The Battle of Normandy - Backgrounder

Following the success of D-Day, the Allied forces moved to secure and expand their beachhead in Normandy, France before continuing their push towards the French city of Caen, an important communication centre for the Germans.

The initial success of Canadian troops at Juno Beach was soon tempered in a series of costly battles against deadly German Panzer tank forces. Caen fell to the Allies in early July 1944, but the Normandy Campaign continued through the summer of 1944 as our soldiers fought their way through the hot and dusty countryside of Normandy.

The decisive final chapter of the Battle of Normandy came at the Falaise Pocket where the remnants of the retreating German forces in Northern France faced potential encirclement and capture by Allied troops. By August 21, 1944, the Falaise Gap had been completely closed and tens of thousands of German soldiers were taken prisoner – a major step in the eventual Allied victory in Europe. Major David Currie of the 29th Armoured Reconnaissance Regiment (The South Alberta Regiment) would be awarded the Victoria Cross for his brave actions in leading his unit in capturing and holding a strategically located village during the fighting in the Falaise Gap.

The Normandy Campaign officially came to a close more than two-and-a-half months after D-Day, with the liberation of Paris on August 25, 1944. More than 5,000 Canadians made the ultimate sacrifice during the Battle of Normandy and now lie at rest in France.

Date modified:

La bataille de Normandie - Fiche d’information

Après le succès du jour J, les forces alliées ont entrepris de sécuriser et d’agrandir leur tête de plage en Normandie, en France, avant de poursuivre leur poussée vers la ville française de Caen, un important centre de communication pour les Allemands.

Le succès initial des troupes canadiennes à Juno Beach a rapidement été tempéré par une série de batailles coûteuses contre les forces meurtrières allemandes et leurs chars Panzer. Caen est tombée aux mains des Alliés au début de juillet 1944, mais la campagne de Normandie s’est poursuivie jusqu’à la fin de l’été 1944 alors que nos soldats avançaient avec peine dans la campagne chaude et poussiéreuse de Normandie.

Le chapitre final et décisif de la bataille de Normandie a eu lieu dans la brèche de Falaise, où le reste des forces allemandes qui battaient en retraite dans le Nord de la France allait être encerclé et capturé par les troupes alliées. Le 21 août 1944, la brèche de Falaise était complètement fermée et des dizaines de milliers de soldats allemands ont été faits prisonniers, une étape importante vers la victoire finale des Alliés en Europe. Le major David Currie, du 29e Régiment blindé de reconnaissance (le South Alberta Regiment), recevra la Croix de Victoria pour ses actes de bravoure à la tête de son unité qui a pris et conservé un village stratégiquement situé pendant les combats à la brèche de Falaise.

La campagne de Normandie a pris fin officiellement plus de deux mois et demi après le jour J, à la libération de Paris le 25 août 1944. Plus de 5 000 Canadiens ont fait le sacrifice ultime pendant la bataille de Normandie et reposent maintenant en France.

Date de modification :