The Canadian Armed Forces in Haiti

Introduction

Canadian and Argentinian peacekeepers on foot patrol in Gonaives, Haiti.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Our country's international peace efforts take Canadians in uniform to many far-off corners of the world. Canadians served in peace efforts in Haiti in the mid-1990s and returned again in 2004 in an attempt to bring stability to a country battered by strife and upheaval.

Haiti

Haiti is a mountainous, French-speaking country located in the West Indies. The small, densely-populated country (with a population of approximately 8,000,000 people occupying an area about half the size of Nova Scotia) has had a tumultuous history.

The island where Haiti is located was discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1492, and was home to the first European colony in the Americas. Centuries later, Haiti became the first black-ruled republic in the world and just the second republic in the Western Hemisphere following a slave revolt. A country born in revolution, Haiti's politics continued to be tumultuous and the land went from being the richest colony in the world to one of the poorest countries in the Western Hemisphere.

From the 1950s to the mid-1980s, Haiti was controlled by the dictatorship of François "Papa Doc" Duvalier and, following his death, that of his son, Jean-Claude "Baby Doc" Duvalier. During this period of upheaval and corruption, thousands of Haitians fled their country, many of them emigrating to Quebec to make new lives for themselves.

After the Duvalier era finally came to a close, a new constitution was eventually proclaimed and free elections were held. In November 1990, Jean Bertrand Aristide was elected as President of Haiti. However, in September 1991, he was ousted from power by a military coup d'état and forced into exile. The international community was disturbed by this turn of events and called for the restoration of democratic leadership and an end to the human rights violations in the country.

The World Responds

In June 1993, the United Nations Security Council imposed an oil and arms embargo against Haiti in an effort to force Haiti's military dictatorship to step aside and allow Aristide to return to power. After a deal with the Haitian military leaders fell through, the embargo continued and Canadian warships, under a United States-led effort, plied the waters off the country to enforce the trade restrictions.

In September 1994, UN forces were finally able to land in Haiti and enforce the deal to return Aristide to power. This UN mission was intended to create a stable environment in the country, reform Haiti's military and create an independent police force. Beginning in March 1995, 500 Canadian Armed Forces personnel deployed to Haiti to contribute to this international effort. The Canadian contingent included aviation, engineering, transportation and administrative support personnel from across the country. They also provided logistical support and construction engineer services to the UN operations. In March 1996, the Canadian contingent expanded to 750 and their duties shifted to providing infantry personnel for security patrols, a helicopter detachment, engineers and a logistical support group as the UN mandate changed.

Canadians remained in the country as new UN missions continued, with up to 650 military personnel helping maintain stability in the country as the Haitian national police were trained (in part by Canadian civilian police officers) so they would be able to eventually do this themselves. As well, the Canadians also made important contributions to the people of the country by helping rebuild bridges, schools and water supply systems, operating medical clinics and delivering humanitarian aid. During their times in Haiti, the Canadian Armed Forces members were often greeted as protectors and friends as they travelled the chaotic streets of the capital, Port-au-Prince.

The international contingents continued their peacekeeping and humanitarian work in the country until the main military mission ended in 1997 (although Canadian police remained in the country until 2000). Unfortunately, Haiti has largely remained an impoverished country battered by violence and unrest. In early 2004, President Bertrand Aristide was again ousted from power and went into exile. With the nation descending into chaos again, a new multinational peace mission has been undertaken. Again, Canada has been there for the people of Haiti as approximately 500 Canadian Armed Forces personnel, including an infantry company, a helicopter detachment and support personnel, went to the country to restore order until a new UN stabilization mission could be well established. While this larger Canadian effort came to a close in August 2004, some Canadian Armed Forces officers continue to serve in key positions in the headquarters of the current UN mission.

Facts and Figures

The maximum size of the UN missions in Haiti has been approximately 7,500 military members and civilian police drawn from dozens of nations. At times, more than 750 Canadian Armed Forces members and 100 Canadian civilian police officers have served there.

Canadian Armed Forces engineers brought their expertise in road maintenance, mine disposal, water supply and power generation to the peace support efforts. Logistical personnel provided vehicle maintenance, transport, administrative and medical capabilities while Canadian Hercules aircraft and military helicopters have provided air transport, patrol and medical evacuation capabilities to the international forces on occasion.

Canada has taken a leading role in the UN-led efforts in Haiti in the past, in large part due to the linguistic and cultural ties our two countries have shared over the years – we both have French as an official language, there is a large Haitian-Canadian community in Quebec and Canadian missionaries and foreign aid workers have long been active in Haiti.

Heroes and Bravery

Haiti has been a grueling environment in which to work, with extremely hot and humid conditions being common. The Canadian Armed Forces members serving in the country have had to carry out their demanding duties against this constantly challenging backdrop.

Canadians serving in Haiti often donated their spare time to humanitarian efforts. For example, they often visited orphanages and unofficially adopted 30 homeless children who were in a nearby relief mission. Medical personnel helped the sick and elderly and also delivered babies. Canadian engineers also constructed a school in the country.

Master Corporal Joseph Lavallée was awarded a Meritorious Service Medal for his great courage and determination in maintaining security at the Haitian National Palace during a tense demonstration. He ensured his section prevented an angry group of 1,000 people from storming the building.

Sacrifice

Canadian Armed Forces member in a helicopter keeping watch over Port au Prince, Haiti.

The challenges faced by Canadians serving in peace support efforts are very different than those faced by most people. Not many careers see its professionals called on to spend months at a time away from home, serving in hot, dirty, dangerous conditions in which the constant threat of violence simmers around them. However, this is indeed the situation that has been faced by many Canadian Armed Forces members trying to establish and nurture peace in Haiti. A total of 15 UN personnel from around the world have lost their lives in the various peace missions there.

Cultivating peace is often a long process and one that often does not pay full dividends for many years. The Canadian Armed Forces members on missions like these usually do not get to see the ultimate results of their peace efforts because they are only there for a relatively short time, a situation that can be frustrating for them. Working in places like Haiti where the problems are complex and deeply rooted mean that the results of peace efforts are simply not always going to be dramatic – but the spirit of striving and sacrificing to help continues.

About 130 Canadians have died in the course of peace support operations overseas over the years, paying the ultimate price in their efforts to help the people in these strife-torn places. Many more have been injured in these efforts.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by Canada's Veterans during times of war, military conflict and peace, and to become involved in remembrance activities that will help to preserve their legacy for future generations. Knowing about our country's values and history helps us understand the Canada we live in today and how we can build our future together.

Date modified:

Les Forces armées canadiennes en Haïti

Introduction

Des gardiens de la paix canadiens et argentins en patrouille pédestre à Gonaïves en Haïti.

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande
Version PDF

Les efforts que déploie notre pays en faveur de la paix internationale conduisent des Canadiens en uniforme dans des lieux fort éloignés. Certains d'entre eux ont servi dans le cadre de missions de paix en Haïti au milieu des années 1990 et, à nouveau, en 2004 dans l'espoir de stabiliser ce pays secoué de conflits et de bouleversements.

Haïti

Haïti est un pays montagneux et francophone situé dans les Antilles. Ce petit pays densément peuplé, dont la population d'environ 8 000 000 d'habitants occupe une surface à peu près équivalente à la moitié de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a connu une histoire mouvementée.

L'île où se trouve Haïti a été découverte par Christophe Colomb en 1492 et a constitué la première colonie européenne des Amériques. Des siècles plus tard, Haïti est devenu la première république dirigée par un Noir et la deuxième république de l'hémisphère occidental à naître d'une révolte d'esclaves. Dans ce pays issu d'une révolution, la politique a toujours été tumultueuse et, de plus riche colonie au monde, Haïti est devenu l'un des pays les plus pauvres de l'hémisphère.

Des années 1950 jusqu'au milieu des années 1980, Haïti était contrôlé par la dictature de François Duvalier, « Papa Doc », à qui a succédé, à son décès, son fils Jean-Claude, « Bébé Doc », de la même trempe. Pendant cette période de soulèvements et de corruption, des milliers d'Haïtiens ont fui le pays, beaucoup d'entre eux émigrant au Québec pour y entreprendre une nouvelle vie.

Après l'époque Duvalier, une nouvelle constitution a été proclamée et des élections libres ont eu lieu. En novembre 1990, Jean Bertrand Aristide a été élu président d'Haïti. En septembre 1991, cependant, il a été chassé du pouvoir par un coup d'état militaire et n'a eu d'autre choix que de s'exiler. La communauté internationale, troublée par ces événements, a réclamé le rétablissement du gouvernement démocratique et la cessation des violations des droits de la personne dans le pays.

Réaction mondiale

En juin 1993, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a imposé à Haïti un embargo sur le pétrole et les armes dans un effort visant à forcer la dictature militaire du pays à se retirer et à permettre à Aristide de reprendre le pouvoir. Après l'échec d'un accord avec les dirigeants des forces militaires haïtiennes, l'embargo s'est poursuivi et des navires de guerre canadiens, dans le cadre d'un effort dirigé par les États-Unis, ont parcouru les eaux du pays, mettant en vigueur les restrictions commerciales.

En septembre 1994, les forces de l'ONU ont enfin réussi à débarquer à Haïti et à mettre en vigueur l'accord consistant à reporter Aristide au pouvoir. Cette mission avait pour but de créer un environnement stable dans le pays, de réformer les forces militaires et de créer un service de police indépendant. À partir de mars 1995, 500 membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont été déployés à Haïti afin de participer à cet effort international. Le contingent canadien comprenait du personnel de l'aviation, de l'ingénierie, du transport et du soutien administratif de tout le pays et apportait le soutien logistique et les services d'ingénieurs-constructeurs aux opérations de l'ONU. En mars 1996, le contingent canadien a atteint 750 membres et les tâches de ceux-ci ont consisté à fournir le personnel d'infanterie pour les patrouilles de sécurité, un détachement d'hélicoptères, des ingénieurs et un groupe de soutien logistique en raison de la modification du mandat de l'ONU.

Les Canadiens sont demeurés au pays pendant que les missions de l'ONU se poursuivaient, leur nombre atteignant jusqu'à 650 membres du personnel militaire qui contribuaient au maintien de la stabilité du pays pendant la formation de la police nationale haïtienne (en partie par des policiers civils canadiens) afin qu'elle puisse éventuellement le faire elle-même. En outre, les Canadiens ont également apporté une aide importante aux gens du pays en les aidant à reconstruire des ponts, des écoles et des réseaux d'aqueduc, en dirigeant des cliniques médicales et en procurant de l'aide humanitaire. Pendant leur séjour en Haïti, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont souvent été accueillis comme des protecteurs et amis lorsqu'ils parcouraient les rues turbulentes de la capitale, Port-au-Prince.

Les contingents internationaux ont continué leur travail de maintien de la paix et leur œuvre humanitaire dans le pays jusqu'à ce que la mission militaire principale prenne fin, en 1997 (bien que la police canadienne y soit restée jusqu'en 2000). Malheureusement, Haïti est resté essentiellement un pays pauvre en butte à la violence et à l'agitation. Au début de 2004, le président Bertrand Aristide a été de nouveau déposé et exilé. La nation étant retombée dans le chaos, une nouvelle mission de paix multinationale a été entreprise. De nouveau, le Canada était là pour le peuple d'Haïti et y a envoyé environ 500 membres des Forces armées canadiennes, dont une compagnie d'infanterie, un détachement d'hélicoptères et du personnel de soutien afin de rétablir l'ordre jusqu'à ce qu'une nouvelle mission de stabilisation de l'ONU puisse être bien établie. Bien que cet effort accru des Canadiens ait pris fin en avril 2004, certains officiers des Forces armées canadiennes continuent à occuper des postes clés à l'administration centrale de la mission actuelle de l'ONU.

Faits et chiffres

La taille maximale des missions de l'ONU en Haïti a été d'environ 7 500 membres militaires et policiers civils provenant de dizaines de pays. Il est arrivé que plus de 750 membres des Forces armées canadiennes et une centaine de policiers canadiens s'y trouvent.

Les ingénieurs des Forces armées canadiennes ont apporté leur expertise en matière d'entretien des routes, de déminage, d'approvisionnement en eau et de production d'énergie aux efforts de maintien de la paix. Le personnel logistique a fourni ses capacités dans les domaines de l'entretien, du transport, de l'administration et de la médecine, tandis que l'avion Hercules et les hélicoptères militaires ont assuré, à l'occasion, le transport aérien, la patrouille et l'évacuation médicale aux forces internationales.

Le Canada a joué un rôle de chef de file dans les efforts menés par l'ONU en Haïti dans le passé, en grande partie en raison des liens linguistiques et culturels que partagent les deux pays depuis des années : le français est là-bas comme ici une langue officielle, le Québec abrite une communauté canado-haïtienne nombreuse et les missionnaires et volontaires de l'aide extérieure du Canada travaillent depuis longtemps en Haïti.

Héros et braves

Haïti est un environnement exténuant dans lequel travailler, une chaleur extrême et une humidité étouffante y étant monnaie courante. Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes en service en Haïti ont dû accomplir un travail exigeant dans ce milieu d'une difficulté extraordinaire.

Les Canadiens en service en Haïti ont fréquemment consacré leurs loisirs à des efforts humanitaires. Ils ont visité souvent, par exemple, des orphelinats et ont officieusement adopté 30 enfants sans abri qui se trouvaient dans une mission de secours avoisinante. Le personnel médical a soigné des malades et des personnes âgées et a mis des enfants au monde. Les sapeurs d'ingénieurs des Forces armées canadiennes ont construit une école.

On a décerné au caporal-chef Joseph Lavallée la Médaille du service méritoire pour son grand courage et sa détermination à maintenir la sécurité du Palais national haïtien pendant une manifestation houleuse. Il a vu à ce que sa section empêche un groupe de 1 000 personnes en colère de se lancer à l'assaut du palais.

Sacrifices

Un membre des Forces armées canadiennes dans un hélicoptère qui monte la garde au-dessus de Port-au-Prince en Haïti.

Les difficultés auxquelles se heurtent les Canadiens dans le cadre d'efforts de soutien de la paix sont très différentes de celles auxquelles font face la plupart des gens. Peu de professions exigent de leurs titulaires qu'ils demeurent mois après mois loin de chez eux, à travailler dans la chaleur, la saleté et le danger, sous la menace constante d'une violence qui couve tout autour d'eux. C'est pourtant le type de situation dans laquelle se sont trouvés nombre de membres des Forces armées canadiennes essayant d'établir et de maintenir la paix en Haïti. Au total, 15 employés de l'ONU provenant de tous les coins du monde ont perdu la vie dans le cadre des différentes missions de paix dans ce pays.

Cultiver la paix constitue souvent un lent processus qui ne rapporte pas avant des années. Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes attachés à des missions de cette nature ne voient généralement pas les fruits de leur labeur, car ils ne sont là que pendant une période relativement brève, ce qui peut être frustrant pour eux. Le travail dans des endroits comme Haïti, où les problèmes sont complexes et profondément enracinés, signifie que les résultats des efforts de paix ne sont pas toujours impressionnants. Néanmoins, la volonté de réussir et la disposition à se sacrifier pour aider ne faiblissent pas. Au fil des ans, environ 130 Canadiens ont perdu la vie au cours d'opérations de soutien de la paix à l'étranger, faisant le sacrifice ultime pour venir en aide aux habitants dans ces régions déchirées par des conflits. Plusieurs autres ont été blessés lors de ses efforts.

Programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d'Anciens Combattants Canada encourage tous les Canadiens à découvrir les sacrifices et les réalisations des anciens combattants du Canada en temps de guerre, de conflit militaire et de paix, et à participer à des activités de préservation de l'héritage qu'ils laissent aux futures générations de Canadiens. Connaître les valeurs de notre pays et de notre histoire nous aide à comprendre le Canada dans lequel nous vivons aujourd'hui et à façonner ensemble notre avenir.

Date de modification :