The Chinese Intervention

When the Canadians sailed from Seattle on November 25, 1950, the war in Korea seemed to be near its end. When they reached Yokohama on December 14 the picture had completely changed. Communist China had intervened.

By the end of October 1950 six Chinese armies had already crossed the Yalu River and, with an approximate strength of 180,000, were concentrated in front of the advancing United Nations forces. Conducted at night with great secrecy, these large scale Chinese movements had gone undetected by UN forward troops and air reconnaissance units. Unsupported reports by prisoners of massive build-up were not believed. On October 27, at a time when thousands of organized Chinese troops were pouring across the Yalu, United Nations high command believed they were still poised for action in Manchuria.

As the Chinese build-up developed, the United Nations forces continued their advance northward reaching the main enemy positions between Pyong-yang and the Yalu River on November 26. Then, the Chinese launched a massive attack which turned the UN advance into a retreat to new positions along the Imjin River north of Seoul.

It was in this atmosphere of unexpected disaster that the 2nd Battalion Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry arrived in Korea in December 1950. The occupation role which they had expected to fill no longer existed. Instead the emphasis had shifted to the speed with which the battalion could be thrown into action. The Patricias began an intensive training period at Miryang near Taegu as grim news continued to arrive from the north.

The New Year opened with another crushing offensive by the Chinese which forced a further general withdrawal. Seoul again fell to the Communists on January 4, 1951. A new line was established some 64 kilometres south of the former capital.

While these events were taking place the Canadian battalion underwent the further training in weapons and tactics required before they could be committed to battle, and carried out limited operational tasks, such as anti-guerrilla patrols.

Date modified:

L'intervention chinoise

Lorsque les Canadiens quittèrent Seattle le 25 novembre 1950, la guerre en Corée semblait tirer à sa fin. Lorsqu'ils débarquèrent à Yokohama le 14 décembre, la situation avait complètement changé. La Chine communiste était intervenue.

Vers la fin d'octobre 1950, six armées chinoises avaient déjà franchi le fleuve Yalu et avec un effectif d'environ 180 000 hommes, s'étaient concentrées devant la force des Nations Unies qui avançait. Menés à la faveur de la nuit dans le plus grand secret, ces vastes mouvements de troupes chinois avaient échappé à la surveillance des troupes de front et des unités de reconnaissance aérienne des Nations Unies. On n'avait pas cru des rapports de prisonniers non confirmés d'un rassemblement massif de troupes. Le 27 octobre, au moment où des milliers d'hommes de troupes chinois franchissaient le Yalu, le haut commandement des Nations Unies et de les croyait encore en place pour le combat en Mandchourie.

Au moment où les troupes chinoises grossissaient leurs rangs, les forces des Nations Unies continuaient leur avance vers le nord, atteignant les positions ennemies principales entre Pyongyang et le fleuve Yalu le 26 novembre. Puis, les Chinois lancèrent une contre-attaque massive qui transforma l'avance des Nations Unies en retraite vers de nouvelles positions le long de la rivière Imjin au nord de Séoul.

C'est dans une atmosphère de désastre insoupçonnée que le 2e bataillon du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry arriva en Corée en décembre 1950. Le rôle d'occupation qu'il s'attendait de jouer n'existait plus. C'était plutôt la rapidité avec laquelle le bataillon pouvait passer à l'action qui comptait. Le PPCLI entreprit un entraînement intensif à Miryang, près de Taegu, alors que des nouvelles sombres continuaient d'arriver du nord.

La nouvelle année débuta par une autre offensive écrasante des troupes chinoises qui forcèrent une nouvelle retraite générale. Séoul tomba à nouveau aux mains des communistes le 4 janvier 1951. Une nouvelle ligne de démarcation fut établie à quelque 64 kilomètres au sud de l'ancienne capitale.

Pendant que survenaient ces événements, le bataillon canadien subissait l'entraînement poussé en maniement des armes et en tactique, dont il avait besoin avant de pouvoir s'engager dans les combats, et s'acquittait de tâches opérationnelles limitées, telles que des patrouilles contre la guérilla.

Date de modification :