Tales of Animals in War - 2007 Edition - Let's Remember Together!

By Gandy The Dog – Club Leader

Left to Right: Squeaker, Bonfire Jr., Simone, Gandy, Ellie and Win

We've had a busy year in the Pause for Remembrance Clubhouse! The six of us have a new motto: Let's Remember Together! We also have new plans on how to remember the men and women who served in war and peace efforts.

Today, I arrived at the Clubhouse and found that it was as busy as a beehive! Ellie, the elephant, was knitting little dolls. Simone, the cat, and Win, the bear, were planting seeds in flower pots. Bonfire, Jr., the horse, was studying a picture of a war memorial, while high above Squeaker, the pigeon, was gliding around with a graceful white paper bird in his beak. I joined in the fun, and began carefully tracing my paw print onto green paper to make a wreath. What does this all mean? To find out, try singing our new Rockin' Remembrance Rhyme!

We love our new song. It helps us understand our big plans to be part of remembrance. To learn more, read through this special newspaper. Let us, the Remembrance Club members, explain what we will do to be part of Remembrance Day and Veterans' Week, November 5-11. Maybe we will encourage YOU to start a Remembrance Club or take part in Remembrance Day this year. So, Let's Remember Together!

Rockin' Remembrance Rhyme

Hey, we're the Pause for
Remembrance Club,
Come on everybody;
Come remember with us!

Music Note 1

Remember what?
You may ask,
People and animals in war
They did amazing tasks!

How do you remember if
You weren't even there?
Through stories and pictures
Hey, we can all share!

What can we do now,
It was so long ago?
Being a part of remembrance,
It's what we're here to show!

Music Note 2

My name's Win,
And I'm Simone,
We remember with tulips
And poppies, so come on!

My name's Gandy,
Wreaths are what I take,
To the cenotaph,
For Remembrance sake.

My name's Squeaker and
I fold paper cranes,
They're a symbol of peace
from violence, we refrain.

My name is Bonfire Jr. and
I visit memorials.
It's cool to do,
So why don't you!

Music Note 3

Here is Ellie,
She never forgets,
Knitting Izzy Dolls is
What she does best!

Let's remember together!
It's what we do,
Remembering is cool,
Will you remember too?

Did You Know? Children Did Their Part Too

Yarn

Young children were expected to help out during the First World War. Children knit socks for soldiers and helped around the house or farm.

Hee Haw!

Private P.T. Leachman with donkey mascot

Donkeys and pack mules were valuable in wartime because they could travel over rough ground where vehicles and even horses could not go. They carried loads of supplies weighing up to 91 kilograms at a speed of three kilometres per hour! They were also great mascots.

007 Feathered Spies!

pigeon

Watch out James Bond! Pigeons are well known as messengers in war. They were also spy photographers. In the First World War, pictures taken by cameras attached to pigeons helped soldiers decide what direction to go in a battle.

Sergeant Teddy Bear!

Teddy Bear

Lieutenant Lawrence Rogers always carried a little teddy bear with him through the trenches of the First World War. It was a gift from his 10-year old daughter who hoped it would keep him safe.

Flower Power!
Date modified:

Histoires d'animaux à la guerre - Édition 2007 - Souvenons-nous ensemble!

Par Gandi le chien Chef du club

Par Gandi le chien Chef du club De gauche à droite : Siffleur, Bonfire Jr., Simone, Gandi, Élie et Win.

L'année a été très chargée au Club du Souvenir! Les six membres ont un nouveau slogan : Souvenons-nous ensemble! Nous avons aussi de nouveaux projets sur la façon de commémorer les hommes et les femmes qui ont servi au cours de la guerre et des missions de maintien de la paix.

Aujourd'hui, je suis arrivé au club et je l'ai trouvé bourdonnant d'activités comme une ruche! Élie l'éléphant tricotait de petites poupées. Simone la chatte et Win l'ours plantaient des graines dans des pots de fleurs. Bonfire Jr. le cheval examinait une photographie d'un monument commémoratif de guerre, alors que, haut dans le ciel, Siffleur le pigeon planait, portant dans son bec un élégant oiseau de papier blanc. Donc, je me suis joint à ces activités amusantes et j'ai commencé à tracer le contour de ma patte sur du papier vert pour en faire une couronne de fleurs. Qu'est-ce que tout cela veut dire? Pour le savoir, essaie de chanter notre Rap du Souvenir!

Nous adorons notre nouvelle chanson. Elle aide à comprendre nos grands projets pour participer au Souvenir. Pour en savoir plus, lis ce journal et laisse-nous, les membres du Club du Souvenir, t'expliquer comment nous allons participer au jour du Souvenir et à la Semaine des anciens combattants, du 5 au 11 novembre. Peut-être que cette année, nous t'inspirerons à mettre sur pied un Club du Souvenir ou à prendre part au jour du Souvenir. Alors, Souvenons-nous ensemble!

Le « Rap » du Souvenir

Courbette!
Ici le Club du Souvenir
Tous avec vous
Pour y réfléchir!

note de musique 1

Se souvenir de quoi?
Vous vous le demandez,
De tous ceux à la guerre,
Pour nous protéger!

Comment se souvenir
Si on n'y a jamais été?
Avec des photos et des témoignages,
Nous pouvons partager!

Mais que faire?
Il y a si longtemps...
Participez,
Ça vous montrera comment!

note de musique 2

Mon nom est Win
Moi, c'est Simone
Tulipes et coquelicots
C'est ça être « number one »!

Mon nom est Gandi,
J'apporte des couronnes
Jusqu'au cénotaphe,
C'est comme ça que je redonne!

Moi c'est Siffleur
Je fabrique des grues en papier
C'est un symbole de paix
Car la violence, on en a assez!

Mon nom est Bonfire Jr.
Je visite des monuments
C'est super à tout coup
Alors pourquoi pas vous!

note de musique 3

Élie est ici
Jamais elle n'oublie
Ce qu'elle fait de plus réussi
C'est des poupées Izzy!

Au Souvenir
Nous voulons participer,
Se souvenir, c'est super
Se rappeler c'est s'engager!

Le saviez-vous ? Les enfants ont fait leur part

fil

Les jeunes enfants devaient aussi aider pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Ils tricotaient des chaussettes pour les soldats et aidaient dans la maison et à la ferme.

Hi-han!

Le soldat P. T. Leachman avec l'âne mascotte

Les ânes et les mulets étaient de grande valeur en période de guerre, car ils pouvaient se déplacer en terrain très difficile où les véhicules et même les chevaux ne pouvaient pas aller. Ils transportaient de grandes quantités de provisions, pouvant peser jusqu'à 91 kilos, à la vitesse de trois kilomètres heure! Ils faisaient également d'excellentes mascottes.

007 Espions à plumes!

pigeon

Attention, James Bond! Les pigeons sont des messagers réputés en temps de guerre. Ils étaient aussi des photographes-espions. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, les photos prises avec les appareils attachés aux pigeons aidaient les soldats à choisir quelle direction prendre dans une bataille.

Sergent Nounours!

petit ours en peluche

Le lieutenant Lawrence Rogers emportait toujours avec lui un petit ours en peluche dans les tranchées de la Première Guerre mondiale. C'était un cadeau de sa fille de 10 ans qui espérait que cet objet le protégerait.

Le pouvoir des fleurs
Date de modification :