Language selection

Benjamin Geary

Benjamin Geary was born in London, England, in 1891. When the First World War broke out in 1914, he enlisted in the British Army’s East Surrey Regiment and was soon sent to the Western Front.

Lieutenant Geary was in action at Hill 60 near Ypres, Belgium, when he earned the Victoria Cross while leading his men in the defense of a shell crater position that was coming under attack the night of April 20-21, 1915.

“…The crater was first exposed to very heavy artillery fire which broke down the defences, and afterwards throughout the night to repeated bomb attacks which filled it with dead and wounded. Each attack was, however, repulsed mainly owing to the splendid personal gallantry and example of Second Lieutenant Geary. At one time he used a rifle with great effect, at another threw hand grenades, and exposed himself with entire disregard to danger in order to see by the light of flares where the enemy were coming on. In the intervals between the attacks he spent his whole time arranging for the ammunition supply and for reinforcements…”

- Victoria Cross citation in The London Gazette, October 15, 1915

Lieutenant Benjamin Geary

Geary was shot in the head during the battle and he would be blinded in one eye. He was evacuated to England to recover and, remarkably, would return to active service. He was wounded again in 1918 and survived the war.

Geary became a clergyman after the conflict and served as a chaplain in the British Army before immigrating to Canada in the late 1920s. When the Second World War erupted in 1939, Geary enlisted in the Canadian Army where he would serve as a major. After the war he would go on to be the Sergeant-at-Arms of the Ontario Legislature for many years. He died in 1976 and is buried in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario.

Date modified:

Benjamin Geary

Benjamin Geary est né à Londres, en Angleterre, en 1891. Quand la Première Guerre mondiale a éclaté en 1914, il s'est enrôlé dans le East Surrey Regiment de l'Armée britannique et a été envoyé au front occidental peu de temps après.

Le lieutenant Geary a été décoré de la Croix de Victoria pour son action à la cote 60 près d'Ypres, en Belgique, où il a dirigé ses hommes pour défendre une position dans un trou d'obus, qui avait été attaquée dans la nuit du 20 au 21 avril 1915.

« … Le cratère a d'abord été exposé au feu incessant de l'artillerie lourde, brisant ainsi les défenses, puis a été soumis à des attaques à la bombe répétées tout au long de la nuit, ne faisant qu'augmenter le nombre de morts et de blessés qui s'y trouvaient. Chaque attaque a toutefois été repoussée principalement grâce à la splendide bravoure et à la conduite exemplaire du sous-lieutenant Geary. À un moment, il s'est servi très avantageusement d'un fusil; à un autre, il a lancé des grenades à main et s'est exposé en ne se souciant pas du danger pour pouvoir voir les fusées éclairantes et repérer ainsi d'où venait l'ennemi. Entre les attaques, il passa tout son temps à prendre des dispositions pour le ravitaillement en munitions et les renforts... »

- Citation pour la Croix de Victoria, parue dans The London Gazette, le 15 octobre 1915

Lieutenant Benjamin Geary

Benjamin Geary a été frappé par balle à la tête durant la bataille, perdant ainsi l’usage d’un œil. Il a été évacué vers l’Angleterre pour lui permettre de se rétablir et, remarquablement, il a repris le service actif. Il a été blessé de nouveau en 1918, mais a survécu à la guerre.

Benjamin Geary est devenu un membre du clergé après le conflit et a servi comme aumônier dans l’Armée britannique, avant d’immigrer au Canada vers la fin des années 1920. Quand la Seconde Guerre mondiale a éclaté en 1939, il s’est enrôlé dans l’Armée canadienne où il a servi en tant que major. Après la guerre, il a occupé le rôle de sergent d’armes de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario pendant de nombreuses années. Il est décédé en 1976 et est enterré à Niagara-on-the-Lake, en Ontario.

Date de modification :