Introduction

The Second World War lasted six terrible years and left a legacy of death and destruction. It was truly a world war encircling the globe from the Atlantic to the Pacific and touching the far reaches of the Arctic. Nor was it confined to soldiers and battlefields, for new weapons of destruction made war possible on the land, in the air, and beneath the seas, and brought death and suffering indiscriminately to the young and the old, to their homes and their hearts.

A few pages are not sufficient for a full account of that war—its causes, its events, its heroism and its treachery. The aim here is simply to tell something of the story of the Canadians who went overseas, to give some idea of where they fought and died, and what they were able to achieve.

For a young nation it was a remarkable achievement. Serving in the Canadian Army, the Royal Canadian Navy, the Royal Canadian Air Force and with other Allied Forces, thousands of young Canadians fought from 1939 to 1945 on the battlefronts of the world. They were there to defend the United Kingdom when it appeared that Nazi invasion was imminent. They fought valiantly in the unsuccessful attempt to defend Hong Kong against the Japanese. At Dieppe they bore the brunt of a daring, but fateful raid against the enemy-controlled coast of France. Above all they played their part in two great campaigns: they fought for twenty months in Italy, and were in the front lines when the Allies returned to Continental Europe on D-Day in 1944.

They brought honour and a new respect to their country. Most of all they helped to win the struggle against the tyranny and oppression which threatened to engulf the world. It was for our freedom that these young Canadians fought, and it was for that freedom that many of them died.

More than one million Canadians and Newfoundlanders served in the Second World War. Of these more than 45,000 gave their lives, and another 55,000 were wounded. Countless others shared the suffering and hardship of war.

These few words are dedicated to those who fought so that we might live in freedom. It is their valour that we must remember.

Date modified:

Introduction

La Seconde Guerre mondiale dura six terribles années et laissa derrière elle mort et destruction. Il s'agissait véritablement d'un conflit mondial qui encerclait le globe de l'Atlantique au Pacifique et s'étendait même jusqu'aux contrées lointaines de l'Arctique. Il ne se limitait pas non plus aux soldats et aux champs de bataille, car les nouvelles armes rendaient possible la guerre sur terre, dans les airs et sous les mers, apportant sans distinction la mort et la souffrance aux jeunes et aux moins jeunes, dans leurs foyers et dans leurs coeurs.

Ces quelques pages ne suffisent pas à rendre pleinement compte de la guerre, de ses causes, de ses événements, de ses actes d'héroïsme et de trahison. Nous voulons ici simplement raconter brièvement l'histoire des Canadiens qui sont allés outre-mer, donner une idée des endroits où ils ont combattu et où ils sont morts et de ce qu'ils ont pu réaliser.

C'était là un exploit remarquable pour une jeune nation. De 1939 à 1945, des milliers de jeunes Canadiens combattaient sur tous les champs de bataille du monde en servant dans l'Armée canadienne, la Marine royale canadienne, le Corps d'aviation royal canadien et d'autres forces alliées. Ils étaient à leur poste pour défendre le Royaume-Uni lorsque l'invasion nazie apparut imminente. Ils se battirent vaillamment pour tenter de défendre Hong Kong contre les Japonais. À Dieppe, ils payèrent de leur personne un raid audacieux mais funeste sur la côte de France, contrôlée par l'ennemi. Ils ont surtout fait leur part dans deux campagnes importantes : ils combattirent pendant vingt mois en Italie, et étaient sur le front lorsque les Alliés retournèrent en Europe continentale en 1944.

Ils firent rejaillir l'honneur et un nouveau respect sur leur pays. Ils ont surtout aidé à gagner le combat contre la tyrannie et l'oppression qui menaçaient d'engloutir le monde. Ces jeunes Canadiens se sont battus pour notre liberté, et c'est pour elle que tant d'entre eux sont morts.

Plus d'un million de Canadiens et de Terre-Neuviens ont servi sous les drapeaux lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. De ce nombre, plus de 45 000 ont donné leur vie et 55 000 ont été blessés. D'innombrables autres ont dû endurer les souffrances et les misères de la guerre.

Ces quelques mots sont dédiés à ceux qui ont combattu pour que nous puissions vivre en liberté. Nous devons nous souvenir de leur vaillance.

Date de modification :