The Last Hundred Days

Alec MacDougall
Trench Warfare (condensed) (Transcript)

October 01

Day: 55 - Official End of The Battle of the Canal du NordAllie Image

The day's gains represent an advance of about a kilometer and a half, the only achievement of significance being the gain of the high ground east of Tilloy. The 1st Canadian Division itself suffers more than 1,000 casualties. In five days of fighting, the Canadian Corps had captured more than 7,000 prisoners and 205 guns.

Victoria Cross recipient:

October 02

Day: 56 Allie Image

There was little action in the Canadian Corps sector, as the remainder of the 1st and 4th Canadian Infantry Divisions are moved into reserve, leaving the Corps' front in the hands of the 2nd and 3rd Canadian Infantry Divisions.

October 03

Day: 57 Allie Image

In Flanders, after a short period in reserve, troops of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment fight off stiff German counterattacks at Ledeghem train station, which was preceded by heavy shellfire. Not a single German soldier comes within 45 meters of the Newfoundlanders' forward positions.

October 04

Day: 58

American troops attacking west of the Meuse River gain ground northeast of the Argonne Forest. Germany, through Switzerland, sends a note to American President Woodrow Wilson inviting peace negotiations and an armistice.

October 05

Day: 59

In the face of continued Allied advances, the Germans fall back towards the Suippe River.

October 06

Day: 60 Allie Image

In Flanders, troops of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment defend their positions around the area of the Ledeghem train station for four days, fighting off repeated German counterattacks before being relieved during the night.

October 07

Day: 61 Allie Image

The 1st Canadian Infantry Division is temporarily under the command of the British 22nd Corps, taking up positions behind the Trinquis Brook and the Sensée River, some five kilometers east of Étaing.

October 08

Day: 62 Allie Image

Due to a lack of progress on the British Third Army front, on the Canadian Corps right, the 2nd and 3rd Canadian Infantry Divisions do not go into action until the 9th.

October 09

Day: 63 - The Battle of Cambrai
The Pursuit to the Selle, October 9 to 12Allie Image

By the end of the day, the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division advances as much as four kilometers and captures the towns of Ramillies, Escaudoeuvres and Eswars, while securing important bridges over the Canal de l'Escaut.

On the Canadian Corps right, the 3rd Canadian Infantry Division clears the town of Cambrai and meets up with the 24th British Division moving up from the south.

Further south, in the British Fourth Army sector of operations, the Canadian Cavalry Brigade sees its last action of the war, and its first major role since the Battle of Amiens at the beginning of August. The brigade, made up of the Fort Garry Horse, the Lord Strathcona's Horse, the Royal Canadian Dragoons and a battery of the Royal Canadian Horse Artillery, advances close to 13 kilometers on a front more than four kilometers wide, captures more than 400 prisoners and many weapons, and disrupts enemy attempts at demolition. The brigade reports a total of 168 men and 171 horses killed, wounded and missing.

The Canadian Cavalry Brigade at Cateau, Battle Area map

Victoria Cross recipient:

Canadian troops advancing toward Cambrai. Photo: Library and Archives Canada/PA-003247

Canadian troops advancing toward Cambrai. Photo: Library and Archives Canada/PA-003247

October 10

Day: 64 - The Pursuit to the SelleAllie Image

The Canadian Corps advances as much as two kilometers and liberates among others, the villages of Naves and Thun-St-Martin.

October 11

Day: 65 - The Pursuit to the SelleAllie Image

In the face of heavy German resistance and counterattacks which included tanks, the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division advances as much as three kilometers and finds itself well established on the forward slope of the Iwuy spur.

From August 26 to October 11 (47 days), the Canadian Corps advances 37 kilometers against very strong resistance. Total casualties over this time are 1,544 officers and 29,262 other ranks. The Corps captures 18,585 prisoners, 371 guns and nearly 2,000 machine guns and liberates 54 towns and villages.

Victoria Cross recipient:

Lieutenant Wallace Llyod Algie, recipient of the Victoria Cross for his actions on 11 October 1918, during the Last Hundred Days.

Lieutenant Wallace Llyod Algie, recipient of the Victoria Cross for his actions on 11 October 1918, during the Last Hundred Days.

The Final Advance - Cambrai to Mons, October 12 to November 11, 1918

View Battle Area map

October 12

Day: 66 - The Pursuit to the SelleAllie Image

In two days of fighting in the 1st Canadian Infantry Division area of operations, the Division advances roughly eight kilometers along the south bank of the Scarpe until the whole front faces the Canal de la Sensée by evening.

In the area of operations of the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, the front extends westward almost to Aubencheul-au-Bac. The Canadian Corps front is now held by the 1st Canadian, the 56th British, and the 2nd Canadian Divisions.

October 13

Day: 67 - The Pursuit to the Selle

French troops capture the village of Laon.

October 14

Day: 68 - The Battle of Courtrai, October 14 to 19Allie Image

Patrols of the 1st Canadian Infantry Division push across the Canal de la Sensée near the village of Férin but the German retaliation is too strong for a permanent bridgehead[8].

Fighting with the British Second Army, the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, in a five-kilometer surge through the German Flanders position, takes 500 prisoners, 94 machine guns and eight guns, four of these being field guns accounted for by one platoon.

Victoria Cross recipient:

[8] An area of ground which must be held in order to move troops and/or materials.

October 15

Day: 69

Belgian troops capture the villages of Iseghem and Cortemarck.

October 16

Day: 70 Allie Image

With the 4th Canadian Infantry Division relieving the 56th British Division, there were now three Canadian divisions at the front. These three divisions were responsible for roughly 32 kilometers of front..

October 17

Day: 71 Allie Image

By dusk, the Canadian Corps advances around seven kilometers and has patrols in a number of positions, as well as crossings over the Canal de la Sensée.

October 18

Day: 72 Allie Image

The 1st and 4th Canadian Infantry Divisions advance ten and eight kilometers respectively and occupy more than 20 towns and villages by day's end, including Pecquencourt and Auberchicourt.

October 19

Day: 73 Allie Image

The Canadian Corps liberates nearly 40 more communities, including the large industrial town of Denain. The day's advance of slightly less than 11 kilometers is the longest made by Canadians on any single day during the war.

A Canadian enjoying blackberries which he had just gathered in Bourlon Wood.  Advance East of Arras.  October, 1918. Photo: Library and Archives Canada/PA-003419

A Canadian enjoying blackberries which he had just gathered in Bourlon Wood. Advance East of Arras. October, 1918. Photo: Library and Archives Canada/PA-003419

October 20

Day: 74 Allie Image

The 1st Canadian Infantry Division occupies Wallers, the last town of any size before reaching the large Forêt de Vicoigne. Before night fall, the division gains a line running along the western edge of the forest. On the Canadian Corps' right, the 4th Canadian Infantry Division clears out the town of Denain and advances roughly three kilometers.

In Flanders, troops of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment cross the River Lys and advance to positions roughly a kilometer from the village of Vichte. They are unable to advance any further in the face of German artillery and machine-gun fire coming from front and side.

October 21

Day: 75 Allie Image

The 1st and 3rd Brigades[9] of the 1st Canadian Infantry Division reach the St. Amand-Valenciennes road, an advance of some 6.5 kilometers. The 4th Canadian Infantry Division was halted at the Canal de l'Escaut, an advance of roughly eight kilometers.

In Flanders, with only one officer per company left unwounded, troops of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment hold their positions throughout the day before being relieved in the evening.

[9] A brigade is a section of a division, made up of three or four battalions.

October 22

Day: 76 Allie Image

The 3rd Canadian Infantry Division clears most of the Forêt de Raismes, an expanse some 10 square kilometers. Troops of two brigades do most of the work. In 15 hours they make their way through the woods, a distance of just less than 6.5 kilometers.

October 23

Day: 77 Allie Image

By evening, the Canadian Corps front line stretches for almost 13 kilometers along the Canal de l'Escaut, from the Corps southern boundary to Fresnes where it slants back toward the Germanheld village of Odomez.

October 24

Day: 78

A German counterattack along the Canal de la Dérivation is pushed back by Belgian troops.

October 25

Day: 79

The Battle of the Selle, begun October 17 and involving the British First, Third and Fourth Armies as well as the Second American Corps, comes to an end.

October 26

Day: 80

Erich Lundendorff, First Quartermaster General of the German army, resigns under pressure from Kaiser Wilhelm II, Emperor and Commander-in-Chief of the German armed forces.

October 27

Day: 81

A German attack northwest of the town Le Quesnoy is fended off, while French troops are in pursuit of German troops on the Serre-Oise salient. American troops capture Belleu Woods, on the east bank of the Meuse river.

The German government agrees to American President Woodrow Wilson's latest peace demands.

Victoria Cross recipient: Allie Image

October 28

Day: 82 Allie Image

The 3rd Canadian Infantry Division takes over some of the 4th Division's front, while French troops are involved in heavy fighting in taking the village of Verly. American troops face a similar fight around the village of Grand Pré.

October 29

Day: 83 Allie Image

Troops of the 4th Canadian Infantry Division relieve the British 51st Division in front of Mont Houy, between the la Rhonelle River and the Canal de l'Escaut. Meanwhile, French troops launch a successful attack on a 12-kilometer front northwest of Château Porcien.

Newspaper clipping noting the awarding of the Victoria Cross to Canadian Soldiers, Sgt Spall, Cpl Miner and Pte Dinesen, for their respective actions in battle during the Last Hundred Days.

Newspaper clipping noting the awarding of the Victoria Cross to Canadian Soldiers, Sgt Spall, Cpl Miner and Pte Dinesen, for their respective actions in battle during the Last Hundred Days.

October 30

Day: 84 Allie Image

The Royal Newfoundland Regiment, kilometers behind the front lines and in reserve, suffers its last battle casualty of the First World War. A shell from a German heavy gun explodes in a cook house, wounding Pte Ronald Courage.

Turkey, a German ally during the war, signs an armistice and ends its involvement in the First World War.

October 31

Day: 85

British troops launch a successful attack southwest of the village of Audenarde (Courtrai), carrying all objectives and capturing some 1,000 German prisoners.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Les cent derniers jours

Hector Allard
Nous avons défendu notre liberté (Transcription)

octobre 01

Jour 55 - Fin officielle de la bataille du canal du NordAllie Image

Cette journée est marquée par une progression de près de deux kilomètres, le seul accomplissement à signaler étant la conquête du terrain surélevé à l'est de Tilloy. La 1re Division canadienne elle-même perd plus d'un millier de soldats. En cinq jours de combat, le Corps canadien fait plus de 7 000 prisonniers et saisit 205 canons.

Récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria

octobre 02

Jour 56 Allie Image

Il ne se passe pas grand-chose dans le secteur du Corps canadien; ce qui reste des 1re et 4e Divisions d'infanterie canadiennes est déplacé dans les effectifs de réserve, laissant le front du Corps canadien aux mains des 2e et 3e Divisions d'infanterie canadiennes.

octobre 03

Jour 57 Allie Image

Dans les Flandres, après une brève période en réserve, des troupes du Royal Newfoundland Regiment combattent les Allemands lors d'une contre-attaque tenace à la gare ferroviaire de Ledeghem, précédée par un bombardement intensif. Aucun soldat allemand n'approche à moins de 45 mètres des positions avancées des Terre-Neuviens.

octobre 04

Jour 58

Des troupes américaines en pleine offensive à l'ouest de la Meuse gagnent du terrain au nord-est de la forêt d'Argonne.

L'Allemagne, par l'intermédiaire de la Suisse, envoie une note au président américain Woodrow Wilson appelant aux négociations de paix et à un armistice.

octobre 05

Jour 59

Face à l'avance constante des troupes alliées, les Allemands se replient vers la rivière Suippe.

octobre 06

Jour 60 Allie Image

Dans les Flandres, des troupes du Royal Newfoundland Regiment défendent leurs positions autour de la zone de la gare ferroviaire de Ledeghem pendant quatre jours, en repoussant les contre-attaques allemandes avant d'être relevées pendant la nuit.

octobre 07

Jour 61 Allie Image

La 1re Division d'infanterie canadienne se trouve provisoirement sous le commandement du 22e Corps d'armée britannique, occupant les positions à l'arrière du ruisseau Trinquis et de la rivière Sensée, à environ cinq kilomètres à l'est d'Étaing.

octobre 08

Jour 62 - Bataille de Cambrai, du 8 au 9 octobreAllie Image

En raison du manque de progrès sur le front de la 3e Armée britannique, sur le flanc droit du Corps canadien, les 2e et 3e Divisions d'infanterie canadiennes ne passent pas à l'action avant le 9 octobre.

octobre 09

Jour 63 - Bataille de Cambrai
La poursuite vers la Selle, du 9 au 12 octobreAllie Image

En fin de journée, la 2e Division d'infanterie canadienne avait progressé d'au moins quatre kilomètres en s'emparant des villes de Ramillies, Escaudoeuvres et Eswars, tout en prenant le contrôle de ponts importants enjambant le canal de l'Escaut.

Sur le flanc droit du Corps canadien, la 3e Division d'infanterie canadienne libère la ville de Cambrai et rejoint la 24e Division britannique qui arrive du sud.

Plus au sud, dans le secteur d'opérations de la 4e Armée britannique, la brigade de cavalerie canadienne passe à l'action pour la dernière fois dans cette guerre, et joue un rôle d'importance pour la première fois depuis la bataille d'Amiens au début du mois d'août. La brigade, constituée du Fort Garry Horse, du Lord Strathcona's Horse, des Royal Canadian Dragoons et d'une batterie de la Royal Canadian Horse Artillery, progresse de près de 13 kilomètres sur un front de plus de quatre kilomètres de large; elle fait plus de 400 prisonniers et saisit un grand nombre d'armes, empêchant les tentatives de sabotage de l'ennemi. Les pertes totales de la brigade s'élèvent à 168 hommes et 171 chevaux tués, blessés ou portés manquants.

La brigade de cavalerie canadienne au Cateau, carte de la zone de bataille

Récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria

Soldats canadiens avançant vers Cambrai. Photo : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-003247

Soldats canadiens avançant vers Cambrai. Photo : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-003247

octobre 10

Jour 64 - La poursuite vers la SelleAllie Image

Le Corps canadien progresse de près de deux kilomètres, libérant, entre autres, les villages de Naves et Thun-Saint-Martin.

octobre 11

Jour 65 - La poursuite vers la SelleAllie Image

Face à la résistance tenace des troupes allemandes et à leurs contre-attaques menées avec l'intervention de chars, la 2e Division d'infanterie canadienne progresse de plus de trois kilomètres et se trouve bien assise sur la pente avant de l'éperon d'Iwuy.

Du 26 août au 11 octobre (47 jours), le Corps canadien progresse de 37 kilomètres contre une solide résistance. Le nombre total de pertes pendant cette période s'élève à 1 544 officiers et 29 262 non-officiers. Le Corps canadien capture 18 585 prisonniers, saisit 371 canons et près de 2 000 mitrailleuses et libère 54 villes et villages.

Récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria

Lieutenant Wallace Lloyd Algie, récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria pour ses actes de bravoure le 11 octobre 1918, durant la période des Cent derniers jours.

Lieutenant Wallace Lloyd Algie, récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria pour ses actes de bravoure le 11 octobre 1918, durant la période des Cent derniers jours.

La dernière étape - de Cambrai à Mons, 12 octobre au 11 novembre 1918

Carte de la zone de bataille

octobre 12

Jour 66 - La poursuite vers la SelleAllie Image

En deux jours de combats dans la zone d'opérations de la 1re Division d'infanterie canadienne, la Division avance d'environ huit kilomètres le long de la rive sud de la Scarpe. Le soir venu, l'ensemble du front fait face au canal de la Sensée.

Dans la zone d'opérations de la 2e Division d'infanterie canadienne, le front s'étend vers l'ouest, atteignant presque Aubencheul-au-Bac. Le front du Corps canadien est tenu à présent par trois divisions. Du flanc gauche au flanc droit se trouvent la 1re canadienne, la 56e britannique, et la 2e canadienne.

octobre 13

Jour 67 - La poursuite vers la Selle

Des troupes françaises s'emparent du village de Laon.

octobre 14

Jour 68 - Bataille de Courtrai, du 14 au 19 octobreAllie Image

Des patrouilles de la 1re Division d'infanterie canadienne traversent le canal de la Sensée, près du village de Férin, mais les représailles des Allemands sont trop fortes, rendant quasiment impossible l'établissement d'une tête de pont[8] permanente.

Dans une poussée à travers les positions allemandes dans les Flandres, le Royal Newfoundland Regiment, aux côtés de la 2e Armée britannique, avance de cinq kilomètres et fait 500 prisonniers. Il saisit 94 mitrailleuses et huit canons, dont quatre sont des canons de campagne pris par un seul peloton.

Récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria

[8] Une zone en territoire occupé qui doit être tenue afin garantir le déplacement de troupes et/ou de matériels.

octobre 15

Jour 69

Des troupes belges capturent les villages d'Iseghem et de Cortemarck.

octobre 16

Jour 70 Allie Image

Avec la 4e Division d'infanterie canadienne prenant la relève de la 56e Division britannique, trois divisions canadiennes se partage le front, assumant désormais la responsabilité de 32 kilomètres du front.

octobre 17

Jour 71 Allie Image

Au crépuscule, le Corps canadien avait progressé d'environ sept kilomètres, établissant des patrouilles dans plusieurs positions et construisant des passerelles flottantes pour franchir le canal de la Sensée.

octobre 18

Jour 72 Allie Image

Les 1re et 4e Divisions d'infanterie canadiennes progressent respectivement de dix et huit kilomètres, capturant Pecquencourt et Auberchicourt, soit deux parmi une vingtaine des lieux occupés par le Corps canadien ce jour-là.

octobre 19

Jour 73 Allie Image

Le Corps canadien libère près de 40 communautés supplémentaires, notamment la grande ville industrielle de Denain. Le progrès, ce jour-là, soit d'un peu moins de 11 kilomètres, représente l'étape la plus longue accomplie par les Canadiens en un jour pendant toute la durée de la guerre.

octobre 20

Jour 74 Allie Image

La 1re Division d'infanterie canadienne occupe Wallers, la dernière ville d'importance avant d'atteindre la vaste forêt de Vicoigne. Avant la tombée de la nuit, la Division gagne une ligne longeant l'orée occidentale de la forêt. Sur le flanc droit du Corps canadien, la 4e Division d'infanterie canadienne libère la ville de Denain et progresse d'environ trois kilomètres.

Dans les Flandres, des troupes du Royal Newfoundland Regiment franchissent la rivière Lys et s'arrêtent à environ un kilomètre du village de Vichte, incapables d'aller plus loin face au feu nourri de l'artillerie et des mitrailleuses allemandes, qui les attaquent de face et sur les flancs.

octobre 21

Jour 75 Allie Image

Les 1re et 3e Brigades[9] de la 1re Division d'infanterie canadienne atteignent la route Saint-Amand-Valenciennes, réalisant une avance de plus de six kilomètres. La 4e Division d'infanterie canadienne est quant à elle arrêtée au canal de l'Escaut, après une avance d'environ huit kilomètres.

Dans les Flandres, avec un seul officier indemne dans chaque compagnie, des troupes du Royal Newfoundland Regiment tiennent leurs positions toute la journée avant d'être relevées dans la soirée.

[9] Une brigade est une section d'une division, comprenant comprenant trois ou quatre bataillons.

octobre 22

Jour 76 Allie Image

La 3e Division d'infanterie canadienne dégage la majeure partie de la forêt de Raismes, une étendue de près de 10 kilomètres carrés. Des troupes de deux brigades, accomplissant l'essentiel du travail, traversent les bois en l'espace de quinze heures, couvrant une distance d'un peu moins de six kilomètres et demi tout au plus.

octobre 23

Jour 77 Allie Image

Au soir, la ligne de front du Corps canadien s'étire sur une distance légèrement inférieure à 13 kilomètres le long du canal de l'Escaut, partant de la limite sud du Corps canadien à Fresnes, où elle redescend vers le village d'Odomez, toujours sous contrôle allemand.

octobre 24

Jour 78

Des troupes belges repoussent une contre-attaque des Allemands le long du canal de la Dérivation.

octobre 25

Jour 79

La bataille de la Selle, qui avait débuté le 17 octobre et dans laquelle avaient combattu les 1er, 3e et 4e Armées britanniques aux côtés de la 2e Armée américaine, se termine.

octobre 26

Jour 80

Erich Lundendorff, quartier-maître général de l'Armée allemande, se résigne à démissionner sous la pression du kaiser Wilhelm II, empereur et commandant en chef des forces armées allemandes.

octobre 27

Jour 81

Une attaque allemande au nord-ouest de la ville de Le Quesnoy est repoussée, tandis que des troupes françaises poursuivent des troupes allemandes sur le saillant entre la Serre et l'Oise, et que des troupes américaines s'emparent du bois de Belleau, sur la rive est de la Meuse.

Le gouvernement allemand accède aux dernières demandes de paix du président américain Woodrow Wilson.

Récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria Allie Image

octobre 28

Jour 82 Allie Image

La 3e Division d'infanterie canadienne reprend une partie du front de la 4e Division, tandis que des troupes françaises sont engagées dans d'intenses combats pour s'emparer du village de Verly et que des troupes américaines font de même aux alentours du village de Grand Pré.

octobre 29

Jour 83 Allie Image

Des troupes de la 4e Division d'infanterie canadienne relèvent la 51e Division britannique en face de Mont Houy, entre la rivière Rhonelle et le canal de l'Escaut. Pendant ce temps-là, des troupes françaises lancent une attaque victorieuse sur un front de 12 kilomètres au nord-ouest de Château-Porcien.

Article d'hebdomadaire notant la remise de la Croix de Victoria à trois soldats canadiens, le Sgt Spall, le Cpl Miner et le Sdt Dinesen, pour leurs actions individuelles au combat durant les Cent derniers jours.

Article d'hebdomadaire notant la remise de la Croix de Victoria à trois soldats canadiens, le Sgt Spall, le Cpl Miner et le Sdt Dinesen, pour leurs actions individuelles au combat durant les Cent derniers jours.

octobre 30

Jour 84 Allie Image

Le Royal Newfoundland Regiment, stationné en réserve à des kilomètres derrière les lignes de front, compte sa dernière victime sur le champ de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale, alors qu'un obus tiré par un canon lourd allemand fait voler la cuisine en éclats, blessant le soldat Ronald Courage.

La Turquie, alliée des Allemands pendant la guerre, signe un armistice, mettant ainsi fin à son engagement dans la Première Guerre mondiale.

octobre 31

Jour 85

Des troupes britanniques lancent une attaque victorieuse au sud-ouest du village d'Audenarde (Courtrai), remplissant tous leurs objectifs et capturant environ 1 000 prisonniers allemands.

Date de modification :