Location Details

Canadians buried in Hannover Cemetery:

152 result(s) matching your search
Name Date of Birth Date of Death
Allen, Deborah Kay 1955
Anderson, Dso, E. H. 1957
Appleby, S. V. 1957
Arsenault, A. 1955
Benight, E. C. 1955
Benson, C. D. 1954
Bourget, J. P. R. 1957
Bowden, Holly 1957
Brideau, S. J. 1956
Brown, G. 1957
Bryan, John Steven 1958 1958
Calliou, J. W. 1952
Campbell, R. E. 1954
Campbell, L. A. 1954
Campbell, Ivy Grace 1957
Carleton, Catherine Lucille 1956
Casson, J. W. 1952
Castonguay, Michelle Bethena 1956
Charbonneau, J. 1954
Cherry, Cheryl Anne 1956
Chisholm, Infant Child Of Cfn 1958
Church, Maureen Roberta 1956 1957
Claveau, D. 1955
Connolly, Sharon 1958
Corbet, Marion 1956

Hannover Cemetery

Photo by Trevor Heavens

Canada has played an integral role in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) since its inception on 4 April 1949. Canada’s commitment to NATO resulted in the stationing of a brigade group in Germany. Although the Canadian Forces had been in Germany for some time, in 1953, with the establishment of new camps, wives and children were allowed to join their husbands and fathers.

As with any community there were marriages, births, and, unfortunately deaths. Canadians serving with NATO were not exempt from any of these facts of life, the joy nor the sorrow.

27 Brigade was garrisoned in the area of Hannover. The Canadian Brigade was in the British occupied zone of Germany and came under command of the British Army of the Rhine, and the Hannover Military Cemetery became the last resting place of 85 post war military and 67 dependant wives and children. In addition, prior to the establishment of a Canadian Section in the Werl Cemetery, post war military and dependants from the Werl area were buried in Hannover

The Hannover Military Cemetery is located adjacent to the Hannover War Cemetery and, on behalf of the Canadian and British Governments, The Commonwealth War Graves Commission maintains the post-war service and dependants graves located in the Hannover Military Cemetery.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Détails concernant l'emplacement

Canadiens inhumés dans le cimetière Hannover

152 résultat(s) pour votre recherche
Nom Date de naissance Date de décès
Allen, Deborah Kay 1955
Anderson, Dso, E. H. 1957
Appleby, S. V. 1957
Arsenault, A. 1955
Benight, E. C. 1955
Benson, C. D. 1954
Bourget, J. P. R. 1957
Bowden, Holly 1957
Brideau, S. J. 1956
Brown, G. 1957
Bryan, John Steven 1958 1958
Calliou, J. W. 1952
Campbell, R. E. 1954
Campbell, L. A. 1954
Campbell, Ivy Grace 1957
Carleton, Catherine Lucille 1956
Casson, J. W. 1952
Castonguay, Michelle Bethena 1956
Charbonneau, J. 1954
Cherry, Cheryl Anne 1956
Chisholm, Infant Child Of Cfn 1958
Church, Maureen Roberta 1956 1957
Claveau, D. 1955
Connolly, Sharon 1958
Corbet, Marion 1956

Cimetière Hannover

Photo by Trevor Heavens

Le Canada joue un rôle important au sein de l’Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN) depuis sa formation, le 4 avril 1949. En raison de cet engagement du Canada envers l’OTAN, un groupe-brigade a été stationné en Allemagne. Les Forces canadiennes se trouvaient en Allemagne depuis déjà quelques temps quand, en 1953, de nouveaux camps ont été établis, permettant aux femmes et aux enfants des militaires d’aller les rejoindre.

Comme dans toute autre communauté, des mariages, des naissances et, malheureusement, des décès sont survenus dans ces camps. Les Canadiens au service de l’OTAN ont vécu ces événements normaux de la vie et les émotions qu’ils entraînent : joies et peines.

La 27e Brigade canadienne a été stationnée dans une garnison dans la région de Hannover, située dans la zone de l’Allemagne occupée par les Britanniques, sous le commandement de l’Armée britannique du Rhin. Le cimetière militaire de Hannover est ainsi devenu le dernier lieu de repos de 85 militaires d’après-guerre et de 67 femmes et enfants, membres de leurs familles. De plus, avant l’établissement d’une section canadienne dans le cimetière de Werl, les militaires d’après-guerre et leurs familles stationnés dans la région de Werl étaient enterrés à Hannover.

Le cimetière militaire de Hannover est adjacent au cimetière de guerre de Hannover. La Commonwealth War Graves Commission entretient les tombes d’après-guerre des militaires canadiens et de leurs familles du cimetière militaire de Hannover pour le compte des gouvernements canadien et britannique.

Date de modification :