Juno Beach - Backgrounder

During the Second World War, Juno Beach was one of five stretches of the Normandy coast in occupied France chosen by the Allies to serve as landing zones during Operation Overlord on June 6, 1944. Canadian troops were tasked with coming ashore at Juno Beach that morning.

Juno Beach was an eight-kilometre long section of French shoreline that included the coastal villages of Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer, Bernières-sur-Mer, Courseulles-sur-Mer and Graye-sur-Mer. Our soldiers would face imposing defences as the Germans had studded the coast with machine gun positions, heavy artillery, beach obstacles, mines, barbed wire and watchful enemy troops.

Some 14,000 Canadians came ashore at Juno Beach in the face of heavy enemy fire on June 6, 1944, to help establish an Allied beachhead. 450 Canadian paratroopers also landed in Normandy before dawn to target German positions farther inland. As well, Royal Canadian Navy warships and landing craft were important parts of the massive Allied fleet on D-Day, while Royal Canadian Air Force bombers and fighters helped clear enemy planes from the skies and strike at German defensive positions.

359 Canadian soldiers were killed on D-Day, while more than 5,000 of our soldiers would lose their lives over the entire course of the 11-week Battle of Normandy. Many more returned home with wounds to mind and body that would affect their lives for years to come. The Canadians who took part in the Normandy Campaign were among the more than one million men and women who served our country in the defence of peace and freedom during the Second World War.

Date modified:

La plage Juno Beach - Fiche d’information

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la plage Juno Beach a été l’une des cinq étendues de côte normande, en France occupée, choisies par les Alliés pour servir de zones de débarquement pendant l’opération Overlord, le 6 juin 1944. Les troupes canadiennes ont reçu l’ordre de débarquer à la plage Juno Beach ce matin-là.

La plage Juno Beach était une section de huit kilomètres du littoral français qui comprenait les villages côtiers de Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer, Bernières-sur-Mer, Courseulles-sur-Mer et Graye-sur-Mer. Nos soldats allaient faire face à d’imposantes défenses, car les Allemands avaient parsemé la côte de positions de mitrailleuses, d’artillerie lourde, d’obstacles de plage, de mines, de fils barbelés et de troupes vigilantes.

Le 6 juin 1944, quelque 14 000 Canadiens ont débarqué sur la plage Juno Beach, face au feu puissant de l’ennemi, pour aider à établir une tête de plage alliée. Avant l’aube, 450 parachutistes canadiens ont atterri plus avant dans les terres normandes pour attaquer les positions allemandes. De plus, les navires de guerre et les chalands de débarquement de la Marine royale du Canada constituaient une partie importante de l’imposante flotte alliée du jour J, tandis que les bombardiers et les chasseurs de l’Aviation royale canadienne aidaient à dégager le ciel des avions ennemis et à frapper les positions de défense allemandes.

Le jour J, 359 soldats canadiens ont été tués, et plus de 5 000 de nos soldats ont perdu la vie au cours des 11 semaines de la bataille de Normandie. De nombreux autres sont rentrés au pays atteints de blessures physiques et psychologiques qui allaient affecter leur vie pendant des années. Les Canadiens qui ont participé à la campagne de Normandie faisaient partie du million et plus d’hommes et de femmes qui ont servi notre pays pour la défense de la paix et de la liberté pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Date de modification :