Canada in the South African War

Many Canadians have put their lives on the line in wars and peace support efforts over the years. In many ways the origins of our country’s tradition of international military service and sacrifice can be traced back to the South African War, fought between 1899 and 1902. This conflict in a distant land so different from our own was the first time large numbers of Canadian soldiers served overseas.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Background

As the 19th century drew to a close, the British Empire was nearing its height. With colonies, dominions and territories stretching around the world, it was said that "the sun never set on the British Empire." One of the areas where it exerted its influence was in southern Africa.

The British first gained control of territory in the region from the Dutch in the early 1800s. The original Dutch settlers (known as the "Boers") resisted British rule, however, migrating away from the centres of British control along the coasts and establishing the Orange Free State and the Transvaal Republic in the mid-1800s.

Tensions in southern Africa escalated as the years went by, particularly after the discovery of rich diamond and gold deposits in the second half of the 19th century. The presence of these natural resources and the resulting influx of new settlers led to increased British interest in the Boer territories and fighting erupted in 1880. An uneasy peace was soon re-established but the situation remained strained until finally boiling over again with the outbreak of the South African War on October 11, 1899.

Canada Responds

In the decades after Confederation in 1867, Britain still had great influence in Canada’s affairs. When the South African War erupted, it quickly requested military assistance from members of the Commonwealth. National opinion was split over what some people (especially in French Canada) saw as a “British War” in which our country should not become involved, while others (especially in English Canada) were drawn to the idea of defending the Empire. In the end, Prime Minister Wilfred Laurier compromised by offering to send soldiers who volunteered for the conflict plus military equipment, as well as arranging for transportation to South Africa. In turn, the British would pay the Canadian soldiers’ wages and arrange for their return home upon completion of their service. A thousand men were then quickly recruited to form the First Contingent that sailed from Québec City on October 30, 1899.

The Boers were tough fighters, familiar with the African terrain that was their home and expert marksmen. The British suffered serious setbacks in the opening battles of the war and made an urgent request for Canada to supply more horse-mounted troops. In response, a second contingent was soon brought together, made up of two regiments and three artillery batteries. Troop trains loaded with these volunteers and their horses were greeted with thunderous welcomes at stations across Canada as they headed to Halifax to set sail for South Africa. More units from Canada would follow as the war progressed, including a field hospital. In total, more than 7,000 Canadians would volunteer for service during the conflict.

The Tide Turns

After their initial defeats, the British regrouped and launched counter-offensives in early 1900. The Canadians got their baptism of fire in the Battle of Paardeberg in February 1900, where they distinguished themselves in the first significant British victory of the conflict—a triumph greeted by much excitement back in Canada. The price was high, however, as 18 Canadians were killed and 68 more wounded on the first day of the battle—our country’s bloodiest single day of fighting in the war.

The Boers soon turned to guerrilla tactics against the more powerful British forces. Canadians took part in many smaller actions in the latter portion of the war, such as the Battle of Leliefontein in November 1900. During this phase of the fighting, Canadians undertook many grueling scouting patrols through the harsh terrain on horseback, braving Boer sniper fire and the risk of ambush. The cowboys and Northwest Mounted Police members from the Canadian West who had volunteered for service in South Africa were especially skilled at these roles.

The war finally ended with the signing of the Treaty of Vereeniging on May 31, 1902. The Boers surrendered their independence in exchange for aid to those affected by the fighting and eventual self-government, among other terms. The Canadian soldiers could finally return home, although some chose to remain there as members of the South African Constabulary.

Heroism

Great courage was evident throughout the South African War and five Canadians earned the Victoria Cross, the highest award for military valour: Sergeant Arthur Richardson, Lieutenant Hampden Cockburn, Lieutenant Richard Turner, Sergeant Edward Holland and Lieutenant William Nickerson. Another Canadian, Private Richard Thompson, was recommended for the Victoria Cross twice for his brave actions but did not receive one. Queen Victoria learned of the situation and knitted a special wool scarf for Thompson and a handful of other soldiers like him whose bravery had not been officially recognized.

Sacrifice

Canada’s contributions in the South African War came at a cost. Approximately 280 Canadians lost their lives (most due to injury or illness brought on by the harsh conditions) and more than 250 were wounded. The names of the fallen are recorded in the South African War / Nile Expedition Book of Remembrance which is displayed in the Memorial Chamber in the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill.

The Legacy

Canada’s experiences in the South African War would only be the beginning of an impressive tradition of international military service. The skill, courage and sacrifice demonstrated by those Canadians so long ago would be seen time and again in the years to come, whether in the First or Second World War, the Korean War, or numerous peace support operations around the world.

The war also marked the first time Canadian women served with the military overseas, with 12 Nursing Sisters helping the sick and wounded in South Africa. In fact, Prince Edward Island’s Georgina Pope, who led the Canadian Nursing Sisters in South Africa, was awarded the Royal Red Cross for her impressive service under difficult conditions—the first time a Canadian ever received this prestigious award.

These trailblazing nurses helped lead the way in establishing a tradition of military service by Canadian women that today sees females in all roles in the Canadian Forces, from serving on submarines to active combat.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served–and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

La guerre d'Afrique du Sud

Au fil des ans, de nombreux Canadiens ont risqué leur vie lors de guerres et d'opérations de maintien de la paix. À bien des égards, l'origine de la tradition du service militaire international et du sacrifice de notre pays remonte à la guerre d'Afrique du Sud, qui a eu lieu de 1899 à 1902. Ce conflit, se déroulant dans une contrée lointaine si différente de la nôtre, a été le premier déploiement d'un grand nombre de soldats canadiens à l'étranger.

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Contexte

À la fin du XIXe siècle, l'Empire britannique était au sommet de sa puissance. Avec ses colonies, ses dominions et ses territoires un peu partout dans le monde, on disait que le soleil ne se couchait jamais sur l'Empire britannique. L'un des endroits où l'Empire exerçait son influence était l'Afrique australe.

Les Britanniques ont d'abord gagné le contrôle du territoire de la région aux mains des Néerlandais au début des années 1800. Les descendants des premiers colonisateurs néerlandais (surnommés les « Boers ») ont résisté au joug britannique, mais se sont éloignés des centres de contrôle britannique le long des côtes pour former deux républiques, l'État libre d'Orange et le Transvaal, vers le milieu du XIXe siècle.

Les tensions en Afrique australe se sont amplifiées avec les années, en particulier après la découverte de gisements diamantifères et aurifères au cours de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle. La présence de ces ressources naturelles et l'afflux des nouveaux colons a poussé les Britanniques à s'intéresser davantage aux territoires des Boers, et des combats ont éclaté en 1880. Une paix précaire a rapidement été rétablie, mais la situation est demeurée tendue jusqu'à ce que les hostilités reprennent le 11 octobre 1899, avec le déclenchement de la guerre d'Afrique du Sud.

La réponse du Canada

Au cours des décennies qui ont suivi la Confédération de 1867, la Grande-Bretagne a maintenu une grande influence dans les affaires du Canada. Lorsque la guerre d'Afrique du Sud a débuté, les Britanniques ont rapidement sollicité l'aide militaire des pays membres du Commonwealth. Les Canadiens étaient divisés au sujet de ce que certains (en particulier les Canadiens-français) considéraient comme une « guerre britannique » à laquelle notre pays ne devrait pas participer, alors que d'autres (en particulier les Canadiens-anglais) trouvaient séduisante l'idée de défendre l'Empire britannique. Finalement, le premier ministre Wilfrid Laurier a trouvé un compromis en offrant d'appuyer les Britanniques en expédiant des volontaires et de l'équipement militaire en Afrique du Sud. La Grande-Bretagne devait pour sa part rémunérer les troupes et les renvoyer à ses frais au Canada à la fin de leur période de service. Mille hommes ont alors été recrutés rapidement pour former le premier contingent qui a quitté Québec le 30 octobre 1899.

Les Boers étaient des combattants résolus, connaissaient bien le territoire africain où ils habitaient et excellaient au tir d'élite. Les Britanniques ont connu de graves difficultés lors des premières batailles et ont demandé au Canada de fournir de toute urgence davantage de troupes montées. En réponse, un deuxième contingent a rapidement été formé, composé de deux régiments et de trois batteries d'artillerie. Les trains transportant les volontaires et les chevaux furent accueillis par des ovations dans les gares, partout au Canada, durant le trajet vers Halifax où les troupes devaient s'embarquer pour l'Afrique du Sud. D'autres unités du Canada ont suivi au fur et à mesure que la guerre progressait, notamment un hôpital de campagne. En tout, plus de 7 000 Canadiens allaient se porter volontaire au cours de ce conflit.

Le vent tourne

Après leurs défaites initiales, les Britanniques se sont regroupés et ont lancé des contre-offensives au début de 1900. Les Canadiens ont eu leur baptême du feu lors de la bataille de Paardeberg en février 1900, où ils se sont distingués lors de la première victoire britannique importante du conflit – un triomphe accueilli avec beaucoup d'excitation au Canada. Le prix à payer a cependant été élevé, puisque 18 Canadiens ont été tués et que 68 ont été blessés dès le premier jour de la bataille, qui a d'ailleurs été le plus sanglant de cette guerre pour notre pays.

Les Boers n'ont pas tardé à adopter des tactiques de guérilla contre les forces Britanniques, plus puissantes. Les Canadiens ont pris part à de nombreux combats de moindre envergure dans la dernière portion de la guerre, comme la bataille de Leliefontein en novembre 1900. Pendant cette étape des hostilités, les Canadiens ont effectué d'épuisantes patrouilles d'éclaireurs à cheval sur les terres sauvages, bravant les tirs des Boers et les risques d'embuscade. Les cowboys et les membres de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest de l'Ouest canadien qui s'étaient portés volontaires pour combattre en Afrique du Sud brillaient particulièrement dans ce rôle.

La guerre s'est finalement terminée avec la signature du Traité de Vereeniging, le 31 mai 1902. Les Boers ont renoncé à leur indépendance en échange d'une aide pour les victimes du conflit et d'une éventuelle autonomie gouvernementale, entre autres choses. Les soldats canadiens ont finalement pu rentrer chez eux, même si certains ont choisi de rester sur place et de devenir membres de la South African Constabulary.

Héroïsme

Les Canadiens ont fait preuve d'un grand courage pendant toute la guerre d'Afrique du Sud, et cinq d'entre eux se sont vu décerner la Croix de Victoria, la décoration la plus prestigieuse pour bravoure militaire : le Sergent Arthur Richardson, le Lieutenant Hampden Cockburn, le Lieutenant Richard Turner, le Sergent Edward Holland et le Lieutenant William Nickerson. Un autre Canadien, le Soldat Richard Thompson, fut nommé deux fois pour la Croix de Victoria pour sa bravoure, sans jamais l'obtenir. Ayant appris la chose, la reine Victoria lui tricota (ainsi qu'à d'autres personnes dont la bravoure n'avait pas été soulignée) une écharpe en laine spéciale.

Sacrifice

La participation du Canada à la guerre d'Afrique du Sud fut coûteuse en vies humaines. Environ 280 Canadiens ont perdu la vie (la plupart en raison de blessures ou de maladies dues aux conditions difficiles) et plus de 250 ont été blessés. Les noms des disparus figurent dans le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre d'Afrique du Sud et de l'Expédition sur le Nil, qui est exposé dans la Chapelle du Souvenir de la tour de la Paix au Parlement.

L'héritage

L'expérience vécue par les soldats canadiens lors de la guerre d'Afrique du Sud s'est avérée la première de ce qui deviendrait une tradition impressionnante de service militaire international. L'habileté, le courage et le sacrifice dont ont fait preuve ces Canadiens il y a si longtemps ont de nouveau été constatés au cours des années qui ont suivi, soit lors des Première et Seconde Guerres mondiales, de la guerre de Corée, ou des nombreuses opérations de maintien de la paix dans le monde entier.

C'est également lors de cette guerre que des femmes canadiennes ont participé pour la première fois à des opérations militaires à l'étranger, soit 12 infirmières militaires qui sont venues en aide aux blessés et aux malades. En fait, Georgina Pope, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, qui dirigeait le groupe d'infirmières en Afrique du Sud, a reçu la médaille de la Croix-Rouge royale pour son service exceptionnel dans des conditions difficiles. Elle fut la première citoyenne canadienne à recevoir cette distinction.

Véritables pionnières, ces infirmières ont contribué à établir une tradition de service militaire chez les femmes canadiennes, qui occupent aujourd'hui des postes dans l'ensemble des Forces canadiennes, aussi bien à bord des sous-marins que dans les combats actifs.

Programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d'Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et en temps de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l'héritage qu'ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :