Language selection

John Alexander Sinton

John Alexander Sinton
John Alexander Sinton

John Sinton was born in Victoria, British Columbia, on December 2, 1884, to parents who had emigrated to Canada from Ireland. His family returned to Ulster in 1890 when Sinton was still a young boy. Sinton went on to study medicine at Queen's University, Belfast, where he graduated with honours in 1908 before earning additional degrees at the University of Cambridge and the University of Liverpool. He joined the Indian Medical Service in 1911 and would be a captain in the Indian Army during the First World War.

On January 21, 1916, Sinton was attending to the wounded during a fierce battle near the Orah Ruins in Mesopotamia (modern day Iraq). Despite being injured himself, he continued his efforts as the battle raged around him.

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty. Although shot through both arms and through the side, he refused to go to hospital, and remained as long as daylight lasted, attending to his duties under very heavy fire. In three previous actions Captain Sinton displayed the utmost bravery.”

— Victoria Cross citation, The London Gazette, June 21, 1916

Sinton was mentioned in Dispatches four times during the same campaign, and was also awarded the Russian Order of St. George.

After the war, Sinton transferred to the civil branch of the Indian Medical Service and would go on to a distinguished career as an expert in tropical diseases. He enlisted again in the Second World War before retiring with the honourary rank of Brigadier in 1943, although he spent the rest of the war continuing his work as a consultant on combatting malaria in various tropical areas. Dr. Sinton died at his home in Cookstown, Northern Ireland, on March 25, 1956, and was buried there with full military honours at Claggan Presbyterian cemetery.

Date modified:

John Alexander Sinton

John Alexander Sinton
John Alexander Sinton

John Sinton est né à Victoria, en Colombie Britannique, le 2 décembre 1884 de parents immigrants venus d'Irlande. Sa famille est retournée en Ulster en 1890 alors que John était encore un jeune garçon. John Sinton a étudié la médecine à la Queen's University de Belfast où il a obtenu un diplôme avec distinction en 1908, puis il a acquis d'autres diplômes aux universités de Cambridge et de Liverpool. Il s'est joint au Service médical de l'Inde en 1911 et a été capitaine dans l'Armée indienne lors de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le 21 janvier 1916, Dr Sinton prenait soin des blessés pendant la violente bataille près des ruines d'Orah en Mésopotamie (aujourd'hui l'Iraq). Malgré le fait qu'il était lui-même blessé, il a continué à prodiguer les soins pendant que la bataille faisait rage autour de lui.

« Pour un courage des plus remarquables et un grand dévouement au devoir. Bien qu'il a été atteint aux deux bras et sur le côté, il refusa d'aller à l'hôpital, et il demeura aussi longtemps qu'il faisait jour, s'acquittant de ses obligations sous les tirs nourris de l'ennemi. Lors de trois événements précédents, le capitaine Sinton a démontré un extrême courage. »

— Citation pour la Croix de Victoria, parue dans The London Gazette, 21 juin 1916

Le Dr Sinton a été cité à l'ordre du jour quatre fois durant cette même campagne. De plus il s'est vu décerner l'Ordre russe de Saint-Georges.

Après la guerre, le Dr Sinton a été transféré au secteur civil du Service médical de l'Inde où il a eu une brillante carrière en tant que spécialiste des maladies tropicales. Il s'est enrôlé à nouveau lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et, au moment de sa retraite en 1943, il avait atteint le grade honoraire de brigadier. Il a cependant continué à prodiguer des conseils sur la lutte contre la malaria dans les différentes régions tropicales. Le Dr Sinton est décédé à sa résidence à Cookstown en Irlande du Nord le 25 mars 1956 et il a été enterré avec tous les honneurs militaires au cimetière presbytérien de Claggan.

Date de modification :