Faces of Freedom


Explore stories of fellow Canadians—the Faces of Freedom—some of whom volunteered to bravely defend our freedom. Their faces tell the story and their legacy will live on.


The Italian Campaign

Lance Sergeant (Ret’d) David Adlington

Lance Sergeant (Ret’d) David Adlington

Lance Sergeant (Ret’d) David Adlington was born on 18 September 1919 in Newport, Wales. After enlisting with the Royal Canadian Regiment on 3 October 1939 at the Wolseley Barraks in London, Ontario, he completed his basic training with C Company of the Royal Canadian Regiment. It wasn’t long after enlisting that Adlington boarded a ship in Halifax destined for Scotland, where he arrived on New Year’s Day 1940.

Maria and Francesca LaSorda

Maria and Francesca LaSorda

In October 1999, a monument was erected at the Piazza Plebiscito (since renamed to Canadian Heroes Square) in Ortona, Italy to commemorate the Canadian soldiers who made the ultimate sacrifice at the Battle of Ortona during Christmas 1943. In attendance for the unveiling were two sisters, Maria and Francesca LaSorda. Roughly 56 years earlier, the sisters had befriended the Canadians as their town was reduced to ruins.

Lieutenant (Ret’d) Maxine Llewellyn Bredt

Lieutenant (Ret’d) Maxine Llewellyn Bredt

Lieutenant (Ret’d) Maxine Llewellyn Bredt served while Canada was at war, over seven decades ago, and she has been a relentless volunteer for her fellow Veterans since then.

Sergeant Ghislain Cotton, CD

Sergeant Ghislain Cotton, CD

In June 2019, Sergeant Ghislain Cotton humbly and proudly represented First Nations, Métis and Inuit CAF members as Eagle Staff bearer. As he did, his two oldest sons are following in his father’s and his maternal grandfather’s boots of military service. They are carrying on this family tradition. Sgt Cotton recently accepted the Eagle Staff bearer role for the 75th anniversary of the Italian Campaign.

Sergeant (Ret’d) Ernest “Smokey” Smith, VC

Sergeant (Ret’d) Ernest “Smokey” Smith, VC

During the Second World War, Ernest “Smokey” Smith became the only Canadian private to earn the Victoria Cross after he almost single handedly fought off German tanks and soldiers during the Italian Campaign.

Afghanistan

Sergeant (Ret’d) Patrick Gordon

Sergeant (Ret’d) Patrick Gordon

Born 7 January 1984, Sergeant (Ret’d) Patrick Gordon grew up in Saint John, New Brunswick listening to stories of his grandfather Edward Thorne, who served in the Second World War with the Royal New Brunswick Regiment.

The Gulf War

Sergeant (Ret’d) Marion Kelly

Sergeant (Ret’d) Marion Kelly

Born in Welland, Ontario in 1962, Sergeant (Ret’d) Marion Kelly dreamed of representing Canada on the international stage as a young athlete. As a competitive swimmer, Kelly had a goal of one day competing in the Olympics.

Battle of the Scheldt

Eva Redmond

Eva Redmond

Eva Redmond, a Nova Scotia high school student and cadet, travelled to Ottawa with her high school for the Ceremony of Remembrance at the National War Memorial on November 11. The trip to Ottawa was part of Operation Veteran. Founded in 2009 by Dr. Paul Kavanagh and the Canadian War Museum, Operation Veteran is a program designed to highlight Veterans and their sacrifices.

Claire Belliveau

Claire Belliveau

From the first time she visited the Canadian National Vimy Memorial and the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial in northern France, Claire Belliveau knew she wanted to be a guide there one day.

Mary McPherson

Mary McPherson

Mary McPherson is 22 years old. She has a long standing passion for art and recently had the opportunity to design the Royal Canadian Mint’s silver 20 dollar coin that marks the 75th anniversary of the Battle of the Scheldt.

Anton “Tony” Olaf Pearson

Chief Warrant Officer (Ret'd) Anton "Tony" Pearson

Anton “Tony” Olaf Pearson was born on 8 March 1925 in Melville, Saskatchewan. He enlisted in the Canadian Armed Forces on 15 October 1943, and first joined the Royal Canadian Armoured Corps. He said he decided to volunteer before he was conscripted.

D-Day and the Battle of Normandy

Private (Ret’d) Ardwell “Art” Eyres

Private (Ret’d) Ardwell “Art” Eyres

During the Second World War, Ardwell “Art” Eyres served on a troopship that was responsible for bringing thousands of soldiers across the Atlantic to fight in Europe. Over 75 years later, he continues to remember them.

Warrant Officer (Ret'd) George Couture

Warrant Officer (Ret'd) George Couture

Seventy-seven years after he began his military career, George Couture found himself at Pier 21 reminiscing about one of the last times he was there. He was boarding a ship with his younger brother and was headed for Europe, and war.

Charles Stark

Able Seaman (Ret’d) Charles Starkes

With a father in the Merchant Navy and an uncle who died in the First World War, Charles Starkes’ enlistment in the Royal Navy carried on a tradition of military service in his family. He enlisted in November of 1940. He was 18 years old.

Khamael Johnston (youth delegate)

Khamael Johnston (D-Day 75 Youth Delegate)

Khamael Johnston travelled to France as a youth delegate on the Official Government of Canada overseas delegation. While in Normandy, France she participated and attended ceremonies that honoured the countless Canadians and Allied forces who sacrificed for peace and freedom.

Véronic Beaudry (Juno Beach Centre Guide)

Jacqueline Pitre (Juno Beach Centre Guide)

Jacqueline Pitre, who is originally from Burlington, Ontario, first visited the Juno Beach Centre and several battlefields in France in 2012. When she returned to Canada, she met Garth Webb, the Centre founder, and she immediately knew she wanted to work there one day.

Richard Rohmer

Richard Rohmer
Honorary Lieutenant General of the Canadian Armed Forces

Richard Rohmer was born in Hamilton, Ontario. In 1942, when he was 18 years old, he joined the Royal Canadian Air Force.

Leading Aircraftwoman (Ret’d) Eugenie “Frankie” Turner

Leading Aircraftwoman (Ret’d) Eugénie “Frankie” Turner

“What a wonderful surprise when I heard that I was invited to attend the 75th anniversary of D-Day. What an honour.”

Véronic Beaudry (Juno Beach Centre Guide)

Véronic Beaudry (Juno Beach Centre Guide)

Véronic Beaudry is a Franco-Manitoban from Saint-Boniface, Manitoba. Some of her ancestors come from Normandy, and her great-grandfather, Justin Beaudry, served in the Second World War with the Canadian Army postal service.

Alex Polowin

Able Seaman (Ret’d) Alex Polowin

Alex Polowin celebrated his birthday on April 15. At the age of 95, he will be traveling back to Juno Beach as a member of the Government of Canada’s delegation to commemorate the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy.

Amanda Purdy

Amanda Purdy

Amanda Purdy is a Canadian citizen with no direct or family connection to the military. This has not stopped her from being a champion for recognition and remembrance of those who have bravely served our country in her hometown of Ottawa, Ontario.

Barbara Stewart

Barbara Stewart

Barbara Stewart, a native of Nova Scotia, holds as one of her prize possessions a very special family heirloom – a set of bagpipes.

George Chow

Master Warrant Officer (Ret’d) George Chow, CD

Mr. George Chow was born in Victoria, British Columbia in 1921. Two months before his 19th birthday, he went to the recruiting centre at the Bay Street Armoury in Victoria to sign up without his parents’ knowledge.

Captain (N)(Ret’d) Harold Tilley, CD

“From the day he was born to the day he died he was a naval officer”; says Richard Tilley, son of Harold Tilley…

Gallery

Faces of Freedom Exhibit at the Canadian National Vimy Memorial

Date modified:

Visages de la liberté


Explorez les récits de nos compatriotes canadiens - les Visages de la liberté - dont certains se sont portés volontaires pour défendre courageusement la liberté. Leurs visages racontent l’histoire et nous préservons leur héritage.


La campagne d’Italie

Sergent suppléant (à la retraite) David Adlington

Sergent suppléant (à la retraite) David Adlington

Le sergent suppléant (à la retraite) David Adlington est né le 18 septembre 1919 à Newport, au Pays de Galles. Il s’est enrôlé dans le Royal Canadian Regiment le 3 octobre 1939 à la caserne Wolseley de London, en Ontario, puis a terminé son instruction de base avec la compagnie C du Royal Canadian Regiment. Peu de temps après son enrôlement, Adlington est monté à bord d’un navire à Halifax à destination de l’Écosse, où il est arrivé le jour de l’An 1940.

Maria et Francesca LaSorda

Maria et Francesca LaSorda

En octobre 1999, un monument a été érigé à la Piazza del Plebiscito (renommée depuis la « place des héros canadiens ») à Ortona, en Italie, pour commémorer les soldats canadiens qui ont perdu la vie lors de la bataille d’Ortona pendant la période de Noël en 1943. Au dévoilement du monument, deux sœurs étaient présentes, Maria et Francesca LaSorda. Il y a environ 56 ans, lorsque leur ville tombait en ruine, les sœurs sont devenues amies avec les Canadiens.

Lieutenant (à la retraite) Maxine Llewellyn Bredt

Lieutenant (à la retraite) Maxine Llewellyn Bredt

Le lieutenant (à la retraite) Maxine Llewellyn Bredt a servi pendant que le Canada était en guerre, il y a plus de sept décennies, et elle est depuis devenue une bénévole infatigable pour ses camarades vétérans.

Sergeant Ghislain Cotton, CD

Sergent Ghislain Cotton, CD

En juin 2019, le sergent Ghislain Cotton a humblement et fièrement représenté les membres des FAC issus des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits en tant que porteur du bâton à exploits. Tout comme lui, ses deux fils aînés suivent les traces de son père et de son grand-père maternel en portant l’uniforme. Ils perpétuent cette tradition familiale. Le Sgt Cotton a récemment accepté le rôle de porteur du bâton à exploits à l’occasion du 75eanniversaire de la campagne d’Italie.

Le sergent (à la retraite) Ernest « Smokey » Smith, VC

Le sergent (à la retraite) Ernest « Smokey » Smith, VC

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Ernest « Smokey » Smith est devenu le seul soldat canadien à recevoir la Croix de Victoria après avoir combattu presque seul les chars et les soldats allemands pendant la campagne d’Italie.

Afghanistan

Sergent (à la retraite) Patrick  Gordon

Sergent (à la retraite) Patrick Gordon

Né le 7 janvier 1984, le sergent (à la retraite) Patrick Gordon a grandi à Saint John, au Nouveau–Brunswick. Pendant son enfance, il écoutait les histoires de son grand-père, Edward Thorne, qui a servi pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans le Royal New Brunswick Regiment.

La guerre du Golfe

Sergent (à la retraite) Marion Kelly

Sergent (à la retraite) Marion Kelly

Née à Welland (Ontario) en 1962, le sergent (à la retraite) Marion Kelly rêvait de représenter le Canada sur la scène internationale lorsqu’elle était une jeune athlète. Étant nageuse de compétition, Kelly s’était fixé comme objectif de participer un jour aux Jeux olympiques.

Bataille de l’Escaut

Eva Redmond

Eva Redmond

Eva Redmond, une élève de niveau secondaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui fait partie des cadets, s’est rendue à Ottawa avec son école pour assister à la cérémonie du jour du Souvenir au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada le 11 novembre dernier. Ce voyage à Ottawa s’inscrivait dans le cadre du programme Opération Anciens Combattants. Lancé en 2009 par le Dr Paul Kavanagh et le Musée canadien de la guerre, Opération Anciens Combattants est un programme qui vise à mettre en valeur les vétérans et les sacrifices qu’ils ont faits.

Claire Belliveau

Claire Belliveau

Dès sa première visite au Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy et au Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel, dans le nord de la France, Claire Belliveau a su qu’elle voulait un jour y être guide.

Mary McPherson

Mary McPherson

Mary McPherson a 22 ans. Passionnée depuis longtemps pour l’art, elle a récemment eu l’occasion de concevoir une pièce de 20 dollars en argent de la Monnaie royale canadienne visant à souligner le 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Escaut.

Anton « Tony » Olaf Pearson

L’adjudant chef (à la retraite) Anton « Tony » Olaf Pearson

Anton « Tony » Olaf Pearson, né le 8 mars 1925, à Melville (Saskatchewan), s’enrôla dans les Forces armées canadiennes le 15 octobre 1943. Il joignit d’abord le Corps blindé royal canadien. Il dit s’être porté volontaire avant d’avoir été conscrit.

Jour J et la bataille de Normandie

Soldat (à la retraite) Ardwell « Art » Eyres

Soldat (à la retraite) Ardwell « Art » Eyres

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Ardwell « Art » Eyres a servi sur un navire de transport de troupes à bord duquel des milliers de soldats ont traversé l’Atlantique pour aller combattre en Europe. Plus de 75 ans plus tard, il continue de se souvenir d’eux.

Adjudant (à la retraite) George Couture

Adjudant (à la retraite) George Couture

Soixante-dix-sept ans après le début de sa carrière militaire, George Couture s’est retrouvé au Quai 21 et s’est rappelé l’une des dernières fois où il s’y trouvait. Il s’apprêtait alors à monter, avec son frère cadet, à bord d’un navire de transport de troupes en partance pour l’Europe et la guerre.

Charles Stark

Matelot de 2e classe (à la retraite) Charles Starkes

Dans la foulée de son père qui avait servi dans la marine marchande et de son oncle décédé au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, Charles Starkes a perpétué la tradition de service militaire dans sa famille. Il s’est enrôlé dans la Marine royale en novembre 1940. Il avait alors 18 ans.

Khamael Johnston (jeune déléguée)

Khamael Johnston (Jeune déléguée du 75e anniversaire du jour J)

Khamael Johnston s’est rendue en France à titre de jeune déléguée au sein de la délégation officielle du gouvernement du Canada à l’étranger. Alors qu’elle était en Normandie (France), elle a participé à des cérémonies en l’honneur des innombrables Canadiens et membres des forces alliées qui se sont sacrifiés pour la paix et la liberté.

Jacqueline Pitre (Guide au Centre Juno Beach)

Jacqueline Pitre (Guide au Centre Juno Beach)

Originaire de Burlington, en Ontario, Jacqueline Pitre a d’abord visité le Centre Juno Beach et plusieurs champs de bataille en France, en 2012. De retour au Canada, elle a eu l’occasion de rencontrer Garth Webb, fondateur du Centre, et a tout de suite souhaité y travailler un jour.

Richard Rohmer

Richard Rohmer
Lieutenant-général honoraire des Forces armées canadiennes

Richard Rohmer est né à Hamilton, en Ontario. En 1942, alors âgé de 18 ans, il s’est joint à l'Aviation royale canadienne.

Aviatrice-chef (Retraitée) Eugénie (Frankie) Turner

Aviatrice-chef (Retraitée) Eugénie (Frankie) Turner

« J’ai été joyeusement surprise lorsqu’on m’a demandé de participer au 75e anniversaire du jour J. Quel honneur. »

Véronic Beaudry (Guide au Centre Juno Beach)

Véronic Beaudry (Guide au Centre Juno Beach)

Véronic Beaudry est une franco-manitobaine de Saint-Boniface, au Manitoba. Certains de ces ancêtres viennent de Normandie, et son arrière-grand-père, Justin Beaudry, a participé à la Seconde Guerre mondiale au sein du Service postal de l’Armée canadienne.

Alex Polowin

Matelot de 2e classe (à la retraite) Alex Polowin

Alex Polowin a célébré son anniversaire le 15 avril. Âgé de 95 ans, il retournera à Juno Beach comme membre de la délégation du gouvernement du Canada pour célébrer le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie.

Amanda Purdy

Amanda Purdy

Amanda Purdy est citoyenne canadienne et n’a aucun lien direct avec les forces armées ni aucun militaire dans sa famille. Mais cela ne l’a pas empêchée de devenir championne de la reconnaissance et du souvenir à Ottawa (Ontario), sa ville natale, en l’honneur des gens qui ont servi notre pays avec bravoure.

Barbara Stewart

Barbara Stewart

Barbara Stewart est originaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Parmi ses possessions les plus précieuses se trouve un objet de famille très particulier : une cornemuse.

L’adjudant-maître (à la retraite) George Chow, CD

M. George Chow est né en 1921 à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique. Deux mois avant son 19e anniversaire, il s’est rendu au centre de recrutement du manège militaire de Bay Street, à Victoria, pour s’inscrire à l’insu de ses parents.

Capitaine de vaisseau (retraité) Harold Tilley, CD

Capitaine de vaisseau (retraité) Harold Tilley, CD

« Du jour de sa naissance au jour de sa mort, il a été officier de marine », mentionne Richard Tilley, fils de Harold Tilley.

Galerie de photos

Exposition Visages de la liberté au Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy

Date de modification :