Doctor Campbell Mellis Douglas

Doctor Campbell Mellis Douglas

Campbell Mellis Douglas was born in Grosse Île, Québec, on August 5, 1840, and educated at St. John's College and Laval University. He later attended the Edinburgh School of Medicine, where he received his Doctor of Medicine degree in 1861, and became a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons.

Douglas joined the British Medical Service in 1862 and was posted to the 2nd Battalion of the 24th Regiment of Foot at Rangoon (also known as Yangon), in Burma. By 1867, he had risen to the rank of major.

Douglas was serving as Assistant Surgeon in charge of a party of four privates of the 2/24th Regiment (now known as the South Wales Borderers), who were involved in a rescue at sea during a storm.

"For the very gallant and daring manner in which, on the 7th of May, 1867, they risked their lives in manning a boat and proceeding through a dangerous surf to the rescue of some of their comrades, who formed part of an expedition which had been sent to the Island of Little Andaman, by order of the Chief Commissioner of British Burmah, with the view of ascertaining the fate of the Commander and seven of the crew of the ship 'Assam Valley,' who had landed there, and were supposed to have been murdered by the natives.

The officer who commanded the troops on the occasion reports : 'About an hour later in the day, Dr. Douglas, 2nd Battalion, 24th Regiment, and the four Privates referred to, gallantly manning the second gig, made their way through the surf almost to the shore, but finding their boat was half filled with water, they retired. A second attempt made by Dr. Douglas and party proved successful, five of us being safely passed through the surf to the boats outside. A third and last trip got the whole of the party left on shore safe to the boats.

It is stated that Dr. Douglas accomplished these trips through the surf to the shore by no ordinary exertion. He stood in the bows of the boat, and worked her in an intrepid and seamanlike manner, cool to a degree, as if what he was then doing was an ordinary act of every-day life. The four Privates behaved in an equally cool and collected manner, rowing through the roughest surf when the slightest hesitation or want of pluck on the part of any one of them would have been attended by the gravest results. It is reported that seventeen officers and men were thus saved from what must otherwise have been a fearful risk, if not certainty of death."

- Victoria Cross citation, The London Gazette, December 17, 1867

The 24th Regiment Badge

Douglas later achieved the rank of lieutenant-colonel and served on the Northwest Frontier in India. He retired from the British military in 1882 and settled in Lakefield, Ontario, opening a private practice. He married and raised four children. He was recruited for service as a medical officer during the Northwest Rebellion in 1885, where he further distinguished himself, arriving in time to treat the wounded from the May 3 Battle of Fish Creek and caring for the soldiers wounded during the Battle of Batoche, on May 14.

Campbell Mellis Douglas retired to England in 1894, and died at Hollington, Somerset, on December 30, 1909.

For the actions which earned him the Victoria Cross, Douglas was also awarded the Silver Medal of the Royal Humane Society. His medals are in the collection of the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa, Ontario.

Date modified:

Docteur Campbell Mellis Douglas

Docteur Campbell Mellis Douglas

Campbell Mellis Douglas est né à Grosse Île (Québec) le 5 août 1840 et a étudié au St. John’s College et à l’Université Laval. Par la suite, il a fréquenté l’Edinburgh School of Medicine, où il a obtenu son diplôme de docteur en médecine en 1861, et est devenu Associé du Collège royal des chirurgiens.

Le docteur Douglas est entré dans le corps médical de l’armée britannique en 1862 et a été affecté au 2e Bataillon du 24e Régiment de Fantassins à Rangoon (aussi appelé Yangon), en Birmanie. En 1867, il occupait le poste de major.

Le docteur Douglas servait en tant qu’assistant-chirurgien en charge d’un groupe de quatre soldats du 2e Bataillon du 24e Régiment (maintenant connu sous le nom de South Wales Borderers), qui ont participé à un sauvetage en mer pendant une tempête.

« Pour la façon très vaillante et audacieuse par laquelle, le 7 mai 1867, ils ont risqué leur vie en manoeuvrant un bateau dans une mer agitée au secours de certains de leurs compagnons faisant partie d’une expédition aux Îles Andaman, sur l’ordre du commissaire en chef du Burmah britannique, afin de déterminer le sort du commandant et de sept des membres d’équipage du navire Assam Valley, duquel ils étaient débarqués, et qui étaient présumés morts, tués par les autochtones.

L’officier qui commandait les troupes à l’occasion rapporte ce qui suit : “ Environ une heure plus tard ce jour-là, le docteur Douglas, du 2e Bataillon du 24e Régiment, et les quatre soldats mentionnés, manoeuvrant avec vaillance la deuxième embarcation, traversèrent les flots et parvinrent presque au rivage mais, se rendant compte que leur bateau était à moitié submergé, durent retraiter. La deuxième tentative du docteur Douglas et de son groupe s’avéra fructueuse. Cinq d’entre nous furent emmenés en toute sécurité à travers les vagues et jusqu’aux embarcations qui nous attendaient au large. Après un troisième et dernier voyage, tous les membres du groupe restés sur le rivage se retrouvèrent sains et saufs à bord des bateaux ”.

On dit que le docteur Douglas a déployé un effort hors du commun pour affronter ainsi la mer et atteindre le rivage. Debout à la proue de l’embarcation, il a manoeuvré cette dernière avec témérité et une dextérité digne d’un marin, ne perdant jamais son sang-froid, comme s’il s’agissait d’une tâche banale dont il s’acquittait tous les jours. Les quatre soldats ont aussi fait preuve d’un grand calme, ramant dans une mer des plus agitées alors que la moindre hésitation ou le moindre geste de panique, de la part de l’un d’entre eux, pouvait avoir des conséquences désastreuses. On rapporte que dix-sept hommes et officiers furent ainsi sauvés d’une situation périlleuse, si ce n’est d’une mort certaine. »

- Citation pour la Croix de Victoria, parue dans The London Gazette, le 17 décembre 1867.

Médaille du Bataillon du 24e Régiment

Le docteur Douglas a été ultérieurement promu au grade de lieutenant-colonel et a servi sur la frontière nord-ouest de l’Inde. Il a quitté l’armée britannique en 1882 et s’est installé à Lakefield (Ontario), où il a ouvert un cabinet privé. Il s’est marié et a élevé quatre enfants. Il a été recruté pour le service en tant qu’officier médical pendant la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest de 1885, à l’occasion de laquelle il s’est distingué une fois de plus, débarquant juste à temps pour soigner les blessés de la bataille de Fish Creek (3 mai), et pour plus tard prodiguer des soins aux soldats blessés au cours de la bataille de Batoche, survenue le 14 mai.

Campbell Mellis Douglas s’est retiré en Angleterre en 1894, et est décédé à Hollington (Somerset) le 30 décembre 1909.

Pour les gestes qui lui ont valu la Croix de Victoria, Campbell Mellis Douglas a aussi mérité la médaille d’argent de la Royal Humane Society. Ses médailles font partie de la collection du Musée canadien de la guerre d’Ottawa (Ontario).

Date de modification :