Canada Remembers the Battle of Kapyong

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Introduction

The Korean War took place in the Far East from 1950 to 1953 and more than 26,000 Canadians served in the cause of peace and freedom in this struggle. Some of the heaviest fighting our soldiers experienced in the war took place during the Battle of Kapyong in April 1951.

The Korean War Erupts

The Cold War was the tense struggle for dominance in international affairs between the forces of communism and democracy that arose in the aftermath of the Second World War. One of the places this played out was in the Korean Peninsula in East Asia where, after the occupying Japanese had been defeated, a communist regime was established in the North while a democratic government was established in the South. On June 25, 1950, after years of rising tensions, North Korean forces poured over the border at the 38th parallel into South Korea. This invasion touched off more than three years of fighting in the place traditionally known as the Land of the Morning Calm. The United Nations (UN) responded to this aggression with a call to its members to form a multinational force under the command of the United States to restore the peace, and Canada agreed to help.

Canada Responds

Canadians would serve at sea, in the air and on the ground during the Korean War. The early stages of the conflict saw major swings in momentum. When the first Canadians soldiers—members of the 2nd Battalion of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry (2 PPCLI)—set sail across the Pacific on November 25, 1950, the war looked to be nearing its end as the communist forces had been pushed back almost to the Chinese border. By the time the Canadians’ ship reached its destination, however, the situation had completely changed as China had intervened in support of North Korea and had launched a major offensive that retook much of the lost territory. The 2 PPCLI joined the action in mid-February 1951 under the command of the 27th British Commonwealth Infantry Brigade that was taking part in the UN advance pushing the enemy once again back across the 38th parallel.

The Battle of Kapyong

In late April 1951, the retreating Chinese and North Korean forces regrouped and counter-attacked in the western and west-central sectors of the front. The South Korean forces in one area were overwhelmed and hurriedly fell back, putting them in danger of being overrun and wiped out. The 27th British Commonwealth Infantry Brigade—along with its Canadian contingent— was called up from reserve to the Kapyong Valley to cover this desperate retreat.

Less than three kilometres across at its widest point, the Kapyong Valley was dominated by the surrounding hills. A defensive position was quickly established with the 3rd Royal Australian Regiment on Hill 504, the 2 PPCLI on Hill 677, and the 1st Middlesex Regiment (a British unit) situated south of the Canadians.

During the night of April 23, the Australians came under heavy attack, holding out until the next day before being forced to withdraw. Their retreat left the Canadians exposed and, at 10:00 p.m. on April 24, the communist assaults began.

It was a wild battle and some of our positions were overrun; at one point the Canadians even called in an artillery strike on their own location to hit the enemy soldiers amongst them. The Canadians took cover while the attackers bore the brunt of the fire. The risky move worked and the enemy was driven off. The danger was not yet over and the morning of the 25th saw an intermittent exchange of fire. Canadian Veteran Gerald Gowing was there:

"We were surrounded on the hills of Kapyong and there was a lot of fire. We were pretty well out of ammunition and out of food too. We did get some air supplies dropped in, but we were actually surrounded."

The enemy was soon cleared from one side of the Canadians, however, and a supply line was re-established. Our soldiers had done it, holding out in the face of a much larger force while inflicting heavy casualties on the enemy and helping the Commonwealth brigade maintain its position. By May 1st, the larger communist offensive had come to a halt.

The Korean War soon moved into a new phase as truce negotiations began in July 1951 and the front lines began to stabilize. For the Commonwealth contingent, the remainder of the conflict became largely a “war of patrols,” with few large-scale battles taking place. On July 27, 1953, an armistice finally ended the active fighting.

Sacrifice

Holding the line at Kapyong was an impressive achievement, but came at a cost. Ten Canadians were killed and 23 were wounded, a total that could be considered relatively light in view of the fierce fighting there and a testament to the skill and organization of the defenders. Our fallen soldiers at Kapyong were among the 516 Canadians who died in service during the Korean War.

The Legacy

The Battle of Kapyong was an important episode in the Korean War. The soldiers of the 2nd Battalion of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry persevered in the face of great adversity to help prevent a potentially costly defeat for the South Korean and UN forces. Their heroic efforts did not go unnoticed with the Americans awarding them the United States Presidential Unit Citation—a very rare honour for a Canadian unit.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served–and continue to serve–during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

La bataille de Kapyong

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Introduction

La guerre de Corée s’est déroulée de 1950 à 1953 et plus de 26 000 Canadiens ont participé à cette lutte, à la défense de la paix et de la liberté. La bataille de Kapyong, en avril 1951, représente l’un des plus durs combats vécus par nos soldats pendant cette guerre.

La guerre de Corée éclate

La guerre froide, cette lutte tendue entre le communisme et la démocratie pour la domination dans les affaires internationales, prit naissance durant la période suivant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. L’un des points chauds de cette lutte était la péninsule coréenne en Asie orientale. Les occupants japonais venaient d’être défaits, et un régime communiste s’était établi dans le Nord, tandis qu’un gouvernement démocratique s’était établi dans le Sud.

Le 25 juin 1950, après des années de tensions montantes, les forces de la Corée du Nord franchirent la frontière du 38e parallèle pour pénétrer en Corée du Sud. L’invasion fit exploser des combats qui s’échelonnèrent sur plus de trois ans dans un endroit baptisé « Pays du matin calme ». L’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) réagit à cette agression en demandant à ses membres de former une force multinationale sous le commandement des États-Unis afin de rétablir la paix, et le Canada consentit à apporter de l’aide.

La réponse du Canada

Pendant la guerre de Corée, les Canadiens servirent en mer, dans les airs et sur le sol. Les premiers balbutiements du conflit entraînèrent de grands revirements. Lorsque les premiers soldats canadiens, des membres du 2e Bataillon du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry (2 PPCLI), larguèrent les amarres en direction du Pacifique le 25 novembre 1950, la guerre semblait tirer à sa fin, puisque les forces communistes avaient été rabattues jusque près des frontières chinoises. Or, au moment où le navire canadien atteignit sa destination, la situation était complètement renversée. La Chine était intervenue en faveur de la Corée du Nord et avait lancé une offensive majeure qui avait permis de reprendre une grande partie du territoire perdu. À la mi-février 1951, le 2 PPCLI, sous le commandement de la 27th British Commonwealth Infantry Brigade, commença à participer à l’avancée des forces de l’ONU visant à repousser l’ennemi une fois de plus au-dessus du 38e parallèle.

Le combat à Kapyong

À la fin du mois d’avril 1951, les forces de la Chine et de la Corée du Nord se regroupèrent et contre-attaquèrent les secteurs ouest et centre-ouest du front. Les forces de la Corée du Sud furent submergées et se dépêchèrent de battre en retraite, ce qui les mit en danger d’être dépassées
et anéanties. On demanda à la 27th British Commonwealth Infantry Brigade, ainsi qu’au contingent canadien, d’intervenir dans la vallée de Kapyong pour couvrir cette retraite désespérée.

Faisant moins de trois kilomètres à son point le plus large, la vallée de Kapyong était dominée par les collines environnantes. Une position défensive fut rapidement établie par le 3rd Royal Australian Regiment sur la colline à la cote 504, le 2 PPCLI sur la colline à la cote 677, ainsi que le 1st Middlesex Regiment (un régiment britannique) situé au sud des Canadiens.

Pendant la nuit du 23 avril, les Australiens, assaillis par un feu nourri, persistèrent jusqu’au lendemain avant d’être forcés à se retirer. Cette retraite exposa les Canadiens et c’est à 22 h le 24 avril que l’assaut communiste commença.

La lutte fut féroce et certaines des positions des Canadiens furent prises. À un moment de la bataille, les Canadiens lancèrent une attaque d’artillerie sur leur propre position afin de frapper l’ennemi qui était à leurs côtés dans la mêlée; les Canadiens s’écartèrent en laissant leurs adversaires encaisser la plus grande partie des tirs. Cette mesure risquée fonctionna et l’ennemi fut chassé. Le danger n’était cependant pas éclipsé et le matin du 25 avril, des tirs intermittents reprirent.  Le vétéran canadien Gerald Gowing était sur place :

« Nous étions encerclés sur les collines de Kapyong, sous un feu nourri. Nous n’avions presque plus de munitions ni de nourriture. On nous a largué des vivres, mais nous étions encerclés. »

Néanmoins, l’ennemi fut rapidement chassé d’un côté des Canadiens et une ligne d’approvisionnement fut récupérée. Nos soldats avaient réussi à tenir tête à une force beaucoup plus importante tout en infligeant de lourdes pertes chez l’ennemi et en aidant la brigade du Commonwealth à maintenir sa position. Le 1er mai, l’offensive ennemie prit fin.

La guerre de Corée entra rapidement dans une nouvelle étape alors que des pourparlers de trêve commencèrent en juillet 1951 et que les lignes de front commencèrent à se stabiliser. Pour le contingent du Commonwealth, le reste de la guerre devint surtout une « guerre de patrouilles » et peu de batailles à grande échelle eurent lieu. Le 27 juillet 1953, un armistice mit fin aux combats actifs.

Les sacrifices

Le maintien de la position à Kapyong fut une réussite importante, mais coûteuse. Dix Canadiens furent tués et 23 y furent blessés; un total que l’on pourrait considérer relativement faible étant donné les combats acharnés, mais qui témoigne des capacités et de l’organisation des défenseurs de la position. Les 10 soldats canadiens tombés au combat à Kapyong sont parmi les 516 soldats canadiens qui perdirent la vie pendant la guerre de Corée.

Héritage

La bataille de Kapyong est un épisode important de la guerre de Corée. Les soldats du 2e Bataillon du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry ont persévéré devant une grande adversité pour contribuer à éviter une défaite potentiellement coûteuse pour les forces de la Corée du Sud et de l’ONU. Leurs efforts héroïques ne seront jamais oubliés. D’ailleurs, les Américains leur remirent la décoration United States Presidential Unit Citation, un honneur très rare pour une unité canadienne.

Holding at Kapyong par Edward Zuber

Le programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :