Able-Seaman William Neilson Edward Hall

Able-Seaman William Neilson Edward Hall

Able-Seaman William Neilson Edward Hall

William Neilson Edward Hall was born in Horton's Bluff, Nova Scotia, on April 28, 1827, the son of free Black slaves, rescued from slavery by a British frigate during the War of 1812. Hall attended the local school, then worked in the shipyards of Hantsport for several years, involved in the construction of wooden ships for the merchant marine. Before he was even eighteen years old, he had already been to some of the most important ports in the world, having joined the crew of a trading vessel.

In 1852, he left a promising career in the American merchant navy to enlist in the British Royal Navy. He served as Able Seaman on board HMS Rodney during the Crimean War, and was awarded the Turkish Crimea medal, as well as the British Crimea medal with the "Sevastopol" and "Inkerman" clasps. He was a member of the Naval Brigade, and assisted the ground forces by manning heavy guns.

Before the Indian Mutiny of 1857-8, he was appointed to "Captain of the Foretop" on board HMS Shannon. As the ship was on its way to China, in anticipation of a Chinese insurrection, it received orders to turn around and head to Calcutta (now Kolkata), India. Hall and a brigade of soldiers were to head for Lucknow, to relieve the British garrison which was under siege.

“Lieutenant (now Commander) Young, late Gunnery Officer of Her Majesty's ship 'Shannon,' and William Hall, 'Captain of the Foretop,' of that Vessel, were recommended by the late Captain Peel for the Victoria Cross, for their gallant conduct at a 24-Pounder Gun, brought up to the angle of the Shah Nujjiff, at Lucknow, on the 16th of November, 1857.”

- Victoria Cross citation, The London Gazette, 1 February 1859.

Hall was a member of one of four gun crews. He and his colleagues were attempting to breach the walls of the Shah Najaf mosque as rebels shot at them. The enemy concentrated its fire on the gun crews until Hall and an officer, Lieutenant James Young, were the only ones left. They continued to load and fire the last gun until the wall was breached, giving the soldiers of the British garrison enough room to scramble through.

Hall was the first Nova Scotian, and the first Black person, to receive the Victoria Cross. He retired from the service in 1876 with the rank of Petty Officer, First Class. He moved back to Nova Scotia and lived with his sisters on a farm in Avonport, overlooking the Minas Basin.

Hall lived in relative obscurity until 1901, when His Royal Highness, the Duke of Cornwall and York, the future King George V, visited Nova Scotia to unveil a monument. A parade was held in his honour, and Hall was in attendance, with his Victoria Cross and other service medals pinned to his chest. The Duke noticed this and enquired about the medals, opening a conversation between the two men.

William Neilson Edward Hall died in Hantsport on August 25, 1904, of paralysis. He was buried in an unmarked grave in Lockhart, without military honours. In 1937, a campaign was launched to have William Hall recognized by the Royal Canadian Legion, and it was not until 1954 that his remains were reinterred in the grounds of the Hantsport Baptist Church. A cairn was erected in his honour two years later by the Hantsport Branch of the Legion, which includes an enlarged bronze replica of his Victoria Cross and a plaque describing his actions and devotion to duty.

In 1967, Hall's medals were returned to Canada from England to be shown at Expo '67, in Montreal. For a number of years, his Victoria Cross and other medals were lent to the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa. Today, his medals are on display at the Nova Scotia Museum in Halifax.

Hall's Victoria Cross was worn on a blue ribbon, to represent the Royal Navy, as it was awarded with such a ribbon colour since its inception in 1856, whereas the Victoria Cross with crimson ribbon was awarded to members of the armed forces. Since 1918, however, all Victoria Crosses are worn on the crimson ribbon.

Date modified:

Matelot de 2e classe William Neilson Edward Hall

Matelot de 2<sup>e</sup> classe William Neilson Edward Hall

Matelot de 2e classe William Neilson Edward Hall

William Neilson Edward Hall est né à Horton’s Bluff (Nouvelle-Écosse) le 28 avril 1827. Il était le fils d’esclaves noirs libérés de l’esclavage par une frégate britannique pendant la guerre de 1812. Il a fréquenté l’école locale, puis travaillé sur les chantiers maritimes de Hantsport pendant plusieurs années, participant à la construction de navires en bois pour la marine marchande. Membre de l’équipage d’un navire de commerce, il n’avait pas dix-huit ans que déjà il avait fait escale aux ports les plus importants de ce monde.

En 1852, il tourna le dos à une carrière prometteuse au sein de la marine marchande américaine afin de s’enrôler dans la Marine royale britannique. Il servit comme matelot de 2e classe à bord du HMS Rodney pendant la guerre de Crimée, et se vit décerner la Médaille turque de Crimée, ainsi que la Médaille britannique de Crimée, accompagnées des agrafes Sébastopol et Inkerman. Il était membre de la brigade navale et apporta son aide aux forces terrestres à titre de canonnier.

Avant la mutinerie en Inde de 1857-1858, il fut nommé « capitaine de la hune de misaine » et servit en cette qualité à bord du HMS Shannon. Alors que le navire se dirigeait vers la Chine, en prévision d’une insurrection chinoise, on reçu l’ordre de faire demi-tour et de mettre le cap sur Calcutta (aujourd’hui Kolkata), en Inde. William Neilson Edward Hall et une brigade de soldats devaient se rendre à Lucknow afin de relever la garnison britannique assiégée.

« Feu le Capitaine Peel a recommandé que la Croix de Victoria soit décernée à feu le Lieutenant (maintenant commandant) Young, officier d’artillerie navale du navire de Sa Majesté Shannon et à William Hall, “ capitaine de la hune de misaine ” de ce même navire, pour la vaillance dont ils ont fait preuve dans le maniement d’un canon de 24 livres dirigé à l’ angle de la mosquée Shah Nujjiff, à Lucknow, le 16 novembre 1857. »

- Citation pour la Croix de Victoria, parue dans The London Gazette, le 1er février 1859.

William Neilson Edward Hall faisait partie de l’une des quatre équipes du canon. Lui est ses compagnons tentaient d’ouvrir une brèche dans les murs de la mosquée Shah Najaf pendant que des rebelles tiraient sur eux. L’ennemi concentra son tir sur les équipes du canon jusqu’à ce qu’il ne reste plus que Hall et un officier, le Lieutenant James Young. Ces derniers continuèrent de charger le dernier canon et de tirer jusqu’à ce une brèche s’ouvre dans le mur, brèche par laquelle les soldats de la garnison britannique purent se faufiler.

William Neilson Edward Hall fut le premier Néo-Écossais et le premier Noir à recevoir la Croix de Victoria. Lorsqu’il quitta le service, en 1876, il était maître de 1re classe. Il revint s’établir en Nouvelle-Écosse et vécut avec ses soeurs sur une ferme d’Avonport donnant sur le bassin Minas.

William Neilson Edward Hall vécut dans une relative obscurité jusqu’en 1901. Cette année-là, en effet, Son Altesse Royale le Duc de Cornwall et de York, le futur Roi George V, se rendit en Nouvelle-Écosse pour procéder à l’inauguration d’un monument. Un défilé eut lieu en son honneur et Hall y assista, sa Croix de Victoria et ses autres médailles militaires épinglées à la poitrine. Le Duc le remarqua, se renseigna au sujet des médailles et engagea la conversation avec lui.

William Neilson Edward Hall est décédé de la paralysie à Hantsport le 25 août 1904. Il fut inhumé à Lockart, dans une tombe sans inscription, et sans cérémonie militaire. En 1937, on lança une campagne en vue de la reconnaissance de William Hall par la Légion royale canadienne, et ce n’est qu’en 1954 que ses restes furent transférés et inhumés sur les terres de l’Église baptiste de Hantsport. Deux ans plus tard, la filiale de la Légion de Hantsport éleva en son honneur un cairn flanqué d’une réplique en bronze de sa Croix de Victoria, ainsi que d’une plaque décrivant ses actions et honorant son sens du devoir.

En 1967, l’Angleterre retourna les médailles de William Hall au Canada afin qu’on puisse les présenter au public dans le cadre de l’Exposition universelle de Montréal. Pendant un certain nombre d’années, sa Croix de Victoria et ses autres médailles furent prêtées au Musée canadien de la guerre d’Ottawa. Aujourd’hui, ces médailles sont exposées au Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse à Halifax.

La Croix de Victoria de William Hall se portait sur un ruban bleu qui représentait la Marine royale, puisque cette croix était remise avec un ruban d’une telle couleur depuis sa création en 1856, alors que la Croix de Victoria accompagnée d’un ruban pourpre était décernée aux membres des forces armées. Toutefois, depuis 1918, toutes les Croix de Victoria se portent sur le ruban pourpre.

Date de modification :