D-Day - Backgrounder

By the spring of 1944, Germany had occupied much of Western Europe for almost four years. With the German and the Soviet Union forces locked in bloody combat on the Eastern Front, the Allies sought to relieve some of the pressure on the Soviets by opening another front in Western Europe and beginning their push to liberate the continent from Nazi rule.

Following the failed Dieppe Raid in August 1942, the Allies took the time to carefully plan a massive assault on occupied France. Normandy, a region in the northern part of the country, was chosen as the landing point. In the lead up to D-Day, the Allies leaked false information to German intelligence, leading the enemy to expect the impending assault would come in the Calais region of France.

The Allies also created new amphibious tanks, portable docking facilities and other technological developments such as pipelines designed to carry fuel from England to Normandy under the sea to ensure their forces could land successfully and be properly supplied as they pushed inland.

Initially June 5, 1944, was chosen as D-Day, but poor weather forced the Supreme Allied Commander, General Dwight D. Eisenhower, to push the operation to the next day. Prior to dawn on June 6, 1944, Allied paratroopers kicked off the assault by jumping into France to disrupt German communications and capture key positions to limit the arrival of enemy reinforcements on the Normandy coast.

The Allied D-Day fleet was composed of roughly 7,000 vessels of all types, with combat vessels shelling German positions. Nearly 4,000 Allied bombers and some 3,700 fighter / fighter bombers swept enemy warplanes from the skies over Normandy and attacked beach defences and inland targets.

By the end of D-Day, Canadian troops had secured Juno Beach, while American forces had also established themselves at Omaha Beach and Utah Beach. British forces also successfully came ashore, with help from French forces, at Gold Beach and Sword Beach.

Date modified:

Le Jour J - Fiche d’information

Au printemps 1944, l’Allemagne occupait une grande partie de l’Europe occidentale depuis près de quatre ans. Pendant que les forces allemandes et soviétiques s’enlisaient dans des combats sanglants sur le front de l’Est, les Alliés ont cherché à réduire en partie la pression sur les Soviétiques en ouvrant un autre front en Europe occidentale et en commençant leur offensive pour libérer le continent du régime nazi.

Après l’échec du raid sur Dieppe en août 1942, les Alliés ont pris le temps de planifier soigneusement un assaut massif sur la France occupée. La Normandie, région du nord du pays, a été choisie comme point de débarquement. À l’approche du jour J, les Alliés ont fait circuler de fausses informations laissant croire aux services de renseignements allemands que l’attaque imminente allait se produire dans la région française de Calais.

Les Alliés ont aussi créé de nouveaux chars amphibies, des installations d’amarrage portatives et d’autres innovations technologiques comme des pipelines permettant de transporter du carburant de l’Angleterre à la Normandie, dans le but de faciliter le débarquement et d’alimenter adéquatement les forces armées pendant leur avancée dans les terres.

La date initialement choisie pour le jour J était le 5 juin 1944, mais le mauvais temps a forcé le Commandant suprême allié, le général Dwight D. Eisenhower, à reporter l’opération au jour suivant. Le 6 juin 1944, avant l’aube, des parachutistes alliés ont lancé l’assaut sur la France pour perturber les communications allemandes et prendre des positions clés afin de limiter l’arrivée de renforts ennemis sur la côte normande.

La flotte alliée du jour J était composée d’environ 7 000 navires de tous types, dont des navires de combat qui allaient bombarder les positions allemandes. Près de 4 000 bombardiers alliés et quelque 3 700 avions de chasse et chasseurs-bombardiers ont balayé le ciel pour abattre les avions de guerre ennemis au-dessus de la Normandie et ont attaqué des positions de défense riveraines et des cibles intérieures.

À la fin du jour J, les troupes canadiennes s’étaient installées sur la plage Juno Beach, tandis que les forces américaines s’étaient établies aux plages Omaha et Utah. Les forces britanniques ont également débarqué avec succès, avec l’aide des forces françaises, aux plages Gold et Sword.

Date de modification :