Language selection

Important information about commemorative events in Canada (April 2017)

Government of Canada Events

The Government of Canada is committed to marking the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge and the First World War. In honour of this significant anniversary, commemorative events are being planned on April 8 and 9 at the National War Memorial in Ottawa.

A Government of Canada delegation consisting of Veterans, youth and stakeholders will also gather in Ottawa to participate in commemorative programming between April 6 and 9, 2017.

Are you planning to attend events in Ottawa?

Check traffic reports for City of Ottawa.

Ottawa event information

Saturday, April 8
7:30 p.m. EST

  • Overnight Vigil
  • Candlelight Tribute
  • Illumination
  • Musical Performances

Join us at the National War Memorial for an evening of remembrance. The overnight vigil will honour the Canadian soldiers who waited in the cold, wet tunnels and trenches on the night of April 8, 1917, for the Battle of Vimy Ridge to begin. During the ceremony, the public will be invited to help place 3,598 candles at the base of the Memorial to represent the Canadian lives lost during the battle. Once the ceremony has finished, an illumination depicting Vimy imagery will be projected for public viewing. Visitors will be able to witness the grandeur of the monument and observe the ideals that the Canadian National Vimy Memorial represents. The illumination will remain until midnight.

Sunday, April 9
8:30 a.m. EST

  • 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge commemorative ceremony

Be there to mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge at the Government of Canada signature ceremony in Ottawa. The official commemorative ceremony will begin with sentries being posted at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, as part of the National Sentry Program, and will be followed by musical and theatrical performances, as well as an Indigenous smudging ceremony.

Parks Canada events

Parks Canada is hosting commemorative events and activities at National Historic Sites across Canada to mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge.

Halifax Citadel
Sunday, April 9, 2017
Fort York
April 8 and 9, 2017
Fort Rodd Hill
Saturday, April 8, 2017

Community Events

Date Title Location
Date modified:

Renseignements importants sur les activités commémoratives au Canada (avril 2017)

Activités du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à souligner le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy et de la Première Guerre mondiale. En hommage à cet anniversaire important, des activités commémoratives sont prévues les 8 et 9 avril au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada à Ottawa.

Une délégation du gouvernement du Canada composée de vétérans, de jeunes et d’intervenants se réunira à Ottawa pour participer aux activités commémoratives entre le 6 et le 9 avril 2017.

Planifiez-vous assister aux activités organisées à Ottawa?

Consultez les rapports de trafic pour la Ville d'Ottawa.

Informations sur les activités à Ottawa

Le samedi 8 avril
19 h 30 (HNE)

  • Veille de nuit
  • Cérémonies à la chandelle
  • Illumination
  • Spectacles musicaux

Joignez-vous à nous au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada pour une soirée de commémoration. La veille de nuit rendra hommage aux soldats canadiens qui ont passé la nuit du 8 avril 1917 dans des tranchées et des tunnels froids et humides en attendant le commencement de la bataille de la crête de Vimy. Lors de la cérémonie, le public sera invité à déposer 3 598 chandelles sur le socle du monument, en hommage aux Canadiens qui ont perdu la vie lors de la bataille de la crête de Vimy. Les visiteurs pourront y admirer le monument dans toute sa splendeur et observer les idéaux que représente le Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy. Après la cérémonie, des images sur Vimy seront projetées sur le mur jusqu'à minuit.

Le dimanche 9 avril
8 h 30 (HNE)

  • 100e anniversaire de la cérémonie commémorative de la bataille de la crête de Vimy

Ne manquez pas la cérémonie de marque organisée par le gouvernement du Canada à Ottawa pour souligner le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy. La cérémonie commémorative officielle commencera par le déploiement de sentinelles à la Tombe du Soldat inconnu, dans le cadre du Programme national des sentinelles, et sera suivie par des représentations musicales et théâtrales, une cérémonie autochtone de purification, et plus.

Activités de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada organise des activités commémoratives dans des lieux historiques nationaux partout au Canada pour souligner le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy.

Citadelle d’Halifax
Dimanche 9 avril 2017
Fort York
8 et 9 avril 2017
Fort Rodd Hill
Samedi 8 avril 2017

Évènements à venir

Date Titre Emplacement
Date de modification :