The Canadian Armed Forces in Ethiopia and Eritrea

Introduction

Canadian Armed Forces light armoured vehicle on patrol in Adi Ugri, Eritrea.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Canadian Armed Forces members served in Ethiopia and Eritrea from 2000 to 2003, taking part in the United Nations (UN) peace mission there. There were times when more than 500 Canadians served in the hot, dusty, far-off region as part of the larger international effort.

Ethiopia and Eritrea

Ethiopia and Eritrea are two neighbouring nations in the Horn of Africa, in the easternmost corner of the continent. This region of Africa has endured major problems over the years with both drought and strife often making life for the inhabitants very difficult.

Ethiopia is the oldest independent nation in Africa. This large, ethnically-diverse country has an area of more than 1.1 million square kilometres (making it about the size of the Northwest Territories) and a population of more than 65 million people. Eritrea is a small, largely-rural country just north of Ethiopia that sits along the shore of the Red Sea. It has an area of a little over 120,000 square kilometres (making it about twice the size of Nova Scotia) and a population of more than four million people.

In the years following the Second World War, Ethiopia and Eritrea were part of a political federation but many in Eritrea wanted independence and periodically revolted, resulting in decades of violence. Ethiopia, after a major civil war, finally dropped its claims to Eritrea in the early 1990s and Eritrea became independent in 1993. This step did not end the unrest, however, and arguments between the two countries over the exact border between them (which had not been very clearly defined) caused major friction.

In 1998, clashes broke out again, with Ethiopia and Eritrea building up hundreds of thousands of troops along their shared border. By the next year they were locked in fierce fighting which degenerated into trench warfare, reminiscent of the First World War. More than 100,000 soldiers and civilians would die and 650,000 people become refugees in the region by the time a cease-fire was declared in 2000. By the end of that year, a peace agreement had been reached and the UN agreed to send in peacekeepers.

Canada and the World Responds

The UN peace effort undertaken in the border region of Ethiopia and Eritrea was established to monitor the terms of the peace treaty and ensure the 25 kilometre-wide temporary security zone that has been established between the two countries is maintained until a final border is agreed upon, working closely with both sides to promote peace, trust and security.

Canada's contribution to the peace efforts in Ethiopia and Eritrea came at the beginning of the UN mission. In late 2000, a 450-strong Canadian Armed Forces contingent made a six-month commitment to help establish the international effort in the region. This Canadian presence included armoured reconnaissance, mechanized infantry, an engineer troop, and support elements.

The Canadians were part of the first battalion to become fully operational in the UN mission there. Canadian soldiers established checkpoints and bases for patrol and monitoring operations in important sectors in the region in an effort to ensure that the required troop pull-outs occurred. The first task was to ensure the two sides withdrew from the disputed area in order to create the temporary security zone – a process that took three months. Mounted on their Coyote light armoured vehicles, the Canadian troops were able to confront the forces of both sides who were raiding abandoned villages in the security zone for supplies to build new fortifications and to enforce the terms of the peace treaty. Once the opposing forces withdrew to the agreed positions and the temporary security zone was successfully established in April 2001, the Canadians continued to monitor the Eritrean and Ethiopian presence in the area. The bulk of the Canadians, their six-month deployment over, began to return home in June.

In addition to this larger force, six Canadian Armed Forces members worked as part of an international group of approximately 220 UN Military Observers who monitored the security zone between the two countries, ensuring compliance with the peace treaty, and interacting with the forces of both sides to gain acceptance of the UN presence. These observers also spoke with local people to gather information and to determine their humanitarian needs. This Canadian presence continued until July 2003.

The border situation between Ethiopia and Eritrea is still unresolved and tensions remain. However, the continuing presence of the international peacekeepers has helped ensure that no renewed, large-scale fighting between the nations has erupted in recent years.

Facts and Figures

The Canadian contingent deployed with those of the Netherlands and Denmark as part of the UN's Standby High-Readiness Brigade (SHIRBRIG), a multinational rapid-deployment force intended to respond quickly to problems that arise in trouble spots around the globe. This force is designed to deploy for six months in order to allow a follow-up UN mission to be organized.

At times, the contingent size of UN peacekeepers serving in Ethiopia and Eritrea has numbered more than 4,000 military personnel and 450 civilians from more than 40 countries.

Heroes and Bravery

Canadian soldiers endure many hardships while on peacekeeping duties. In Ethiopia and Eritrea, the temperatures often reached 50 degrees during the day. Without any breeze at night, the high humidity made sleeping difficult. Flies were everywhere, invading food, tents and vehicles. The long drought in the area also created a fine powder-like dust that coated the soldiers.

While there is certainly a political aspect to peace missions, the Canadian Armed Forces members who participate in these efforts often go beyond the strict definitions of their duties to help those in need. In Ethiopia and Eritrea, Canadians volunteered their resources and skills to work with the local people of an Eritrean town to rebuild a damaged school. These humanitarian efforts in the region – largely conceived and paid for by the Canadian Armed Forces members themselves – included distributing clothes, school supplies, sports equipment, and toys to the children in the area they were stationed.

Sacrifice

Canadian peacekeeper at United Nations observation post in Senafe, Eritrea.

Armed conflict brings suffering to all those involved, whether it is to those involved in the fighting, the civilians caught in the midst of the hostilities or those who must try to return stability to a region torn apart by violence. Canadian Armed Forces members know well the sacrifices that go along with the rewards of participating in international peace support efforts.

Those who serve in peace support efforts must enter into volatile situations where the risk of personal harm is very real. Hostile fire and landmines (which damaged some Canadian vehicles during this mission) are perhaps the most obvious dangers in a conflict zone, but they are not the only ones. Vehicle accidents, mysterious illnesses, and psychological effects resulting from the arduous conditions that these people are exposed to take a serious toll as well – a toll that can continue for many years. While no Canadian Armed Forces members lost their lives in Ethiopia and Eritrea, 10 UN personnel from six different countries died in the course of the international peace effort in this very hot and arid region. However, about 130 Canadian personnel have died in the course of other peace support efforts.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by Canada's Veterans during times of war, military conflict, and peace, and to become involved in remembrance activities that will help to preserve their legacy for future generations of Canadians. Knowing about our country's values and history helps us understand the Canada we live in today and how we can build our future together.

Date modified:

Les Forces armées canadiennes en Éthiopie et en Érythrée

Introduction

Un véhicule blindé léger des Forces armées canadiennes en patrouille à Adi Ugri en Érythrée.

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Des membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont été en service en Éthiopie et en Érythrée de 2000 à 2003 dans le cadre d'une mission de paix qui y était menée par les Nations Unies (ONU). À certains moments, plus de 500 Canadiens étaient en service dans cette région chaude, poussiéreuse et éloignée, dans le cadre d'un effort international plus vaste.

Éthiopie et l'Érythrée

L'Éthiopie et l'Érythrée sont deux pays voisins situés dans la corne de l'Afrique, dans la partie la plus à l'est du continent. Cette région d'Afrique a vécu de graves problèmes au cours des années, la sécheresse et les guerres ayant souvent rendu la vie des habitants très difficile.

L'Éthiopie est la plus ancienne nation indépendante d'Afrique. Ce vaste pays aux ethnies diverses a une superficie de plus de 1,1 million de kilomètres carrés, soit l'équivalent des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et compte plus de 65 millions d'habitants.

L'Érythrée, pour sa part, est un petit pays essentiellement rural situé juste au nord de l'Éthiopie, le long des rives de la mer Rouge. Elle a une superficie d'un peu plus de 120 000 kilomètres carrés, ce qui équivaut à deux fois la Nouvelle-Écosse, et une population de plus de quatre millions d'habitants.

Pendant les années qui ont suivi la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'Éthiopie et l'Érythrée ont fait partie d'une fédération politique, mais de nombreux Érythréens voulaient obtenir l'indépendance et se révoltaient fréquemment, ce qui a entraîné plusieurs décennies de violence. L'Éthiopie, après une guerre civile importante, a finalement abandonné ses revendications territoriales en Érythrée au début des années 1990 et l'Érythrée est devenue indépendante en 1993. Ce geste n'a toutefois pas mis fin aux hostilités et le conflit entourant le tracé exact de la frontière entre les deux pays, qui n'avait pas été bien défini, a engendré des frictions importantes.

En 1998, d'autres conflits sont survenus, l'Éthiopie et l'Érythrée assemblant des centaines de milliers de soldats le long de leur frontière commune. L'année suivante, les deux pays se livraient des combats féroces qui ont dégénéré en guerre de tranchées rappelant la Première Guerre mondiale. Plus de 100 000 soldats et civils y ont perdu la vie et 650 000 personnes se sont réfugiées dans la région avant la déclaration d'un cessez-le-feu, en 2000. Avant la fin de l'année, une entente était signée et les Nations Unies acceptaient d'envoyer des casques bleus dans la zone.

Réaction du Canada et du monde

La mission de maintien de la paix de l'ONU engagée dans la région frontalière située entre l'Éthiopie et l'Érythrée a été établie pour contrôler le respect des conditions du traité de paix et pour voir à ce que la zone temporaire de sécurité d'une largeur de 25 kilomètres établie entre les deux pays soit maintenue jusqu'à ce qu'ils en arrivent à une entente sur le tracé définitif de la frontière en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les deux parties dans le but de favoriser la paix, la confiance et la sécurité.

La contribution du Canada aux efforts de paix en Éthiopie et Érythrée a eu lieu au début de la mission de l'ONU. Vers la fin de 2000, un contingent de 450 membres des Forces armées canadiennes a contribué pendant six mois à l'établissement de l'effort international dans la région. Cette présence canadienne comprenait des blindés de reconnaissance, des unités d'infanterie mécanisée, un régiment d'ingénierie et des éléments d'intendance.

Les Canadiens faisaient partie du premier bataillon de la mission de l'ONU à être entièrement opérationnel à cet endroit. Les soldats canadiens ont établi des postes de contrôle et des bases pour les opérations de patrouille et de surveillance dans des secteurs importants de la région afin de voir à ce que les troupes se retirent comme prévu. La première tâche consistait à s'assurer que les deux parties se retirent de la zone contestée afin de créer une zone de sécurité temporaire, un processus qui a duré trois mois. À bord de leur véhicule légèrement blindé Coyote, les soldats canadiens ont été en mesure d'affronter les forces des deux parties qui effectuaient des raids dans des villages abandonnés situés dans la zone de sécurité pour y trouver des fournitures nécessaires à l'érection de nouvelles fortifications et pour mettre en vigueur les conditions du nouveau traité de paix. Une fois les forces opposées retirées aux endroits convenus et la zone temporaire de sécurité établie avec succès, en avril 2001, les Canadiens ont continué de surveiller la présence érythréenne et éthiopienne dans la région. La plupart des Canadiens ayant terminé leur déploiement de six mois ont commencé à rentrer au pays en juin.

En plus de ce contingent important, six membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont fait partie d'un groupe international d'environ 220 observateurs militaires de l'ONU chargé de surveiller la zone de sécurité entre les deux pays en assurant le respect du traité de paix et en interagissant avec les forces des deux parties dans le but d'obtenir l'acceptation de la présence de l'ONU. Ces observateurs se sont également entretenus avec la population locale pour obtenir de l'information et déterminer leurs besoins humanitaires. Cette présence canadienne s'est maintenue jusqu'en juillet 2003.

La situation frontalière entre l'Éthiopie et l'Érythrée n'est pas encore résolue et les tensions demeurent. Par contre, la présence continue des forces internationales de maintien de la paix a permis d'éviter l'éclatement de nouveaux combats à grande échelle au cours des dernières années.

Faits et chiffres

Le contingent canadien a été déployé avec ceux des Pays-Bas et du Danemark dans le cadre de la Brigade d'intervention rapide des forces en attente des Nations Unies (BIRFA), une force multinationale de déploiement rapide créée pour réagir promptement aux problèmes survenant dans les régions en difficulté du monde. Cette force est conçue pour un déploiement de six mois afin de permettre l'organisation d'une mission de suivi des Nations Unies.

Il est arrivé que le contingent des forces de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies servant en Éthiopie et en Érythrée se compose de plus de 4 000 militaires et 450 civils provenant de plus de 40 pays.

Héros et braves

Les soldats canadiens s'exposent à de nombreux risques lorsqu'ils participent à des missions de maintien de la paix. En Éthiopie et en Érythrée, le mercure dépassait souvent 50 degrés le jour, sans aucune brise, et pendant la nuit, l'humidité élevée rendait le sommeil difficile. Il y avait des mouches partout dans les aliments, dans les tentes et dans les véhicules. En raison de la sécheresse prolongée dans la région, une poudre fine recouvrait les soldats.

Bien que les missions de paix aient un caractère politique indéniable, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui y prennent part vont souvent au-delà de la définition stricte de leur mandat afin d'aider les personnes dans le besoin. En Éthiopie et en Érythrée, les Canadiens ont offert bénévolement leurs ressources et leurs compétences afin de travailler avec la population d'un village d'Érythrée à la reconstruction d'une école ayant subi des dommages. Ces efforts humanitaires dans la région, grandement conçus et défrayés par les membres des Forces armées canadiennes eux-mêmes, comprenaient la distribution de vêtements, de fournitures scolaires, d'équipement sportif et de jouets aux enfants de la région où ces militaires étaient stationnés.

Sacrifices

Un gardien de la paix canadien dans un poste d’observation des Nations Unies à Senafe en Érythrée.

Un conflit armé cause des souffrances à tous les intéressés, que l'on parle des combattants, des civils pris au piège des hostilités ou de ceux qui doivent tenter de restaurer la stabilité de la région dévastée par la violence. Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes connaissent bien les avantages et les sacrifices associés aux efforts de soutien de la paix.

Ceux qui maintiennent la paix doivent travailler dans des situations volatiles où les risques de préjudices personnels sont réels. Les tirs hostiles et les mines (qui ont endommagé des véhicules canadiens durant cette mission) sont peut-être les dangers les plus visibles de la zone de conflits, mais ils ne sont pas les seuls. Les accidents de véhicules, les maladies obscures et les troubles psychologiques résultant des conditions difficiles auxquelles sont exposées ces personnes sont tous de lourds prix qu'elles doivent parfois payer des années durant. Bien qu'aucun membre des Forces armées canadiennes n'ait perdu la vie en Éthiopie ou en Érythrée, 10 membres du personnel des Nations Unies provenant de six pays différents sont morts au cours des efforts de maintien de la paix dans cette région très chaude et très aride. En tout, dans le cadre des efforts de maintien de la paix auxquelles a participé le Canada, environ 130 militaires canadiens ont perdu la vie.

Programme le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d'Anciens Combattants Canada encourage tous les Canadiens à découvrir les sacrifices et les réalisations des anciens combattants du Canada en temps de guerre, de conflit militaire et de paix, et à participer à des activités de préservation de l'héritage qu'ils laissent aux futures générations de Canadiens. Connaître les valeurs de notre pays et de notre histoire nous aide à comprendre le Canada dans lequel nous vivons aujourd'hui et à façonner ensemble notre avenir.

Date de modification :