Tales of Animals in War - 2009 Edition

On a bright Saturday morning, the animal friends are gathered at the Remembrance Clubhouse. Everyone is anxious to share the stories of what they did during their summer vacations! They are so excited, they all talk at the same time.

Gandy the dog is very happy to see his friends so enthusiastic, but no one can hear anything above the chatter! He asks them if they would talk one at a time.

“Simone,” says Gandy, “what did you do this summer?”

“I went to France,” answers Simone the cat. “I learned so much about what Canadians did there during the Second World War.” 

Ellie the elephant adds, “I went to Europe too. I visited Belgium. Wait until you hear what I discovered there!”  Squeaker the pigeon chirps up.  “I travelled very far from home, too. I visited a friend serving in Afghanistan, a country which is presently at war.”

Bonfire Jr. the horse introduces his cousin from Italy, Valerio the mule. The others are so excited, they hadn’t noticed him in the Clubhouse! Everyone says hello and welcomes him. “Valerio came to visit this summer and shared stories about his grandfather.”

Win the bear adds, “I also stayed home and went fishing with my friend John, a Korean War Veteran. I was so interested in his stories, I just had to learn more!”

Clubhouse

Gandy is the last to speak. “I took part in a candlelight ceremony at Beaumont-Hamel, in France. It made me sad and proud at the same time. We should do something like that, my friends! We should organize our own remembrance ceremony!”

The Remembrance Clubhouse friends are thrilled about the idea and agree to use what they have learned during their summer vacations to plan a remembrance ceremony of their own. Read the following pages to discover what they did.

Simone's Story
Date modified:

Histoires d'animaux à la guerre - Édition 2009

Par un samedi matin ensoleillé, les animaux du Club du Souvenir sont réunis, impatients de raconter ce qu’ils ont fait pendant leurs vacances d’été! À un point tel qu’ils parlent tous en même temps.

Gandi le chien est très heureux de voir ses amis aussi enthousiastes, mais on ne peut rien comprendre à travers tout ce bruit. Il leur demande de parler un à la fois.

« Simone, dit-il, qu’as-tu fait cet été? »

« Je suis allée en France, répond Simone la chatte. J’ai beaucoup appris sur ce que les Canadiens ont fait dans ce pays, pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. »

Ellie l’éléphant ajoute : « Moi aussi j’ai visité l’Europe! J’ai visité la Belgique. Attendez de voir ce que j’y ai découvert! »

« Comme Simone et Ellie, je suis aussi allé loin de chez moi, dit Siffleur le pigeon. J’ai visité une amie en Afghanistan, un pays qui est présentement en guerre. »

Bonfire Jr. le cheval leur présente Valerio le mulet, son cousin d’Italie. Les autres étaient si excités qu’ils n’avaient pas remarqué sa présence au Club! Tout le monde le salue et lui souhaite la bienvenue. Bonfire Jr. explique : « Valerio est venu nous visiter cet été et nous a parlé de son grand-père qui a beaucoup aidé les soldats canadiens. »

Win l’ours prend la parole : « Moi, je suis restée ici et je suis allée à la pêche avec mon ami Jean, un vétéran de la guerre de Corée. Ses histoires sont si intéressantes qu’il me fallait en apprendre davantage! »

maison

Gandi est le dernier à s’exprimer : « J’ai participé à une cérémonie à la chandelle à Beaumont-Hamel, en France. La cérémonie m’a rendu à la fois triste et fier. Nous devrions faire quelque chose de ce genre, mes amis!  Nous devrions organiser une cérémonie du Souvenir! »

Les amis du Club du Souvenir trouvent l’idée très intéressante et conviennent d’utiliser ce qu’ils ont appris pendant leurs vacances d’été pour organiser leur propre cérémonie du Souvenir. Lis les pages suivantes pour en savoir davantage.

L'histoire de Simone
Date de modification :