Tales of Animals in War - 2008 Edition

Town Treasures

Remembrance Clubhouse

The Remembrance Clubhouse animals meet early one Saturday morning. They want to find out about the people in their hometown who have protected peace and freedom. Where in the world did they go? What did they see and do? The animals have lots of questions and they'd like to find some answers.

The Clubhouse animals decide to comb their town to find whatever they can that tells a story about the town's Veterans, those men and women who have gone to war or have worked for world peace. A town map will help them get started.

On the map, the animals see many buildings. There is the town hall, the police station, the hospital, the school, the community hall, the post office. . .

Bonfire Jr.

"Hey, everybody," says Bonfire Jr. the horse. "I was in the post office last week and I saw a collection of brightly coloured postcards that had been sent home by soldiers from wars far away. I'll go and take a closer look."

Ellie

"I was at the library yesterday," adds Ellie the elephant. "There are so many books and pictures there. I'm sure I'll find something about our Veterans."

Squeaker

Squeaker the pigeon thinks for a minute. "On the harbour front, there is an antique shop full of neat things," he says. "Why don't I look there?"

Win

"And I'll explore the museum on Main Street near the Cenotaph," offers Win the bear. "I saw a poster of a soldier out front the other day. I'd like to see what's inside."

Simone

"What about me?" Simone the cat asks. "Where can I look? I want to find something interesting too."

Gandy

"Maybe you can find some yard sales this morning," suggests Gandy the dog. "You never know what might be at a yard sale on a bright Saturday morning. I'll go to the Army Surplus store, just in case there's something terrific there."

The animals leave their clubhouse, each going in a different direction. The town's stories are waiting to be discovered and the animals are so excited that they can't help but run. It feels like they are on a treasure hunt. What will they find?

Courage Counts!
Date modified:

Histoires d'animaux à la guerre - Édition 2008

Les trésors de la ville

Club du Souvenir

Les animaux du Club du Souvenir se rencontrent de bonne heure un samedi matin. Ils veulent se renseigner sur les gens de leur ville qui ont protégé la paix et la liberté. Où sont-ils allés dans le monde? Qu'est-ce qu'ils ont vu et fait? Les animaux ont beaucoup de questions à poser et ils aimeraient trouver des réponses.

Les animaux du Club décident de parcourir la ville pour trouver des histoires au sujet des anciens combattants de la ville, ces hommes et ces femmes qui sont allés à la guerre ou qui ont travaillé à maintenir la paix dans le monde. Un plan de la ville les aidera à commencer leurs recherches.

Sur le plan, les animaux voient beaucoup d'édifices. Il y a l'hôtel de ville, le poste de police, l'hôpital, l'école, le centre communautaire, le bureau de poste...

Bonfire Jr.

« Salut tout le monde, dit Bonfire Jr. le cheval. Je suis allé au bureau de poste la semaine dernière et j'ai vu une collection de cartes postales de couleurs vives qui avaient été envoyées par des soldats servant dans des guerres lointaines. Je vais aller y faire un petit tour pour regarder ça de plus près. »

Ellie

« Moi, j'étais à la bibliothèque hier, ajoute Ellie l'éléphant. Il y a tellement de livres et d'images là-bas. Je suis sûre que je vais trouver quelque chose sur nos anciens combattants. »

Siffleur

Siffleur le pigeon réfléchit une minute. « Au port, il y a un magasin d'antiquités qui est plein de choses formidables, dit-il. Je pourrais aller y jeter un coup d'oeil. »

Win

« Et moi, je vais explorer le musée de la rue Principale, près du cénotaphe, ajoute l'ours Win. J'ai vu une affiche d'un soldat devant le musée l'autre jour et j'aimerais voir ce qu'il y a à l'intérieur. »

Simone

« Et moi?, demande Simone la chatte. Où est-ce que je pourrais regarder? Je voudrais trouver quelque chose d'intéressant moi aussi. »

Gandi

« Tu pourrais peut-être trouver des ventes de garage, suggère Gandi le chien. On ne sait jamais ce qu'on peut trouver dans une vente de garage par un beau samedi matin. Je vais aller au magasin de surplus militaire juste au cas où il y aurait quelque chose de bien. »

Les animaux quittent le Club, chacun dans une direction différente. Les histoires de la ville attendent d'être découvertes, et les animaux sont si excités qu'ils ne peuvent pas s'empêcher de courir. Ils ont l'impression de se lancer dans une chasse au trésor. Que vont-ils trouver?

Le courage compte!
Date de modification :