Last Known Canadian First World War Veteran

John Babcock
Last Known Canadian First World War Veteran
1900 - 2010

On February 18, 2010, Canada's last known First World War Veteran passed away. This event marked the end of an era.

Born on July 23, 1900, Mr. John “Jack” Babcock grew up on a farm near Kingston, Ontario as part of a family of 13 children. When he was quite young, his father died in a tree-cutting accident. Despite this devastating loss, Mr. Babcock went on to bravely serve his country in the First World War before moving to the United States where he settled in Spokane, Washington.

He was 15 years old when he joined the 146th Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force in Sydenham (near Kingston), Ontario. A few months later, he arrived in England. He was transferred to reserve battalions and ended up with the Boys Battalion (also known as the "Young Soldiers Battalion") in 1917, waiting until he turned 18 to go to the front lines. The war ended first. Mr. Babcock would later move to the United States, where he served in the United States Army from 1921 to 1924. Mr. Babcock married Dorothy (Dot) after losing his first wife, Elsie, in the late 1970s.

Mr. Babcock read voraciously and, in recent years, completed his high school degree via correspondence courses. He had also taken local college courses. He could recite the alphabet backwards without hesitation and spell out his name in Morse code. He enjoyed travelling with his wife and taking daily walks to keep in good shape. He took up flying lessons and became a pilot when he was 65!

In April 2008, the Minister of Veterans Affairs awarded Mr. Babcock a Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation. Later that year, a small ceremony was held in May at Mr. Babcock’s home, where his Canadian citizenship was reinstated. Another accolade came in September 2008 when the Royal Canadian Regiment Association honoured Mr. Babcock with the honorary title of regimental patriarch. This was the first time the title of regimental patriarch was given in Canada.

Date modified:

Dernier Canadien connu à avoir servi au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale

John Babcock
Dernier Canadien connu à avoir servi au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale
1900 - 2010

Le 18 février 2010, le dernier Canadien connu à avoir servi au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale est décédé. Ce décès a marqué la fin d’une époque.

Né le 23 juillet 1900, M. John « Jack » Babcock a grandi sur une ferme près de Kingston, en Ontario. Issu d’une famille de 13 enfants, il a perdu son père très jeune, décédé à la suite d’un accident lors de la coupe d’un arbre. Malgré cette grande perte, M. Babcock a servi son pays avec bravoure durant la Première Guerre mondiale, avant de s’installer à Spokane, dans l’état de Washington, aux États-Unis.

À l’âge de 15 ans, M. Babcock s'est joint au 146e Bataillon du Corps expéditionnaire canadien à Sydenham (près de Kingston), en Ontario. Quelques mois plus tard, il débarque en Angleterre, pour servir au sein des bataillons de réserve. En 1917, il a été affecté au sein du Boys Battalion (aussi appelé le Young Soldiers Battalion) en attendant d’être assez vieux pour pouvoir servir au front, mais la guerre s'est terminée avant que cela n’arrive. M. Babcock est ensuite déménagé aux États-Unis où il a servi dans l’armée américaine de 1921 à 1924. Après le décès de sa première épouse, Elsie, vers la fin des années 1970, M. Babcock s’est remarié avec Dorothy (Dot).

M. Babcock adorait la lecture. Il y a quelques années, il avait obtenu son diplôme d’études secondaires en suivant des cours par correspondance. Il avait aussi suivi des cours au collège local. Il pouvait réciter l’alphabet à l’envers sans hésitation et épeler son nom en code Morse. Il aimait voyager avec Dorothy et faire des promenades quotidiennes pour se garder en forme. Il avait en outre suivi des leçons de pilotage et obtenu son brevet de pilote à l’âge de 65 ans!

En avril 2008, le ministre des Anciens Combattants a remis à M. Babcock la Mention élogieuse du ministre des Anciens Combattants. Un mois plus tard, il recevait de nouveau la citoyenneté canadienne lors d’une cérémonie à son domicile. Une autre accolade lui venait en septembre 2008, lorsque la Royal Canadian Regiment Association lui octroyait le titre honorifique de regimental patriarch. Il s’agissait d’une première au Canada.

Date de modification :