Introduction

Halifax Herald, May 13, 1942.<br />  Library and Archives Canada NL125952

Halifax Herald, May 13, 1942.
Library and Archives Canada NL12595

The Battle of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, which saw German U-boats penetrate the Cabot Strait and the Strait of Belle Isle to sink 23 ships between 1942 and 1944, marked the only time since the War of 1812 that enemy warships inflicted death within Canada’s inland waters. The battle advanced to within 300 kilometres of Québec City. A war that pervaded people’s lives but was still somehow remote, had become immediate, threatening, and very real. The Battle of the Gulf of St. Lawrence was part of a larger conflict called the Battle of the Atlantic which included all of the Atlantic Ocean between North America and Europe, and was fought between 1939 and 1945.

On September 11, 1942, <abbr title='Her Majesty's Canadian Ship'>HMCS</abbr> <em>Charlottetown</em> (I) was destroyed<br /> within sight of horrified onlookers on the shores near Cap-Chat. <br />Department of National Defence, CN-3636.

On September 11, 1942, HMCS Charlottetown (I) was destroyed
within sight of horrified onlookers on the shores near Cap-Chat.
Department of National Defence, CN-3636.

The U-boats’ disruption of river traffic was serious, because the greatest volume of shipping passed through ports on the St. Lawrence. Although Halifax and Sydney were crucial marshalling areas for overseas convoys, in 1939 Montreal exported more tons of shipping than all other Canadian east coast ports combined. Even by 1941 the ports of Montreal, Trois-Rivières and Quebec City still accounted for more tonnage than half of the shipments from the Canadian east coast. Furthermore, the sailing time from Montreal to Liverpool, the major convoy arrival point in Britain, was shorter than that for a ship sailing from New York to Liverpool. Any activity that hampered St. Lawrence River shipping, with its excellent access to Canada’s industrial heartland, was a serious threat.

Victory Bond advertisement in the <br /><em>Montreal Daily Star</em>, November 2, 1942.<br />  Library and Archives Canada NL12595.

Victory Bond advertisement in the
Montreal Daily Star, November 2, 1942.
Library and Archives Canada NL12595.

Between 1942 and 1944, German U-boats posed this very threat. The moderate but continual toll they exacted on shipping and lives was itself of great concern. Their ability to close the Gulf of St. Lawrence to international traffic, resulting in a 25-percent decrease in associated cargo movements, was of potentially greater significance. Allied plans for the invasion of Europe depended upon the safe arrival of merchant shipping and its precious cargo in Britain.

Those who fought this battle and those who gave their lives in the Gulf of St. Lawrence were engaged in a struggle that would have wide implications.

Date modified:

Introduction

Halifax Herald, le 13 mai 1942. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada NL12595

Halifax Herald, le 13 mai 1942. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada NL12595

C’est pendant la bataille du golfe du Saint-Laurent, qui s’est déroulée de 1942 à 1944, que des U-boot (sous-marins allemands) sont entrés dans le détroit de Cabot et le détroit de Belle Isle pour couler 23 navires. C’était la première fois depuis la guerre de 1812 que des navires de guerre ennemis venaient semer la mort dans les eaux intérieures du Canada. Certains combats ont eu lieu à 300 kilomètres à peine de la ville de Québec. La guerre, jusqu’alors lointaine encore qu’omniprésente dans la vie de chacun, devint d’un seul coup proche, menaçante et bien concrète. La bataille du golfe du Saint-Laurent faisait partie, en fait, d’un plus grand conflit qui s’est déroulé entre 1939 et 1945, soit la bataille de l’Atlantique.

Le 11 septembre 1942, le <abbr title='Navire canadien de Sa Majesté'>NCSM</abbr> <em>Charlottetown</em> (I) est envoyé par le fond au large de Cap-Chat. Des témoins sur la grève assistent, horrifiés, à la scène.  Ministère de la Défense nationale CN-3636

Le 11 septembre 1942, le NCSM Charlottetown (I) est envoyé par le fond au large de Cap-Chat. Des témoins sur la grève assistent, horrifiés, à la scène. Ministère de la Défense nationale CN-3636

Celle-ci a eu une incidence sur toute la portion de l’Océan Atlantique située entre l’Amérique du Nord et l’Europe. Les U-boot perturbaient grandement la circulation fluviale parce que le gros des expéditions transitait par les ports situés sur le Saint-Laurent. Bien qu’Halifax et Sydney constituent des zones d’agencement cruciales pour les convois à destination d’outre-mer, Montréal exportait plus de tonnes de marchandises en 1939 que tous les autres ports de la côte est du Canada réunis. Même en 1941 les ports de Montréal, de Trois-Rivières et de Québec comptaient encore pour un plus grand tonnage de marchandises expédiées que la moitié des expéditions envoyées à partir de la côte est canadienne. Il fallait en outre moins de temps pour atteindre Liverpool—le principal point d’arrivée des convois en Grande-Bretagne—en partant de Montréal que de New York. Toute activité susceptible d’entraver le transport maritime sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, porte par excellence du centre industriel du Canada, constituait une grave menace.

Annonce pour les obligations de la victoire publiée dans le Montreal Daily Star du 2 novembre 1942. <abbr title='Bibliothèque et Archives Canada'>BAC</abbr> - BN12595

Annonce pour les obligations de la victoire publiée dans le Montreal Daily Star du 2 novembre 1942. BAC - BN12595

Entre 1942 et 1944, c’est précisément cette menace que les U-boot vinrent brandir. Les pertes modérées mais constantes qu’ils infligèrent, en termes de navires marchands et de vies humaines, étaient déjà en soi fort préoccupantes. La situation aurait été encore plus critique s’ils avaient pu fermer l’accès au golfe du Saint-Laurent au trafic extérieur, et par le fait même réduire de 25 p. 100 le transport des marchandises. Les plans des Alliés pour l’invasion de l’Europe dépendaient de l’arrivée à bon port des navires marchands et de leur précieuse cargaison en Grande-Bretagne.

Ceux qui s’opposèrent à l’ennemi, et ceux qui donnèrent leur vie dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, livrèrent donc un combat qui allait avoir des répercussions considérables.

Date de modification :