National Monument to Canada’s Mission in Afghanistan

Canada joined the United Nations-mandated mission in Afghanistan in October 2001 and continued to support the multinational military efforts there until March 2014. More than 40,000 Canadian women and men in uniform—as well as hundreds of civilians and government officials—served in Afghanistan. Many Canadians died as a result of their service in Afghanistan, including Canadian Armed Forces members, a diplomat, foreign aid workers, a government contractor and a journalist. Thousands of Canadian Armed Forces members were also injured—physically and psychologically—during the mission.

The National Monument to Canada's Mission in Afghanistan will recognize the commitment and sacrifice of Canadians who served in Afghanistan, and the support provided to them by Canadians at home.

Consulting with Canadians

We thank all those who participated in the consultations about design considerations for the National Monument to Canada’s Mission in Afghanistan.

Two-phase consultations

In January and February 2020, VAC gathered feedback from stakeholders, including the Canadian public, on design considerations for the Monument. Consultations sought input on three key components of the Monument’s design: the monument objectives, visitor experience and form and character.

Consultations took place in two phases: online and in-person consultations. In January, an online consultation hosted by PubliVate was launched to engage a broad audience of key stakeholders and Canadians, through sustained social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and targeted outreach to key audiences:

  • Federal government departments whose staff participated in the whole-of-government mission;
  • VAC Ministerial Commemoration Advisory Group;
  • VAC Stakeholder Network (65 organizations);
  • Canadian Armed Forces members;
  • Families of the Fallen;
  • Family members of Veterans of the Mission;
  • VAC employees;
  • Indigenous stakeholders, (i.e., Aboriginal Veterans Autochtones); and
  • the 100,000 users of My VAC Account, who include Veterans, CAF and RCMP members, and their family members.

The online consultation resulted in 4,056 responses from across the country with significant participation from key stakeholder groups (e.g., Veterans and family members).

Two in-person consultation meetings were held in February 2020, facilitated by Delaney + Associates. At the first meeting, the 13 participants represented the VAC Ministerial Commemoration Advisory Group as well as representatives from organizations that took part in the whole-of-government mission. The 12 participants in the second meeting represented the Algonquin of Pikwàkanagàn First Nation and the Algonquin of Kitigan Zibi Anishinaabe First Nation on whose traditional territory the Monument will be located.

What we heard

The feedback received through the online and in-person consultation has helped inform the Monument design guidelines, which will guide future design teams in developing their concepts. Here’s an overview of the findings:

  • A clear consensus that the raison-d’être of the Monument should be to express Canada’s deep gratitude for the sacrifices made by Canadians who served in Afghanistan.
  • In terms of visitor experience, the findings show almost equal support for the Monument to serve as a place for personal reflection and contemplation and as an educational tool that inspires visitors of all ages to learn more about the Mission.
  • The three options for the form and character for the Monument ranked closely. The preferred option was a Monument as an ensemble of components that encourages movement through the monument site. An impressive monument set in an open space ranked next, while a human-scale monument set in a more intimate environment ranked third.
  • Many respondents (37%) provided feedback in the open-ended question section. The most common theme reflected was that “sacrifice” should be a focus of the Monument. This included sacrifices made by those serving in Afghanistan, as well as sacrifices made by family members and others who stayed home. There was also a call for the Monument to honour all those who served in Afghanistan, including non-CAF members.

Consultation findings report

Read the full consultation findings report. This input will help us create a monument so future generations have an opportunity to learn more about Canada’s Mission in Afghanistan.

Future public consultation

As the project moves forward, you’ll have another opportunity to provide your input. Public consultations on the final design concepts will take place before the winning Monument design is selected and announced.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan

Le Canada s’est joint à la mission mandatée par les Nations Unies en Afghanistan en octobre 2001 et a continué d’appuyer les efforts militaires multinationaux jusqu’en mars 2014. Plus de 40 000 hommes et femmes du Canada en uniforme – ainsi que des centaines de civils et représentants gouvernementaux – ont servi en Afghanistan. De nombreux Canadiens sont morts alors qu’ils étaient en service en Afghanistan, notamment des membres des Forces armées canadiennes, un diplomate, des travailleurs humanitaires étrangers, un entrepreneur gouvernemental et un journaliste. Des milliers de membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont également été blessés – physiquement et psychologiquement – au cours de la mission.

Le Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan reconnaîtra l’engagement et le sacrifice des Canadiens qui ont servi en Afghanistan, ainsi que le soutien que leur ont apporté les Canadiens au pays.

Consultation des Canadiens

Nous remercions tous ceux et celles qui ont participé aux consultations sur les facteurs à prendre en considération pour la conception du Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan.

Consultations en deux phases

En janvier et en février 2020, ACC a demandé l’avis des intervenants, y compris la population canadienne, sur les facteurs à prendre en considération pour la conception du Monument. Les consultations visaient à obtenir des commentaires sur trois éléments clés de la conception du Monument : les objectifs du Monument, l’expérience des visiteurs ainsi que la forme et le caractère.

Les consultations ont eu lieu en deux phases : en ligne et en personne. En janvier, une consultation en ligne gérée par PubliVate a été lancée pour attirer un large éventail d’intervenants clés et de Canadiens, grâce à des publications continues sur les réseaux sociaux (Facebook, Twitter et Instagram) ainsi qu’à une campagne ciblée auprès des groupes suivants :

  • Les ministères du gouvernement fédéral dont le personnel a pris part à la mission pangouvernementale;
  • Le Groupe consultatif ministériel d’ACC sur la commémoration;
  • Le réseau d’intervenants d’ACC (65 organisations);
  • Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes;
  • Les membres de la famille de soldats morts au combat;
  • Les membres de la famille de vétérans ayant pris part à la mission;
  • Les employés d’ACC;
  • Les intervenants autochtones (c’est-à-dire Aboriginal Veterans Autochtones);
  • Les 100 000 utilisateurs de Mon dossier ACC, ce qui comprend des vétérans, des membres des FAC et de la GRC ainsi que des membres de leur famille.

À la suite de la consultation en ligne, 4 056 réponses ont été reçues dont une grande partie provenait des principaux groupes d’intervenants (vétérans et membres de leur famille) de partout au pays.

Deux séances de consultation en personne, animées par Delaney + Associates, ont été tenues en février 2020. Lors de la première séance, les 13 participants représentaient le Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration d’ACC ainsi que les organisations qui ont pris part à la mission pangouvernementale. Les 12 participants de la seconde séance représentaient la Première Nation des Algonquins de Pikwàkanagàn et la Première Nation des Algonquins de Kitigan Zibi Anishinaabe, car le Monument sera érigé sur leur territoire traditionnel.

Ce que nous avons entendu

Les commentaires recueillis grâce aux consultations en ligne et en personne ont contribué à l’établissement de lignes directrices relatives à la conception du monument, qui guideront les futures équipes de conception dans l’élaboration de leurs concepts. Voici un aperçu des résultats :

  • Les résultats indiquent clairement que le monument devrait avoir comme raison d’être d’exprimer la profonde gratitude du Canada pour le sacrifice des Canadiens qui ont servi en Afghanistan.
  • Au chapitre de l’expérience pour les visiteurs, les résultats démontrent un appui presque égal afin que le monument serve à la fois de lieu de réflexion personnelle et de contemplation et d’outil éducatif servant de source d’inspiration pour que les visiteurs de tous les âges en apprennent davantage au sujet de la mission.
  • Les trois options pour la forme et le caractère du monument ont obtenu des résultats similaires. L’option privilégiée est un ensemble d’éléments qui invitent au mouvement sur le site du monument. La deuxième place revient au concept de monument impressionnant érigé dans un espace ouvert, tandis qu’un monument à taille humaine érigé dans un environnement plus intime obtient la troisième place.
  • De nombreux répondants (37 %) ont répondu à la question ouverte qui visait à recueillir d’autres commentaires. Le thème le plus souvent évoqué est que le monument devrait mettre l’accent sur la notion de « sacrifice » : celui de ceux qui ont servi en Afghanistan, mais aussi celui des membres de leur famille et de tous ceux qui sont restés au pays. Les répondants ont aussi indiqué que le monument devrait rendre hommage à tous ceux qui ont pris part à la mission en Afghanistan, et non seulement aux membres des Forces armées canadiennes.

Rapport sur les résultats des consultations

Vous pouvez consulter le rapport intégral sur les résultats des consultations. Les commentaires fournis nous aideront à créer un monument afin que les générations futures puissent apprendre à mieux connaître la mission du Canada en Afghanistan.

Future consultation publique

À mesure que le projet avancera, vous aurez une autre occasion de fournir vos commentaires. Des consultations publiques sur les concepts définitifs auront lieu avant la sélection et l’annonce du concept retenu pour le monument.

Date de modification :