Enemy Attacks - November 1951

Meanwhile, the enemy, too, took the offensive. Beginning in mid-October, as a reaction to Operation Commando, the Chinese mounted a series of attacks which continued, with increasing intensity, into November.

On the night of November 2-3, the enemy attacked the centre of the Canadian front held by "A" and "C" Companies of the Royal Canadian Regiment. The first assaults were repulsed, but in an early morning attack the forward platoon, short of ammunition and reduced by casualties, was forced to withdraw. It did so while fighting an effective delaying action. The enemy continued to threaten the company, but under fire by artillery and mortars he eventually withdrew.

On November 4, the 28th British Commonwealth Brigade suffered extremely heavy shelling followed by strong attacks. After a bitter struggle Hill 217 fell to the Chinese that evening, and Hill 317 followed during the night. While the fighting was still in progress on the 28th Brigade's front, the enemy launched a series of attacks on a company of the 1st PPCLI. The first attack was broken up by artillery and mortars; a second and third were repulsed by the fire both of supporting arms and the company's own weapons. After the failure of the third attempt the enemy withdrew.

The next action in which the Canadian troops were involved was another raid on Hill 166 on November 9, by "C" Company of the Royal 22e Régiment. In this raid two platoons reached their intermediate objectives and the right forward platoon reached a point within 100 metres of the top of the hill. But now the enemy mounted a heavy counter attack, and the whole force, having essentially completed its task, was withdrawn.

An adjustment to the divisional frontages at this time narrowed the Commonwealth sector by some 4,600 metres. Hill 355 which dominated the centre of the front line passed to the American 3rd Division. The Canadian brigade assumed responsibility for a front of almost seven kilometres extending northeast from the Samichon River.

The Canadians, with all three battalions forward, completed occupation of their new area on the morning of November 22. That same afternoon the enemy began an intensive bombardment of the American-held Hill 355 which spread to the area of the Royal 22e– particularly "D" Company. The shelling continued throughout the night. Rain changed to snow and the resulting mud made it extremely difficult for the engineers to keep open the roads to the beleaguered companies.

Next day the enemy stepped up the shelling. This was followed late in the afternoon by an attack on both positions. The Canadian company held its ground, but by early evening the bulk of Hill 355, which had borne the main brunt of the assault, was in enemy hands. In the meantime the Chinese had also reoccupied Hill 227.

The permanent loss of Hill 355 would have been a serious threat to the United Nations Forces. It would have given the enemy control of the lateral road running through the American sector and would have made the Canadian positions untenable. Already the enemy presence on Hills 227 and 355 had left the Royal 22e Régiment in danger of being encircled. During the nights of November 23-24 and November 24-25 the shelling and attacks continued in increasing intensity on both fronts, as Hill 355 passed from Chinese to American to Chinese hands and back again. Each time the enemy gained control the Royal 22e Régiment was exposed to further attack. On the evening of November 25, after four days and nights of continual shelling, Hill 355 was again in American hands, and "D" Company of the Royal 22e Régiment, although in a state of near exhaustion, still held its ground.

As cease-fire negotiations were renewed, orders were given on November 27 that no further fighting patrols were to go out and that artillery action was to be restricted to defensive fire and counter-bombardment.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche

Les attaques ennemies - novembre 1951

Entre-temps, l'ennemi adopta lui aussi des mesures offensives. À compter de la mi-octobre, en riposte à l'opération Commando, les Chinois organisèrent une série d'attaques qui se poursuivirent avec de plus en plus d'intensité jusqu'en novembre.

Dans la nuit du 2 au 3 novembre, l'ennemi attaqua le centre de la ligne canadienne maintenue par les compagnies « A » et « C » du Royal Canadian Regiment. Les premières attaques furent repoussées, mais, au cours d'une attaque à l'aube, le peloton d'avant, à court de munitions et affaibli par les pertes, fut forcé de se replier, ce qu'il fit en livrant un combat d'arrière-garde efficace. L'ennemi continua de harceler la compagnie, mais sous le feu nourri de l'artillerie et des mortiers, il finit par se retirer.

Le 4 novembre, la 28e Brigade du Commonwealth britannique affronta des bombardements fort violents suivis d'attaques en force. Après un combat acharné, la cote 217 tomba aux mains des Chinois, dans la soirée, et la cote 317 de même, pendant la nuit. Pendant que les combats se poursuivaient sur le front de la 28e Brigade, l'ennemi lança une série d'attaques contre une compagnie du 1er bataillon du PPCLI. La première attaque fut brisée par l'artillerie et les mortiers; la deuxième et la troisième furent repoussées tant par le feu des armes de soutien que par celui des propres armes de la compagnie. Après avoir essuyé son troisième échec, l'ennemi se retira.

Le combat suivant auquel participèrent les troupes canadiennes fut un autre raid contre la cote 166, le 9 novembre, par la compagnie « C » du Royal 22e Régiment. Au cours de ce raid, deux pelotons atteignirent leurs objectifs intermédiaires et le peloton d'avant-droit atteignit un point à moins de 90 mètres du sommet de la colline. Alors que l'ennemi mit en branle une forte contre-attaque, le groupe tout entier, ayant accompli l'essentiel de sa mission, fut retiré.

Un rajustement des secteurs divisionnaires, effectué à ce stade, rétrécit la largeur du front du Commonwealth d'environ 4 600 mètres. La cote 355 qui dominait le centre de la ligne d'attaque passa aux mains de la 3e Division américaine. La brigade canadienne fut chargée d'un front de presque sept kilomètres s'étendant vers le nord-est à partir de la rivière Sami-chon.

Les Canadiens, avec leurs trois bataillons en ligne, terminèrent l'occupation de leur nouveau secteur le matin du 22 novembre. L'après-midi de ce même jour, l'ennemi entreprit le bombardement intensif de la cote 355, aux mains des Américains, qu'il fit porter jusqu'au secteur étenu par le Royal 22e Régiment, plus particulièrement la compagnie « D ». Les obus continuèrent à pleuvoir pendant toute la nuit. La pluie se changea en neige et le terrain se transforma en boue, ce qui rendait extrêmement difficile le travail des sapeurs pour maintenir ouvertes les voies d'accès aux compagnies assaillies.

Le lendemain, l'ennemi accéléra le tir d'obus. Il lança, par la suite, en fin d'après-midi, une attaque contre les deux positions. La compagnie canadienne conserva le terrain gagné, mais au début de la soirée, la majeure partie de la cote 355, qui avait essuyé le plus fort de l'attaque, tomba aux mains de l'ennemi. Entre-temps, les Chinois avaient également repris la cote 227.

La perte permanente de la cote 355 aurait constitué une grave menace à la force des Nations Unies en permettant à l'ennemi de contrôler la voie latérale qui traversait le secteur américain et aurait rendu les positions canadiennes intenables. Déjà la présence de l'ennemi sur les cotes 227 et 355 présentait un danger d'encerclement pour le Royal 22e Régiment. Au cours des nuits du 23 au 24 et du 24 au 25 novembre, le lancement d'obus et les attaques se poursuivirent avec une intensité accrue sur les deux fronts, et la cote 355 passa des mains des Chinois à celles des Américains, puis à celles des Chinois et enfin à celles des Américains. Chaque fois que l'ennemi reprenait le contrôle, le Royal 22e Régiment était menacé d'autres attaques. Dans la soirée du 25 novembre, après quatre jours et quatre nuits de bombardements continuels d'obus, la cote 355 était à nouveau aux mains des Américains et la compagnie « D » du Royal 22e Régiment, malgré un état d'épuisement presque total, conservait toujours le terrain conquis.

Avec la reprise des négociations d'un cessez-le-feu, des ordres furent émis, le 27 novembre, interdisant la sortie de toute autre patrouille de combat et restreignant le tir de l'artillerie à la défense et au contre-bombardement.

Date de modification :