The Battle of Passchendaele

Introduction

Canadian Pioneers carrying trench mats with wounded and prisoners in background.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Canadians have a proud history of bravely serving in the cause of peace and freedom over the years. A name from Canada’s First World War military heritage that still stirs emotions is “Passchendaele.” On a muddy battlefield in northwest Belgium, Canadians overcame almost unimaginable hardships to win an impressive victory in the fall of 1917.

Canada and the First World War

When Britain went to war in Europe in August 1914, Canada—as a member of the British Empire— automatically found itself at war as well. The First World War soon turned into a stalemate of trench fighting along the Western Front, with a heavily defended 1,000 kilometre-long network of trenches stretching across Belgium and northern France from the English Channel to the border of Switzerland. On one side were the forces of France and Britain (along with other allies such as Canada) and on the other were the Germans. From their opposing trenches they faced one another across a blasted “No Man’s Land” of barbed wire, exploding artillery shells and deadly machine gun fire.

In the fall of 1917, the Canadian Corps—after its great success at Vimy Ridge that April—was sent north to Belgium. It would be all-too-familiar ground for the Canadians who had seen heavy fighting there earlier in the war.

Ypres

The Ypres area of Belgium—where the village of Passchendaele is located—was the scene of several First World War battles, including the first use of poison gas when the Germans unleashed deadly chemical attacks there in April 1915. The Ypres salient was the last portion of Belgium that was not in enemy hands after the initial German advances of the war and, as a result, held great symbolic meaning to the Allies.

Ypres was a very difficult place to fight. It was a region largely made up of flat, low ground that was kept dry only with the help of an intricate series of dikes and ditches. Three years of heavy fighting there, however, had entirely destroyed these drainage systems. The ground, churned up by millions of artillery shells, turned to sticky mud when wet. In 1917, the autumn rains came early and turned the battlefield into a sea of muck, the likes of which still make the name Passchendaele synonymous with the horrific fighting conditions many people picture when thinking of the First World War.

The Opening of the Battle

The Third Battle of Ypres was undertaken by the British primarily to take the pressure off the French forces to the south. The British commander, Sir Douglas Haig, launched a drive in Belgium to wear down the German capacity to continue fighting the war while hopefully seizing strategic German railways in the occupied country and capturing the German submarine bases along the coast which were being used to menace Allied shipping.

The campaign began at the end of July 1917. British, as well as Australian and New Zealand (ANZAC) forces, opened the attack with a pounding artillery barrage. Heavy rains came down the very night the ground assault was launched, however, and shell holes quickly filled with filthy water. The battlefield soon became peppered with countless flooded craters, all too often containing wounded and fallen soldiers. A heavy toll was taken on the attackers as they had to struggle through thick mud with little cover while German machine gunners in pill boxes (reinforced concrete machine gun positions) tore them to pieces. Despite these conditions, the Allied forces slowly gained much of the higher ground as the summer turned into fall. The main objectives of the offensive, however, remained out of reach.

The Canadians at Passchendaele

Early in October 1917, the Canadians were sent to Belgium to relieve the battered ANZAC forces and take part in the final push to capture Passchendaele. Canadian Corps commander Lieutenant-General Arthur Currie inspected the terrain and was shocked at the conditions he saw. He tried to avoid having his men fight there but was overruled by his superiors. As at Vimy, the four divisions of the Canadian Corps would see action. However, the ubiquitous mud, flat terrain, and relative lack of preparation time and artillery support would make Passchendaele a far different battlefield than the one the Canadians had encountered at Vimy Ridge.

Currie took as much time as he could to carefully prepare and on October 26, the Canadian offensive began. Advancing through the mud and enemy fire was slow and there were heavy losses but our soldiers clawed their way forward. On an exposed battlefield like that one, success was often only made possible due to acts of great individual heroism to get past spots of particularly stiff enemy resistance. Despite the adversity, the Canadians reached the outskirts of Passchendaele by the end of a second attack on October 30 during a driving rainstorm.

On November 6, the Canadians and British launched the assault to capture the ruined village of Passchendaele itself. In heavy fighting, the attack went according to plan. The task of actually capturing the “infamous” village fell to the 27th (City of Winnipeg) Battalion and they took it that day. After weathering fierce enemy counterattacks, the last phase of the battle saw the Canadians attack on November 10 and clear the Germans from the eastern edge of Passchendaele Ridge before the campaign finally ground to a halt. Canadian soldiers had succeeded in the face of almost unbelievable challenges.

Heroism

Canadian Pioneers laying trench mats over mud.

The fighting at Passchendaele took great bravery. Nine Canadians earned the Victoria Cross (the highest award for military valour that a Canadian could earn) there: Private Tommy Holmes, Captain Christopher O’Kelly, Sergeant George Mullin, Major George Pearkes, Private James Peter Robertson, Corporal Colin Barron, Private Cecil Kinross, Lieutenant Hugh McKenzie and Lieutenant Robert Shankland. Two of these men, McKenzie and Robertson, sadly lost their lives in the battle.

The efforts of all these men were truly remarkable, but it has been said that the Battle of Passchendaele could not have been won if it were not for the heroic actions of Major George Pearkes of the 5th Canadian Mounted Rifles. Despite a leg wound, he led a few dozen of his men through heavy enemy fire across open ground to capture a strategically located farm. They then fought off numerous counter-attacks for more than a day, preventing the Germans from destroying the main advancing Canadian force from their vulnerable flank side.

Sacrifice

Canada’s great victory at Passchendaele came at a high price. More than 4,000 of our soldiers died in the fighting there and almost 12,000 were wounded. The some 100,000 members of the Canadian Corps who took part in the battle were among the over 650,000 men and women from our country who served in uniform during the First World War. Sadly, a total of more than 66,000 Canadians lost their lives in the conflict. The sacrifices and achievements of those who gave so much will never be forgotten.

Legacy

The Canadian victory at Passchendaele was truly impressive and added to our nation’s growing reputation as having the best offensive fighting force on the Western Front. This status meant that our forces would be at the forefront of the series of advances that eventually won the war for the Allies a year later. Canada’s great sacrifices and achievements on the battlefields of Europe indeed gained our country a new respect on the international stage. This esteem helped earn us a separate signature on the Treaty of Versailles that formally ended the First World War.

A Canadian soldier’s dugout. Battle of Passchendaele.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

La bataille de Passchendaele

Introduction

Char d’assaut endommagé sur le champ de  bataille boueux de Passchendaele

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Les Canadiens ont accompli de nombreux exploits pour défendre la paix et la liberté au fil des ans. Évoquer Passchendaele suscite encore l’émotion lorsqu’il est question de l’héritage militaire canadien de la Première Guerre mondiale. À l’automne 1917, nos troupes ont surmonté des difficultés inimaginables pour remporter la victoire sur ce champ de bataille boueux situé au nord-ouest de la Belgique.

La participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale

Au moment où la Grande-Bretagne entre en guerre, au mois d’août 1914, le Canada, alors membre de l’Empire britannique, est d’emblée impliqué dans le conflit. La Première Guerre mondiale se transforme rapidement en guerre de tranchées sur le front occidental, avec quelque
1 000 kilomètres de tranchées fortement défendues qui sillonnent la Belgique et le nord de la France, de la Manche à la frontière suisse. D’un côté se tiennent les forces françaises et britanniques (et leurs alliés, dont le Canada) et de l’autre, les Allemands. Ils se font face, chacun de leur côté du mortel « No Man’s Land » de barbelés, tandis que les obus d’artillerie explosent et que les mitrailleuses crépitent.

À l’automne 1917, après le grand succès du Corps canadien à la crête de Vimy en avril de la même année, on envoie celui-ci dans le nord de la Belgique. Il s’agit d’un terrain familier pour les Canadiens, qui y avaient livré de violents combats plus tôt durant la guerre.

Ypres

La région d’Ypres, en Belgique, où se trouve le village de Passchendaele, est la scène de plusieurs batailles de la Première Guerre mondiale. C’est d’ailleurs à cet endroit que le gaz toxique a été utilisé pour la première fois, lorsque les Allemands ont lancé cette nouvelle arme chimique meurtrière, en avril 1915. Étant la dernière portion de la Belgique à ne pas être aux mains de l’ennemi depuis l’avancée allemande, le saillant d’Ypres revêt une grande valeur symbolique pour les Alliés.

Ypres est un lieu très peu propice aux batailles. C’est une région formée principalement de terres basses et plates, qu’on parvient à assécher à grand renfort de digues et de tranchées complexes. Toutefois, après trois années de rudes batailles, ces systèmes de drainage sont entièrement détruits. Le sol, bombardé de millions d’obus d’artillerie, se transforme en boue collante. En 1917, les pluies automnales précoces transforment le champ de bataille en mer de boue, de telle sorte qu’encore aujourd’hui Passchendaele est synonyme d’horribles conditions de bataille qui viennent facilement à l’esprit lorsqu’on évoque la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le déclenchement de la bataille

C’est principalement pour enlever de la pression aux forces françaises installées dans le sud que les Britanniques se lancent dans la troisième bataille d’Ypres. Sir Douglas Haig, commandant des forces britanniques, lance une offensive en Belgique pour affaiblir les forces allemandes et s’emparer de chemins de fer allemands stratégiquement situés dans le pays occupé et de bases sous-marines allemandes installées le long de la côte qui menacent les navires des Alliés.

La campagne commence à la fin du mois de juillet 1917. Les forces britanniques et l’ANZAC (les forces australiennes et néo-zélandaises) lancent l’attaque avec un important barrage d’artillerie. Une forte pluie tombe la toute première nuit de l’attaque. Les trous d’obus se remplissent rapidement d’eau et se transforment en mares répugnantes où gisent trop souvent des soldats morts ou blessés. De nombreux attaquants périssent alors qu’ils luttent dans une boue épaisse et presque sans protection sous le tir des mitrailleurs allemands cachés derrière des casemates (postes de tir à la mitrailleuse en béton armé). Malgré de telles conditions, les forces alliées gagnent lentement la majorité du terrain surélevé à la fin de l’été. Cependant, les principaux objectifs de l’offensive sont toujours hors de portée.

Les Canadiens à Passchendaele

Au début du mois d’octobre 1917, les Canadiens sont envoyés en Belgique pour prendre la relève de l’ANZAC et participer à l’offensive finale visant à prendre Passchendaele. Le commandant Arthur Currie, lieutenant-général du Corps canadien, visite le terrain et est consterné des conditions de celui-ci. Il essaie d’éviter d’envoyer ses hommes se battre, mais ses supérieurs ont décidé d’aller de l’avant. Une fois encore, comme à Vimy, les quatre divisions du Corps canadien sont présentes. Cependant, la boue omniprésente, le terrain plat, le manque de temps de préparation et un soutien d’artillerie relativement restreint font que le champ de bataille de Passchendaele est bien différent de celui de Vimy.

Currie prend le temps qu’il peut pour se préparer le plus soigneusement possible et, le 26 octobre, l’offensive canadienne commence. L’avancée dans la boue et sous les tirs ennemis est lente et les pertes sont lourdes, mais les soldats réussissent à se frayer un chemin. Sur un terrain ainsi exposé, la réussite d’une telle bataille tient à l’héroïsme des hommes qui parviennent à franchir les zones ennemies malgré la résistance farouche qu’on leur oppose. En dépit de l’adversité, les Canadiens atteignent les abords de Passchendaele le 30 octobre, à la fin de la seconde attaque, sous une pluie battante.

Le 6 novembre, les Canadiens et les Britanniques lancent l’assaut pour prendre le village dévasté de Passchendaele. Au prix d’une bataille féroce, l’attaque se passe comme prévu. La tâche de prendre le « fameux » village revient au 27e Bataillon (Ville de Winnipeg), ce qui est fait ce jour-là. Le 10 novembre, après avoir débouté les contre-attaques des forces ennemies, les Canadiens lancent la dernière attaque de la bataille et éliminent les Allemands de l’extrême est de la crête de Passchendaele. Les soldats canadiens ont réussi à capturer l’objectif en surmontant des difficultés quasi inimaginables.

Héroïsme

Soldat blessé transporté vers l’infirmerie  lors de la bataille de Passchendaele

Se battre à Passchendaele nécessitait énormément de bravoure. Neuf Canadiens qui ont participé à cette bataille ont d’ailleurs reçu la Croix de Victoria (la plus haute distinction qu’un soldat canadien puisse recevoir pour acte de bravoure) : le soldat Tommy Holmes, le capitaine Christopher O’Kelly, le sergent George Mullin, le major George Pearkes, le soldat James Peter Robertson, le caporal Colin Barron, le soldat Cecil Kinross, le lieutenant Hugh McKenzie et le lieutenant Robert Shankland. Deux de ces hommes, McKenzie et Robertson, n’ont malheureusement pas survécu à la bataille.

Les efforts de tous ces hommes furent vraiment remarquables, mais on dit que la bataille de Passchendaele n’aurait pu être gagnée sans le comportement héroïque du major George Pearkes du 5e Bataillon canadien de fusiliers à cheval. Malgré une blessure à la jambe, il a dirigé, sous les tirs ennemis, quelques douzaines de ses hommes à travers un terrain découvert afin de prendre d’assaut une ferme stratégiquement située. Aussi incroyable que cela puisse paraître, ils ont ensuite repoussé de nombreuses contre-attaques durant plus d’une journée, empêchant ainsi les Allemands de récupérer la principale avancée canadienne sur le flanc exposé.

Sacrifices

La grande victoire du Canada à Passchendaele a été obtenue au prix d’importants sacrifices. Plus de 4 000 soldats canadiens sont morts au combat et près de 12 000 ont été blessés. Les quelque 100 000 membres du Corps canadien qui ont combattu à Passchendaele font partie des 650 000 hommes et femmes qui ont servi en uniforme au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Malheureusement, plus de 66 000 Canadiens ont perdu la vie dans ce conflit. Les sacrifices et les réalisations de ceux et celles qui ont tant donné ne seront jamais oubliés.

Héritage

La victoire des Canadiens à Passchendaele fut véritablement impressionnante et renforça la réputation croissante du Corps canadien d’être l’une des meilleures forces offensives sur le front occidental. Les troupes canadiennes ont par la suite été placées en tête d’une série d’avancées, lesquelles permettront aux Alliés de gagner la guerre, un an plus tard. En effet, les grands exploits et sacrifices du Canada sur les champs de bataille de l’Europe ont permis à notre pays d’acquérir un nouveau respect sur la scène internationale et lui ont valu le privilège d’apposer sa signature sur le Traité de Versailles, qui a officiellement mis fin à la Première Guerre mondiale.

Des mitrailleurs canadiens défendent la  ligne à Passchendaele.

Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et en temps de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :