Juno Beach Centre - Background

The Juno Beach Centre is an interactive educational facility and museum that offers information about Canada's role in the Second World War. The core purpose of the Centre is to commemorate the sacrifices of Canadian soldiers who were part of the Allied victory in all theatres and ensure future generations grasp the role Canada played in preserving the freedoms we have today.

The Centre was built at Courseulles-sur-Mer, a community on the Normandy Coast in France, and completed for the 59th anniversary of the D-Day landings on June 6, 2003. The Centre was constructed by the Juno Beach Centre Association, a group of Second World War veterans who participated in the D-Day landings and the subsequent battles in Normandy and Western Europe.

The Government of Canada provided funding to the Juno Beach Centre Association for the establishment and official opening of the Centre and continues to provide funding to support its interpretive program and ongoing operations. The JCBA is a Canadian non-profit charitable corporation that is governed by a Board of Directors based in Burlington, Ontario.

Date modified:

Centre Juno Beach - Fiche d’information

Le Centre Juno Beach se veut un établissement d'enseignement et un musée interactif où l'on peut s'informer sur le rôle joué par le Canada au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La mission du Centre Juno Beach est de commémorer les sacrifices de tous les Canadiens qui ont participé à la victoire alliée sur les théâtres d’opérations et assurer que les prochaines générations apprécient le rôle du Canada dans la préservation des libertés dont nous avons le privilège de bénéficier aujourd’hui.

Le Centre se situe à Courseulles-sur-Mer, une communauté à proximité de Normandie, en France. Les travaux de construction ont été terminés à temps pour qu'on y commémore le 59e anniversaire du débarquement du jour J, le 6 juin 2003. Le Centre Juno Beach a été établi par l'Association du Centre Juno Beach, un regroupement d'anciens combattants de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui ont participé au débarquement du jour J ainsi qu'aux batailles qui ont eu lieu par la suite en Normandie et en Europe occidentale.

Le gouvernement du Canada a fourni une aide financière à l'Association du Centre Juno Beach, afin d'appuyer la construction et l'ouverture officielle du Centre. D'ailleurs, le gouvernement continue d'accorder du financement afin d'appuyer le programme d'interprétation et les autres initiatives entreprises par le Centre. L’Association Centre Juno Beach (ACJB) est une association canadienne à but non lucratif dirigée par un Conseil d’Administration basé à Burlington (Ontario), Canada.

Date de modification :