Language selection

COVID-19: Commemorative services, programs and activities

COVID-19 has impacted the regular operation of commemorative services, programs and activities. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Veterans’ Week

From November 5-11—Veterans’ Week—we honour those who have served Canada, past and present, in times of war, military conflict and peace. There are many ways you can show that #CanadaRemembers leading up to and during Veterans’ Week. Find out more at veterans.gc.ca/CanadaRemembers.

Events

Commemorative events hosted by VAC, stakeholders and other organizations have been adapted to meet the local COVID-19 restrictions and requirements. Consult our Calendar of Events for information on specific events. The status of the events may not always be fully up to date, so please contact the event organizers for more information. Some activities are being moved online so you can participate virtually.

You should follow all directions given by your local health authorities regarding public gatherings, regardless of an event’s status.

Memorials overseas

Partial activities resume

Visitors may now access the monuments and trails at the Canadian National Vimy Memorial and Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial. The visitor centres remain closed and there are no guided tours for the time being. In the meantime, we invite you to download self-guided tour maps or take a virtual tour of our sites.

Your patience is appreciated. We will update this page as more information becomes available.

Honours and awards

You can still access the commemorative services we provide, such as the replacement of medals, Memorial Cross distribution and addition of names to the Canadian Virtual War Memorial and the Books of Remembrance. However these services will be delayed.

You can still submit information and photos to the Canadian Virtual War Memorial, as well as the National Inventory of Canadian Military Monuments, but there will be delays in posting.

Commemorative Partnership Program

Your funding applications will still be processed, however there may be delays. Please submit your applications as soon as possible.

If you have already received funding for an event or activity that may be impacted by COVID-19, please contact vac.cpp-ppc.acc@canada.ca for further direction. We will provide details as quickly as possible to all funding recipients. Each situation is unique and will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Grave marker maintenance

Repairs to Veteran grave markers across the country may be impacted by the outbreak of COVID-19. Eligible Veteran grave markers are those installed by the Government of Canada. You can contact vac.cm-mc.acc@canada.ca as usual for any enquiries. If you reach out to us, you will be contacted as soon as possible.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

COVID-19 : Programmes, services et activités liés à la commémoration

La COVID-19 a un effet sur le fonctionnement normal des services, programmes et activités liés à la commémoration. Merci de votre patience et de votre compréhension.

Activités

Les activités commémoratives organisées par ACC, des intervenants et d’autres organisations ont été adaptées pour respecter les restrictions et les exigences locales liées à la COVID‑19. Consultez notre calendrier des activités pour vous renseigner sur une activité en particulier. L’état d’avancement des activités pourrait ne pas toujours être à jour; vous devriez communiquer avec les organisateurs pour obtenir davantage de renseignements. Certaines activités auront lieu en ligne afin que vous puissiez y participer virtuellement.

Peu importe l’état d’avancement d’une activité communautaire, vous devriez toujours suivre toutes les directives des autorités sanitaires de votre région par rapport aux rassemblements publics.

Mémoriaux outre-mer

À compter du 2 novembre, tous les services aux visiteurs sont suspendus au Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy et au Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont Hamel. La sécurité des visiteurs et de nos employés est notre priorité. Nous continuerons de surveiller les avis des autorités canadiennes et françaises.

En attendant, nous vous invitons à télécharger les cartes d'interprétation autonome ou à faire une visite virtuelle de nos sites.

Décorations et titres honorifiques

Vous avez toujours accès à nos services commémoratifs, comme le remplacement de médailles, la distribution de Croix du Souvenir et l’ajout de noms au Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada et aux Livres du Souvenir. Il se pourrait toutefois qu’il y ait des retards dans le traitement des demandes.

Vous pouvez encore soumettre des photos et des renseignements pour le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada et le Répertoire national des monuments militaires du Canada, mais il risque d’y avoir des délais dans l’affichage de ces renseignements.

Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration

Les demandes de financement sont toujours traitées, mais il pourrait y avoir des retards. Veuillez présenter votre demande dès que possible.

Si vous avez déjà reçu du financement pour une activité sur laquelle la COVID‑19 pourrait avoir une incidence, veuillez envoyer un courriel à l’adresse vac.cpp-ppc.acc@canada.ca afin d’obtenir des directives supplémentaires. Nous fournirons les détails à tous les bénéficiaires de financement le plus rapidement possible. Chaque situation est unique et sera évaluée au cas par cas.

Entretien des stèles funéraires

Les réparations des stèles funéraires de vétérans admissibles partout au pays pourraient être touchées par la pandémie de COVID‑19. Les stèles funéraires de vétérans admissibles sont celles mises en place par le gouvernement du Canada. Veuillez envoyer un courriel à l’adresse vac.cm-mc.acc@canada.ca comme d’habitude pour toute demande. Si vous communiquez avec nous, nous vous répondrons le plus rapidement possible.

Date de modification :