Historical Calendar - 1952

Events

January 1952

Personnel of the Royal 22e Régiment in a front-line position. (L.-R.): Privates A.F. Proulx, J.M. Aubin.

The Russians and Chinese allege that the United States used bacteriological warfare on its enemy. Canada and other nations are also implicated. UN efforts to have the charges investigated by the International Red Cross are rejected by the Chinese and North Koreans.

25-26 March 1952

Personnel of the medical aid detachment, 2nd Battalion, PPCLI practicing casualty evacuation.

The Chinese launch a raid on the forward platoon of 1 PPCLI holding Hill 132 and a 2 RCR outpost on Hill 163, both part of the "Hook" position west of the Sami-ch'on. The Chinese are successfully repelled at a cost of eight Canadians killed and 13 wounded.

19 April 1952

2 RCHA - Signals 4 March 1952, Korea.

After weeks of screening prisoners of war to determine whether they want to be repatriated, the UN delegation informs the Communists that only 70,000 of the 132,000 prisoners of war are willing to return home. As the Communists demand all prisoners be repatriated to their home country, the disagreement leads to a stalemate in negotiations.

6 May 1952

Royal Canadian Corps of Signals (RCCS) in Korea. Lt. Paul Ranger checks Pte. Jean-Guy Lacroix's wireless set as he prepares for night patrol with soft shoes, dark clothing and a black face make-up.

A 14-man ambush patrol of the 1 R22eR is itself ambushed by the Chinese. Two Canadians are killed, the platoon commander is wounded, and one is captured.

25 May 1952

Communist POWs greet four UN Canadian soldiers in a jeep with a large banner reading Canadian, British, Dutch, employed by American Imperialist! Don't be puppet of American Imperialists to massacre POWs.

To assist in restoring order and discipline in the prisoner of war camps on Koje-do Island south of the Korean peninsula, B Company, 1st Battalion, RCR take up guard duty for six weeks over a compound where 3,200 prisoners are held, chiefly North Korean officers.

21 June 1952

Evacuation of wounded soldier of 2nd Battalion RCR, in Sikorsky S-51 helicopter of US Air Force to No. 8055 MASH., US Army.

The 1 RCR, sends out a company-sized raid against the Chinese position on Hill 113 across the Nabu-ri valley, in an attempt to capture prisoners. As the men close in on the objective, a misinterpreted order results in a mad scramble back down the hill. No prisoners are taken for the loss of one Canadian killed and 24 wounded.

23 June 1952

The US Air Force bombs Yalu River power installations to induce a more cooperative attitude on the part of the Chinese at the truce talks.

10 August 1952

Personnel of the 1st Battalion, Royal 22e Régiment, digging trench during Operation Trojan. (L.-R.): Pte. Dennis Langlois, Cpl. Don Patenaude, Pte. Albert Gagnon.

Torrential rains as a result of a typhoon leave both the UN and enemy forces struggling to maintain their defences. In one week more than 150 Canadian bunkers collapse or become uninhabitable while the Imjin River rises 12 metres above its normal summer level.

29 August 1952

Tactical Headquarters of the 25th Canadian Infantry Brigade.

The heaviest air raid of the war is launched against Pyongyang, the capital of North Korea.

22 September 1952

Fishermen captured by HMCS Nootka on West Coast Korea.

HMCS Nootka captures a North Korean minelayer off the island of Ch'o-do, one of the few enemy vessels captured at sea during the war.

24 September 1952

A six-man patrol from B Company, 1 RCR, capture a Chinese signaler without sustaining any casualties, a feat that rewards them with a Military Cross and a Military Medal.

2 October 1952

HMCS Iroquois bombards the rail line on the east coast when an enemy shell strikes the starboard side of the ship killing three Canadian sailors, the only Royal Canadian Navy fatalities in the Korean War. Ten other sailors are wounded.

8 October 1952

United Nations flag flies over the Imjin River near the Teal Bridge in Korea.

The UN high command calls an indefinite recess in negotiations after eight months of bitter and fruitless debate with the Communist delegation about the repatriation of prisoners of war.

23 October 1952

View from 1 PPCLI positions, right flank, Hill 355. Bunker Hill outpost, middle ground; Chinese positions background.

After a heavy bombardment, the Chinese successfully raid the position of B Company, 1 RCR on the western shoulder of Hill 355. In the fight to regain control eighteen Canadian soldiers are killed, 35 wounded, and 14 are taken prisoner before the enemy withdraws.

18-19 November 1952

Wounded from The Hook.

The Chinese launch a battalion-strength attack against the Scottish Black Watch holding the "Hook" position west of the Sami-ch'on. With the help of the 3 PPCLI the Chinese are driven back although the PPCLI incurs several casualties.

29 November 1952

Chief Petty Officer Jim Joyce inspecting ice on superstructure of HMCS Nootka.

Chinese troops seize Taewha-do, the outermost of a chain of islands in the northern Yalu Gulf, invading it using junks and rubber rafts. Defence of the remaining islands becomes a top priority on the west coast, and HMCS Cayuga, HMCS Athabaskan, and HMCS Sioux are ordered to closely patrol the coasts of Ch'o-do and Sok-to islands during the month of December.

Date modified:

Calendrier historique - 1952

Événements

Janvier 1952

Des membres du personnel du Royal 22e Régiment en première ligne. De g. à d. : les Sdt A. F. Proulx et J. M. Aubin.

Les Russes et les Chinois allèguent que les États-Unis ont utilisé des armes bactériologiques contre l'ennemi. Le Canada et d'autres nations seraient également impliqués. La proposition des Nations Unies de confier à la Croix-Rouge internationale le mandat d'enquêter sur ces accusations est rejetée par les Chinois et les Nord-Coréens.

25 et 26 mars 1952

Le personnel d’un détachement médical, 2e Bataillon, PPCLI, pratique l’évacuation des victimes.

Les Chinois lancent un raid contre un peloton avancé du 1er Bataillon du PPCLI sur la cote 132 et contre un avant-poste protégé par le 2e Bataillon du RCR sur la cote 163, les deux positions formant une défense en crochet à l'ouest de la rivière Sami-chon. Les Chinois sont repoussés, huit Canadiens perdent la vie et 13 autres sont blessés.

19 avril 1952

Transmissions 4 du 2 RCHA.

Après avoir, pendant des semaines, interrogé les prisonniers qu'elles détiennent pour voir s'ils souhaitent être rapatriés, les Nations Unies informent les autorités communistes que seulement 70 000 des 132 000 prisonniers de guerre souhaitent retourner dans leur pays. Mais les communistes exigent que tous les prisonniers soient rapatriés, ce qui mène à une impasse dans les négociations.

6 mai 1952

Corps royal canadien des transmissions en Corée. Le Lt Paul Ranger vérifie le transmetteur du Sdt Jean-Guy Lacroix qui, portant des vêtements foncés et des chaussures à semelle souple et le visage badigeonné de noir, se prépare à effectuer une patrouille de nuit

Une patrouille d'embuscade du 1er Bataillon du R22eR est elle-même victime d'une embuscade des forces chinoises. Deux Canadiens sont tués, le commandant du peloton est blessé et un soldat est fait prisonnier.

25 mai 1952

Propagande de prisonniers : prisonniers de guerre communistes accueillant quatre soldats canadiens dans une Jeep avec une grande bannière sur laquelle on peut lire : « Les Canadiens, les Britanniques et les Hollandais sont des employés de l’impérialisme américain! Ne soyez pas les marionnettes dont se sert l’impérialisme américain pour massacrer les prisonniers de guerre ».

Afin de restaurer l'ordre et la discipline dans les camps de prisonniers de l'île Koje au sud de la péninsule de Corée, la Compagnie B du 1er Bataillon du RCR est affectée pour une période de six semaines à la garde d'un camp où sont détenus 3 200 prisonniers, principalement des officiers nord-coréens.

21 juin 1952

Évacuation d’un soldat blessé du 2e Bataillon, RCR dans l’hélicoptère Sikorsky S-51 de la U.S. Air Force vers le No. 8055 MASH de l’armée américaine.

Dans une tentative de faire des prisonniers, le 1er Bataillon du RCR envoie une compagnie contre les positions chinoises sur la cote 113, dans la vallée de la Nabu ri. Au moment où les hommes sont sur le point d'atteindre leur objectif, un ordre mal compris fait en sorte que la compagnie, complètement désorganisée, doit battre en retraite. On ne fait aucun prisonnier, un Canadien est tué et 24 autres sont blessés.

23 juin 1952

L'aviation américaine bombarde la centrale d'énergie du fleuve Yalu dans le but d'amener les Chinois à adopter une attitude plus conciliante lors des négociations d'armistice.

10 août 1952

Des membres du personnel du 1er Bataillon du Royal 22e Régiment, creusant des tranchées lors de l’opération Trojan. De g. à d. : le Sdt Dennis Langlois, le Cpl Don Patenaude et le Sdt Albert Gagnon.

Les deux camps réussissent difficilement à protéger leurs positions à la suite des pluies torrentielles provoquées par un typhon. En une semaine, plus de 150 bunkers canadiens sont détruits ou sont inhabitables alors que le niveau de la rivière Imjin s'élève à 12 mètres au-dessus de son niveau habituel.

29 août 1952

Quartier général tactique de la 25e Brigade d’infanterie canadienne.

Le raid aérien le plus intense de toute la guerre est lancé contre Pyongyang, la capitale de la Corée du Nord.

22 septembre 1952

Des pêcheurs capturés par l’équipage du NCSM Nootka au large de la côte ouest de la Corée.

Le NCSM Nootka capture un mouilleur de mines au large de l'île de Ch'o, et ce sera l'un des seuls navires ennemis capturés durant cette guerre.

24 septembre 1952

Une patrouille de six hommes de la Compagnie B du 1er Bataillon du RCR capture un spécialiste des transmissions chinois sans subir aucune perte, exploit qui leur vaudra la Croix militaire et la Médaille militaire.

2 octobre 1952

Le NCSM Iroquois bombarde la voie ferrée sur la côte est après qu'un obus ennemi eut frappé le tribord du navire, tuant trois marins canadiens, qui sont les seuls membres de la Marine royale canadienne à perdre la vie durant la guerre de Corée. Dix autres marins sont blessés.

8 octobre 1952

Le drapeau des Nations Unies flotte sur la rivière Imjin, près de Teal Bridge en Corée.

Le haut commandement de l'ONU interrompt les négociations après huit mois de discussions acerbes et infructueuses avec la délégation communiste à propos du rapatriement des prisonniers de guerre.

23 octobre 1952

Vue à partir des positions du 1 PPCLI, flanc de droite, colline 355. Avant-poste de Bunker Hill, deuxième plan; Positions chinoises en arrière plan.

Après un bombardement intense, les Chinois s'emparent de la position de la Compagnie B du 1er Bataillon du RCR sur le flanc ouest de la cote 355. Dans la bataille, 18 soldats canadiens sont tués 35 sont blessés et 14 sont faits prisonniers avant que l'ennemi se retire.

18 et 19 novembre 1952

Blessés du Crochet.

Un bataillon chinois lance une attaque contre le Scottish Black Watch qui protégeait la position en crochet à l'ouest de Sami chon. Avec l'aide du 3e Bataillon du PPCLI, le Scottish réussit à repousser les Chinois, bien que le PPCLI subisse plusieurs pertes.

29 novembre 1952

L’OPC Jim Joyce inspecte les conditions de la glace sur la superstructure du NCSM Nookta.

Avec une flottille de jonques et d'embarcations pneumatiques, les troupes chinoises s'emparent de Taewha, l'île à l'extrémité d'un chapelet d'îles situées dans le nord du golfe. La défense des autres îles deviendra une priorité sur la côte ouest et, durant le mois de décembre, le NCSM Cayuga, le NCSM Athabaskan et le NCSM Sioux sont affectés à la patrouille des côtes des îles Ch'o et Sok.

Date de modification :