Frequently asked questions - Commemorative Events in Canada

Table of Contents

General / Events

  • Q1. What has the Government of Canada planned to mark the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy?

    A1. This year, the Government of Canada is marking the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy with commemorative ceremonies and events in towns and cities across Canada, and in Normandy, France. Veterans Affairs Canada is also offering free learning materials and web-based programming.

    Learning resources for educators were developed to engage students in learning about Canada’s role in the D-Day landing and the Battle of Normandy. In addition, an online Faces of Freedom feature presents the stories of Veterans from D-Day and the Battle of Normandy—some of whom volunteered to bravely defend our freedom in Europe. To order free, bilingual materials and learn more, visit veterans.gc.ca/d-day75.

  • Q2. What events are being planned in Canada?

    A2. In the months leading up to the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy, Veterans Affairs Canada is partnering with the Canadian Armed Forces, VIA Rail Canada, Parks Canada and community organizations to hold events in communities across Canada.

    These events will follow the journey across Canada of combat boots on passenger trains, as symbols of the many Canadians who undertook a similar journey during the Second World War to serve our country. Accompanying ceremonies will commemorate the Canadians, from all walks of life, who sacrificed so much to defend peace and freedom during the Second World War. Visit our Journey across Canada page for all details on the various train stops.

    For information on commemorative events near you, or to add your community event, please visit our Community Events Calendar.

    On June 6, a signature commemorative event will be held in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and a wreath-laying ceremony will also take place in Ottawa.

  • Q3. What events are being planned overseas?

    A3. In France, the Canadian signature ceremony will take place at the Juno Beach Centre on June 6, and two other Canadian commemorations will be held on June 5 and 7, respectively at the Bény-sur-Mer and Bretteville-sur-Laize Canadian War Cemeteries.

    Planning is ongoing and more details on Government of Canada initiatives will be posted as they become available.

  • Q4. Who is organizing the commemoration of the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy?

    A4. Veterans Affairs Canada is planning and delivering commemorative services and events related to the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy in Canada and overseas with support from the Canadian Armed Forces and other partners both domestically and internationally.

    Many other organizations are also planning events to mark this special commemoration. Please refer to our Community Events Calendar for more details.

  • Q5. How can I get involved in my community?

    A5. Veterans Affairs Canada is committed to supporting events across the country to mark this important milestone. Through the Commemorative Partnership Program, the Department offers funding to not-for-profit groups and organizations for initiatives that recognize Canadian Veterans and those who died in service. For more information about commemorative funding programs, including program guidelines and application forms, please visit our Community Engagement page.

    If you are planning an event in your community, you are encouraged to add it to our Community Events Calendar.

  • Q6. Can I lay a wreath/flowers at commemorative events?

    A6. The public will be invited to lay their own wreaths at the end of ceremonies. The exception will be for the Canadian signature ceremony at the Juno Beach Centre on June 6, where members of the public will not be able to bring wreaths.

  • Q7. When do I wear my medals?

    A7. Medals are usually worn to parades and commemorative events and ceremonies. It is appropriate to wear your medals to commemorative events being hosted by Veterans Affairs Canada. For information on the wearing of medals at other events and ceremonies, please visit The Governor General of Canada website.

Delegations

  • Q8. Will the Government of Canada send an official delegation both to France and Halifax, Nova Scotia?

    A8. Yes. The Government of Canada is sending an official delegation to take part in ceremonies and events marking the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy in France, from June 4-8, 2019. The Government of Canada will also be sending an official delegation to Halifax, Nova Scotia from June 3-7.

  • Q9. Who are the members of the official Government of Canada delegation travelling overseas?

    A9. The Government of Canada will be represented by approximately 125 individuals, in addition to a Canadian Armed Forces contingent.

    The Government of Canada delegation will be led by the Minister of Veterans Affairs and include:

    • Approximately 40 Veterans
    • 6 representatives of Veterans organizations and Indigenous Veterans organizations
    • Departmental officials, including the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    • 4 Parliamentarians
    • 4 Canadian youth
    • Approximately 40 caregivers
    • Delegation support staff
  • Q10. Which Government of Canada officials will be part of the Government of Canada delegation going overseas?

    A10. Typically, the Minister of Veterans Affairs, three members of Parliament and a Senator are part of the official Veterans Affairs Canada delegation that would travel overseas to take part in commemorative events.

    Parliamentarians who join the delegation are nominated by their party’s whip. There are currently three parties with official party status in the House of Commons. Therefore three members of Parliament, one from each official party, would join the delegation travelling to Juno Beach and Normandy. The Speaker of the Senate will also be invited to nominate one senator.

  • Q11. Who are the members of the official Government of Canada delegation attending 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy events in Halifax?

    A11. The delegation will include Veterans of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy and parliamentarians.

  • Q12. How did VAC select the Veterans in the delegations?

    A12. For this event, The Royal Canadian Legion, the National Council of Veteran Associations and the Army, Navy and Air Force Association of Canada worked collaboratively to compile a list of D-Day and Battle of Normandy Veterans who were interested in joining either the overseas or the in-Canada delegation. All interested Veterans of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy were able to join the delegation of their choice.

  • Q13. Will Veterans Affairs Canada pay travel costs to Normandy or Halifax for Veterans who decide not to travel as  part of the official delegation?

    A13. In an effort to help as many Canadian D-Day and Battle of Normandy Veterans to attend as possible, Veterans Affairs Canada is providing a travel subsidy of up to $2,000 to off-set the cost of travel, meals and accommodations. Canadian Veterans and Allied Veterans living in Canada who took part in D-Day and the Battle of Normandy are eligible to apply for this travel subsidy, as long as they are not part of the official VAC delegation. This subsidy is also available to Veterans who are travelling to the official Government of Canada ceremonies in Halifax but are not part of the official delegation.

  • Q14. How do eligible Veterans apply for the travel subsidy?

    A14. Interested Veterans are encouraged to contact us as soon as possible via email in order to receive their application form. Applicants will be required to show proof of service in D-Day and the Battle of Normandy in their application. After the application is approved, Veterans will be asked to submit receipts or proof of travel arrangements upon their return to Canada. A reimbursement of up to $2,000 will be issued in the form of a cheque.

  • Q15. How were representatives from Indigenous Veterans organizations chosen?

    A15. To ensure fair representation from diverse groups across Canada, Veterans Affairs Canada has extended invitations to the three major National Indigenous Veterans organizations seeking a Veteran representative to be a part of the official delegation. The delegates have been selected based on the nominations from these Indigenous Veterans organizations.

  • Q16. How were youth selected for the event?

    A16. Commemorative events such as the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy provide exceptional opportunities for Canadian youth to expand their knowledge and experience, and encourage them to become commemorative ambassadors. Canadian youth were invited to participate in events as part of the official delegation.

    Veterans Affairs Canada worked with Encounters with Canada to select four youth to join the Government of Canada delegation. Youth with a keen interest in Canadian military history, good communication and leadership skills were considered. As youth delegates, they must commit to participating in an overseas program whereby they will  join in ceremonies and events, present research projects on the fallen or other aspects of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy, join the conversation on social media, tour museums and battlefields, and spend time with Veterans.

June 6 ceremony

NEW LOCATION: Today’s commemorative ceremony in Halifax, Nova Scotia will now take place at Willow Park Armoury. You are encouraged to bring an official government photo ID to access the event on the Canadian Armed Forces Base. Staff will direct traffic for parking off-site (mostly at Windsor Park) and for those who arrive without an ID, escorts will bring visitors from the gate to the Armoury.

  • Q17. Where will the June 6 signature ceremony marking the 75th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy be held in Halifax?

    A17. The event will now take place at:

    Willow Park Armoury

    3225 Husky Drive

    Halifax, Nova Scotia

    B3K 4X1

  • Q18. Why was the venue changed at the last minute?

    A18. Due to the special weather advisory for Halifax on June 6, Veterans Affairs Canada has changed the venue for the health and safety of the delegation and the public. The event will be held at the Willow Park Armoury instead of the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site.

  • Q19. Will Veterans Affairs Canada provide transportation from the Citadel Halifax to the Willow Park Armoury?

    A19. No. The Armoury has parking space.

  • Q20.Are activities still taking place at the Halifax Citadel National Historic site?

    A20. Yes; please see Questions 30- 32

  • Q21. Are there any changes to the ceremony program due to the change in venue?

    A21. As the venue is now indoors, there is no fly past.

  • Q22. How much will the change in venue cost?

    A22. We have made the required changes in the most efficient way possible.

  • Q23. What time does the ceremony start?

    A23. The ceremony will begin at 2:30 p.m. ADT as planned.

  • Q24. Is there seating available to view the ceremony?

    A24. Limited seating will be available to the public on a first-come, first-served basis. Otherwise, the public may enjoy the ceremony standing.

  • Q25. What is the entrance fee to the event?

    A25. The event is free.

  • Q26. Is parking available on site?

    A26. Yes, there is parking available on site.

  • Q27. Is the Willow Park Armoury an accessible site?

    A27. Yes, the site is wheelchair accessible.

  • Q28. May I bring my own food and drinks?

    A28. Yes.

  • Q29. What is the Willow Park Armoury?

    A29. The new Willow Park Armoury in Halifax is the home of 36 Service Battalion, 36 Signal Regiment and 33 Field Ambulance from 5th Canadian Division.

The Halifax Citadel National Historic Site

  • Q30. What is the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site?

    A30. Operated by Parks Canada, the restored Halifax Citadel is one of Canada's most visited national historic sites. The present Citadel was completed in 1856 and is the fourth fort to be built by British troops on this site.

    Visitors to the site will enter a star-shaped stone fortress from the Victorian era. Beginning in the 1950s and over the following decades, the Halifax Citadel was restored by a team of engineers, archeologists, architects, masons and carpenters using historic plans from Canadian and British archives to return the fortress to its mid-nineteenth century appearance.

  • Q31. What connections does the Halifax Citadel have to the First and Second World War?

    A31. In 1906, the British handed the Halifax Citadel over to the Canadian Department of Militia and Defence. During the First World War, the Halifax Citadel served as soldier barracks and a command centre for Halifax Harbour defences. It remained a temporary barracks for Canadian troops during the Second World War—and was one of their last glimpses of Canada before heading overseas.

  • Q32. Are there any special historical exhibits at the Halifax Citadel?

    A32. Yes! While at the Halifax Citadel, we encourage you to visit the new interactive Second World War exhibit Storm the Beach. You can also take in the Trail of the Canadian Army 1939-1945 exhibit at the Army Museum Halifax Citadel, which is on site. These exhibits are in addition to the regular programs and services offered at the Halifax Citadel.

    For more information about the Halifax Citadel, visit the Parks Canada website at www.pc.gc.ca/en/lhn-nhs/ns/Halifax

Date modified:

Foire aux questions - Activités commémoratives au Canada

Table of Contents

Généralités – Événements

  • Q1. Que fait le gouvernement du Canada pour souligner le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie?

    R1. Cette année, le gouvernement du Canada souligne le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie en organisant des cérémonies et des activités commémoratives dans des villes partout au Canada et en Normandie (France). Anciens Combattants Canada offre également du matériel pédagogique gratuit et des programmes sur le Web.

    Des ressources pédagogiques à l’intention des éducateurs ont été élaborées afin d’inciter les élèves à en apprendre davantage sur le rôle du Canada dans le débarquement du jour J et dans la bataille de Normandie. En outre, une rubrique en ligne, Visages de la liberté, présente les récits de vétérans du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie, dont certains se sont portés volontaires afin de défendre courageusement notre liberté en Europe. Pour commander gratuitement du matériel bilingue et en savoir plus, consultez le site veterans.gc.ca/jour-j75.

  • Q2. Quels événements sont planifiés au Canada?

    R2. Au cours des mois précédant le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie, Anciens Combattants Canada s’associera aux Forces armées canadiennes, à VIA Rail Canada, à Parcs Canada et à des organismes communautaires pour organiser des activités dans diverses collectivités du Canada.

    Ces événements auront lieu pendant le voyage d’un bout à l’autre du Canada de bottes de combat à bord de trains, comme symboles des nombreux Canadiens qui ont entrepris un voyage semblable pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour servir notre pays. Des cérémonies commémoreront les Canadiens de tous les milieux qui ont tant sacrifié pour défendre la paix et la liberté pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Consultez notre Traversée du Canada pour connaître tous les détails sur les différents arrêts du train.

    Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les activités commémoratives qui auront lieu près de chez vous ou pour ajouter votre activité communautaire, veuillez consulter notre site Web Calendrier des activités communautaires.

    Le 6 juin, un événement commémoratif phare aura lieu à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et une cérémonie de dépôt de couronne sera également présentée à Ottawa.

  • Q3. Quels événements sont planifiés outre-mer?

    R3. En France, la cérémonie phare canadienne aura lieu au Centre Juno Beach le 6 juin et deux autres commémorations canadiennes auront lieu les 5 et 7 juin, respectivement aux cimetières de guerre canadiens de Bény-sur-Mer et de Bretteville sur-Laize.

  • Q4. Qui organise la commémoration du 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie?

    R4. Anciens Combattants Canada planifie et présente des services commémoratifs et des activités dans le cadre du 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie au Canada et outre-mer, avec l’appui des Forces armées canadiennes et d’autres partenaires nationaux et internationaux.

    De nombreuses autres organisations planifient également des événements pour marquer cette commémoration spéciale. Veuillez consulter notre Calendrier des événements communautaires pour obtenir plus de détails.

  • Q5. Comment puis-je participer dans ma collectivité?

    R5. Anciens Combattants Canada s’engage à soutenir des événements partout au pays pour souligner cet important jalon. Dans le cadre du Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration, le Ministère peut offrir un financement à des groupes et organismes sans but lucratif pour des initiatives visant à honorer les vétérans canadiens et ceux qui sont morts en service. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les programmes de financement d’activités commémoratives, y compris les lignes directrices des programmes et les formulaires de demande, veuillez consulter notre page Engagement communautaire.

    Si vous planifiez un événement dans votre collectivité, nous vous encourageons à l’ajouter à notre Calendrier des événements communautaires.

  • Q6. Puis-je déposer une couronne ou des fleurs lors des activités commémoratives?

    R6. R6. Le public sera invité à déposer ses propres couronnes à la fin des cérémonies. L’exception sera la cérémonie phare canadienne au Centre Juno Beach le 6 juin, où les membres du public ne pourront pas apporter de couronnes.

  • Q7. Quand dois-je porter mes médailles?

    R7. Les médailles sont habituellement portées pendant les défilés ou les activités et les cérémonies commémoratives. Il est approprié de porter vos médailles aux activités commémoratives organisées par Anciens Combattants Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le port des médailles lors de cérémonies et d’autres activités, veuillez consulter le site Web La gouverneure générale du Canada.

Délégations

  • Q8. Le gouvernement du Canada enverra-t-il une délégation officielle en France et à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse?

    R8. Oui. Le gouvernement du Canada enverra une délégation officielle pour participer aux cérémonies et événements marquant le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie, en France, du 4 au 8 juin 2019. Le gouvernement du Canada enverra également une délégation officielle à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, du 3 au 7 juin.

  • Q9. Qui sont les membres de la délégation officielle du gouvernement du Canada qui se rendent outre-mer?

    R9. Le gouvernement du Canada sera représenté par environ 125 personnes, en plus d’un contingent de membres des Forces armées canadiennes.

    • Environ 40 vétérans
    • Six représentants d’organisations de vétérans et d’organisations de vétérans autochtones
    • Des fonctionnaires du Ministère, y compris le ministre des Anciens Combattants
    • Quatre parlementaires
    • Quatre jeunes Canadiens
    • Environ 40 personnes soignantes
    • Personnel d’appui à la délégation
  • Q10. Quels membres du gouvernement du Canada feront partie de la délégation du gouvernement du Canada qui se rendra outre-mer?

    R10. Habituellement, le ministre des Anciens Combattants, trois députés et un sénateur font partie de la délégation officielle d’Anciens Combattants Canada qui se rend à l’étranger pour participer aux activités commémoratives.

    Les parlementaires qui se joignent à la délégation sont nommés par le whip de leur parti. Il y a actuellement trois partis ayant le statut officiel de parti à la Chambre des communes. Par conséquent, trois députés, un de chaque parti officiel, se joindront à la délégation qui se rendra à Juno Beach et en Normandie. Le président du Sénat sera également invité à nommer un sénateur.

  • Q11. Qui sont les membres de la délégation officielle du gouvernement du Canada qui participent aux activités du 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie à Halifax?

    R11. La délégation officielle sera composée de vétérans du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie et de parlementaires.

  • Q12. Comment le Ministère a-t-il choisi les vétérans qui font partie de la délégation?

    R12. À cette occasion, la Légion royale canadienne, le Conseil national des associations de vétérans et l’Association de l’Armée, de la Marine et des Forces aériennes du Canada ont collaboré pour dresser une liste des vétérans du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie qui souhaitaient se joindre à la délégation au pays ou à l’étranger. Tous les vétérans du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie intéressés ont pu se joindre à la délégation de leur choix.

  • Q13. Est-ce qu’Anciens Combattants Canada se chargera des frais de déplacement vers la Normandie ou Halifax pour les vétérans qui choisissent de ne pas voyager en tant que membres de la délégation officielle?

    R13. Dans le but d’aider le plus grand nombre possible de vétérans du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie à participer, Anciens Combattants Canada offre une subvention de voyage pouvant aller jusqu’à 2 000 $ par vétéran afin de réduire le coût de leur voyage, de leurs repas et de leur hébergement. Les vétérans canadiens et les vétérans alliés vivant au Canada qui ont participé au jour J et à la bataille de Normandie sont admissibles à cette subvention de voyage, pourvu qu’ils ne fassent pas partie de la délégation officielle d’ACC. Cette subvention est également offerte aux vétérans qui se rendent aux cérémonies officielles du gouvernement du Canada à Halifax, mais qui ne font pas partie de la délégation officielle.

  • Q14. Que doivent faire les vétérans admissibles pour demander une subvention de voyage?

    R14. Nous encourageons les vétérans intéressés à communiquer avec nous dès que possible par courriel afin de recevoir leur formulaire de demande. Les demandeurs seront priés d’inclure dans leur demande de l’information attestant qu’ils ont servi durant le jour J et la bataille de Normandie. Une fois que leur demande aura été approuvée, les vétérans devront soumettre leurs reçus ou la preuve de leurs réservations de voyage, à leur retour au Canada. Un remboursement pouvant aller jusqu’à 2 000 $ leur sera remis sous forme de chèque.

  • Q15. Comment les représentants des organisations de vétérans autochtones ont ils été sélectionnés?

    R15. Pour veiller à obtenir une représentation équitable des divers groupes du Canada, Anciens Combattants Canada a invité des représentants des trois principales organisations nationales de vétérans autochtones à faire partie de la délégation officielle. Les délégués ont été sélectionnés sur la base des nominations de ces organismes de vétérans autochtones.

  • Q16. Comment les jeunes ont-ils été sélectionnés pour participer à l’événement?

    R16. Des activités commémoratives comme le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie offrent aux jeunes Canadiens des occasions exceptionnelles d’approfondir leurs connaissances et leur expérience, et les encouragent à devenir des ambassadeurs du Souvenir. De jeunes Canadiens ont été invités à participer aux divers événements en tant que membres de la délégation officielle.

    Anciens Combattants Canada a collaboré avec Rencontres du Canada pour sélectionner quatre jeunes qui feront partie de la délégation du gouvernement du Canada. Les jeunes qui s’intéressent vivement à l’histoire militaire canadienne et qui possèdent de bonnes compétences en communication et en leadership ont été pris en considération. En tant que jeunes délégués, ils doivent s'engager à participer à un programme outre-mer dans le cadre duquel ils participeront à des cérémonies et à des activités, présenteront des projets de recherche sur le jour J et la bataille de Normandie, participeront à des conversations sur les médias sociaux, visiteront des musées et des champs de bataille et passeront du temps avec des vétérans.

Cérémonie du 6 juin

NOUVEAU LIEU : L’événement commémorative d’aujourd’hui à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) aura maintenant lieu au Manège militaire Willow Park. Vous devez apporter une pièce d’identité avec photo délivrée par le gouvernement pour accéder au site de l’événement à la base des Forces armées canadiennes.

  • Q17. Où à Halifax se tiendra la cérémonie de marque du 6 juin soulignant le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie?

    R17. La cérémonie aura maintenant lieu au :

    Manège militaire Willow Park

    3225, promenade Husky

    Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

    B3K 4X1

  • Q18. Pourquoi le lieu de la cérémonie a-t-il changé à la dernière minute?

    R18. En raison du bulletin météorologique spécial pour le 6 juin 2019 en vigueur pour la ville d’Halifax, Anciens Combattants Canada a changé le lieu de la cérémonie par souci pour la santé et la sécurité de la délégation et du public. L’événement se tiendra au Manège militaire Willow Park plutôt qu’au lieu historique national de la Citadelle d’Halifax.

  • Q19. Anciens Combattants Canada fournira-t-il le transport de la Citadelle d’Halifax vers le Manège militaire Willow Park?

    R19. Non. Il y a des places de stationnement au Manège militaire.

  • Q20. Y a-t-il des activités qui se tiennent toujours au lieu historique national de la Citadelle-Halifax?

    R20. Oui, consultez les questions 30 à 32

  • Q21. Y a-t-il des modifications au programme de la cérémonie en raison du changement de lieu?

    R21. Comme la cérémonie se déroulera maintenant à l’intérieur, il n’y aura pas de défilé aérien.

  • Q22. Combien coûtera le changement de lieu?

    R22. Nous avons fait les changements nécessaires de la manière la plus efficiente possible.

  • Q23. À quelle heure la cérémonie commencera-t-elle?

    R23. La cérémonie commencera comme prévu à 14 h 30 HAA.

  • Q24. Y a-t-il des places assises pour voir la cérémonie?

    R24. Il y aura un nombre limité de places assises qui seront offertes aux premiers arrivés. Sinon, les membres du public pourront profiter de la cérémonie debout.

  • Q25. Quel est le prix d’entrée?

    R25. L’événement est gratuit.

  • Q26. Y a-t-il des places de stationnement sur le site?

    R26. Oui, il y a des places de stationnement sur le site.

  • Q27. Le Manège militaire Willow Park est-il accessible?

    R27. Oui, le site est accessible en fauteuil roulant.

  • Q28. Puis-je apporter ma propre nourriture et mes propres boissons?

    R28. Oui.

  • Q29. Qu’est-ce que le Manège militaire Willow Park?

    R29. Le nouveau Manège militaire Willow Park, situé à Halifax, abrite le 36e Bataillon des services, le 36e Régiment des transmissions et la 33e Ambulance de campagne de la 5e Division du Canada.

Le lieu historique national de la Citadelle d’Halifax

  • Q30. En quoi consiste le lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle d’Halifax?

    R30. Exploitée par Parcs Canada et restaurée, la Citadelle d’Halifax est l’un des lieux historiques nationaux les plus visités du Canada. La citadelle actuelle a été achevée en 1856 et est le quatrième fort à avoir été construit par les troupes britanniques sur le site.

    Les visiteurs du site entreront dans une forteresse de pierre en forme d’étoile datant de l’époque victorienne. À partir des années 1950 et au cours des décennies suivantes, la citadelle d’Halifax a été restaurée par une équipe d’ingénieurs, d’archéologues, d’architectes, de maçons et de charpentiers à l’aide des plans historiques provenant d’archives canadiennes et britanniques pour redonner à la forteresse son aspect du milieu du XIXe siècle.

  • Q31. Quels liens la citadelle d’Halifax a-t-elle avec la Première et la Seconde Guerres mondiales?

    R31. En 1906, les Britanniques cèdent la citadelle d’Halifax au ministère de la Milice et de la Défense du gouvernement du Canada. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, elle sert de caserne et de centre de commandement pour les forces de défense du port d’Halifax. Lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, elle sert de caserne temporaire pour les troupes canadiennes qui, lors de leur départ outre mer, peuvent jeter un dernier regard sur elle en guise d’au revoir au Canada.

  • Q32. Y a-t-il des expositions historiques particulières à la Citadelle d’Halifax?

    R32. Oui! Pendant votre séjour à la Citadelle-d’Halifax, nous vous invitons à visiter la nouvelle exposition interactive de la Seconde Guerre mondiale intitulée Storm the Beach. Vous pouvez également admirer l’exposition Trail of the Canadian Army 1939-1945 au Musée de l’Armée de la Citadelle-d’Halifax, (en anglais seulement) situé sur place. Ces expositions s’ajoutent aux programmes réguliers et aux services offerts à la Citadelle d’Halifax.

    Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Citadelle d’Halifax, visitez le site Web de Parcs Canada au https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/ns/halifax

Date de modification :