pays démocratiques de l’Occident, la principale menace provenait de l’ancienne URSS. Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes devaient constamment protéger le pays contre les bombardiers et les sous-marins soviétiques munis d’armes nucléaires qui venaient épier nos moyens de défense. La nature des menaces extérieures envers le pays a changé avec le temps. Aujourd’hui, il est important de rester à l’affût d’attaques terroristes potentielles.

Sécurité régionale

Le Canada contribue également à protéger ses alliés. Cette tâche a peut-être été plus évidente pendant la guerre froide, qui a régi les relations internationales de la fin des années 1940 au début des années 1990. Par exemple, en tant que membre de l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN), le Canada a posté un groupe-brigade et un certain nombre d’escadrons de combat en Europe de l’Ouest, aidant de ce fait à contrebalancer les forces communistes de l’Europe de l’Est.

Un autre engagement militaire international essentiel du Canada est le Commandement de la défense aérospatiale de l’Amérique du Nord (NORAD). Cette organisation canado-américaine est chargée de surveiller le ciel de l’Amérique du Nord afin d’y déceler les menaces potentielles. Pendant la guerre froide, à mesure que la technologie en matière de missiles et de bombardiers s’est développée, des chaînes de stations radars ont été construites partout dans le Nord du Canada en vue d’attaques possibles.

Aujourd’hui, les Forces armées canadiennes continuent d’assumer les obligations militaires internationales du pays. Par exemple, des Canadiens ont servi en Afghanistan dans le cadre d’un déploiement de l’OTAN autorisé par l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), et les navires de la marine canadienne s’entraînent et servent avec la flotte permanente de l’OTAN dans l’océan Atlantique. Dans le cadre de la guerre contre le terrorisme, les Forces armées canadiennes ont servi avec la flotte de la coalition des États-Unis au large de l’Asie du Sud-Ouest, et ont aussi pris part aux frappes aériennes contre les forces de l’État islamique au Moyen-Orient.

Stabilité nationale

Parfois, on demande aux membres des Forces armées canadiennes d’aider à maintenir la paix civile à l’intérieur du Canada. Pendant la Crise d’octobre, en 1970, le gouvernement fédéral a utilisé la Loi sur les mesures de guerre pour déployer des soldats canadiens au Québec et à Ottawa. Ces derniers ont aidé à assurer la sécurité à la suite d’enlèvements et d’attentats à la bombe, puisqu’on craignait que ces événements ne dégénèrent en violence et en troubles généralisés.

En 1990, pendant la crise d’Oka, des membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont été envoyés dans une communauté québécoise à l’ouest de Montréal, en vue d’aider à maîtriser un conflit territorial autochtone. Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes appuient également souvent la GRC dans la surveillance des activités criminelles en région frontalière, telles que la contrebande internationale de drogues et le passage d’immigrants sans-papiers.

Recherche et sauvetage

Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont sauvé de nombreuses vies dans le cadre d’opérations de recherche et de sauvetage. Il faut une grande habileté et beaucoup de courage pour sauter en parachute dans une zone éloignée afin d’aider les blessés d’un écrasement d’avion ou pour se balancer au bout d’un câble sous un hélicoptère pendant une tempête afin de secourir des gens à bord d’un navire qui sombre. Ce genre d’expertise s’est aussi avéré utile dans d’autres types de situations d’intervention d’urgence, comme celles qui ont suivi l’écrasement du vol 1285 d’Arrow Air à Gander (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) en 1985 et l’écrasement du vol 111 de Swissair au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1998. Ces tragédies ont amené les Forces armées canadiennes à participer à la récupération des restes humains et des débris d’aéronef.

Catastrophes naturelles

Un avion de guerre canadien au Moyen-Orient en 2014.

Les hommes et les femmes bien entraînés des Forces armées canadiennes sont une ressource inestimable dans l’éventualité d’une catastrophe naturelle. En 1997, lors des inondations de la rivière Rouge, au Manitoba, ils ont participé à la construction de digues, secouru des gens en détresse et apporté un soutien à la population touchée. Dans le même ordre d’idées, ils ont aidé à nettoyer les dégâts causés par la tempête de verglas, en 1998, qui s’est abattue sur l’est du Canada, causant des pannes d’électricité sur un vaste territoire. Les incendies de forêt sont une autre menace naturelle que les militaires sont appelés à aider à maitriser. Par exemple, en 2003, ils ont aidé à contenir les gigantesques incendies de forêt en Colombie-Britannique, et en 2016, ils ont évacué les résidents menacés par des feux de forêt dans le nord de l’Alberta.

Les Forces armées canadiennes aident également à la suite de catastrophes naturelles à l’étranger. Par exemple, un tsunami a ravagé la côte des pays en bordure de l’océan Indien en 2004, et l’ouragan Katrina s’est déchaîné sur le sud des États-Unis en 2005, causant beaucoup de dommages et de souffrance. Dans les deux situations, des membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont rapidement été envoyés sur place pour fournir une aide spécialisée et du matériel de secours. Afin d’apporter efficacement ce type de soutien, les Forces armées canadiennes disposent d’une escouade spéciale, l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC), ou DART, qui est entraînée et équipée pour fournir de l’eau potable et des soins médicaux de base et réparer les infrastructures dans les régions ravagées par une catastrophe naturelle ou des bouleversements.

Rôles de soutien

Les Forces armées canadiennes n’arriveraient jamais à déployer leurs nombreux efforts opérationnels sans les compétences des hommes et des femmes qui remplissent des rôles de soutien. Il est très exigeant de fournir le soutien permettant au personnel de première ligne de remplir efficacement ses fonctions. Les militaires qui ont occupé des postes en logistique, en entretien, en transport ou en soutien médical ou administratif, entre autres, ont été indispensables à la réussite des Forces armées canadiennes.

Faits et chiffres

  • La vaste superficie du Canada et sa relativement faible population ont donné lieu à l’emploi de méthodes uniques pour défendre les frontières du pays. Par exemple, les Rangers canadiens sont une force de réserve qui patrouille les régions nordiques du Canada, ainsi que les parties éloignées des côtes Est et Ouest. Ce corps de volontaires compte environ 5 000 membres, surtout des Inuits et d’autres hommes et femmes d’origine autochtone.
  • L’Armée canadienne, la Marine royale du Canada et l’Aviation royale du Canada sont les trois branches des Forces armées canadiennes. Leur longue et fière tradition de protection et de service pour le Canada sur terre, en mer et dans les airs continue toujours aujourd’hui.

Héros et braves

  • Bon nombre des rôles qu’ont joué les membres des Forces armées canadiennes sont très dangereux. L’entraînement continuel et le maintien d’un état de préparation constant pour le combat, dans toutes sortes de conditions météorologiques, exigent de grands efforts et augmentent les risques d’accident.
  • À l’automne 1991, au cours d’une mission de sauvetage près de la SFC Alert, dans l’Extrême Arctique canadien, 17 techniciens en recherche et sauvetage ont sauté en parachute, de nuit et en pleine tempête de neige, pour atteindre le site d’écrasement d’un avion de transport militaire Hercules. Ils ont secouru 13 survivants de l’écrasement, et ont tous reçu une décoration de service méritoire pour leur bravoure.

Traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel

Les situations extrêmes vécues par les vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes peuvent avoir de graves conséquences, même si les blessures ne sont pas visibles de l’extérieur. Les difficultés liées à la violence, aux chocs émotionnels, à la terreur et à la perte de compagnons d’armes peuvent entraîner des traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel, soit des difficultés psychologiques telles que l’état de stress post-traumatique, des troubles anxieux, la dépression ou d’autres maladies qui perturbent la vie quotidienne. Ces conséquences du service pour la cause de la paix et de la liberté peuvent avoir un effet considérable sur la personne et sa famille.

Sacrifices

NCSM Fredericton et un hélicoptère canadien dans la mer Méditerranée en 2016.

Les Livres du Souvenir, que l’on retrouve dans la Tour de la Paix du Parlement du Canada, à Ottawa, consignent les noms des Canadiens et des Canadiennes qui ont perdu la vie au service de leur pays au fil des années. Le Septième Livre du Souvenir contient les noms de plus de 1 800 membres des Forces armées canadiennes morts dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions depuis 1947. Ce nombre n’inclut pas les membres morts pendant la guerre de Corée, car ces noms sont inscrits dans un livre distinct.

Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :