United Nations Disengagement Observer Force Memorial

On November 6, 1980, Private Perry Porter, a signalman serving in the Golan Heights with the United Nations Disengagement Observer Force (UNDOF), was killed when the antenna tower on which he was working collapsed. In 1984, the UNDOF Memorial was erected in his memory. Roger Ladouceur, a member of the crew who was working on the tower when Private Porter was killed, returned to the Golan Heights in 1984 and was instrumental in the memorial’s construction.

The memorial is made of concrete and stones from the Golan Heights region. A pair of lineman's spurs is mounted in front. Over the years, the memorial has been refurbished several times and now honours the memory of all the Canadian soldiers who have lost their lives while serving on United Nations peacekeeping missions in the area. The plaques on either side of the memorial list the names of Canadians that passed away during the following operations: United Nations Emergency Force I (UNEF I) on one side, and UNEF II, United Nations Truce Supervision Organization (UNTSO), and UNDOF (on the other side), with Private Porter on the front also representing UNDOF.

Located centrally near the Camp Ziouani entrance, all Canadian soldiers saluted the memorial as a mark of respect and reverence, whenever they passed by it. After Canada’s decision to reduce its troop contribution to UNDOF, the memorial was delicately extracted in preparation for its 26 kilometre trek to Camp Faouar, in Syria on July 20, 2005. The memorial was again placed in a prominent resting spot near Club 17, the all-ranks mess used by Canadians posted to Camp Faouar.

In 2006, plans were finalized to move the entire Canadian contingent back to Canada and it was decided that the monument should be repatriated as well, to allow Canadians to properly honour and maintain it. The monument was removed from Camp Faouar on February 24, 2006.

Since arriving at Canadian Forces Base Kingston, a new concrete pad has been poured for the monument and it has been placed in front of the Military Communications and Electronics Museum. Each year there is a ceremony at the memorial led by 1 Line Squadron, Canadian Forces Joint Signal Regiment, which descends from Private Perry's last unit.

  • Memorial of concrete and stones from the Golan Heights region.  A pair of lineman's spurs is mounted in front.
  • Delicate manoeuvre during disassembly in Camp Ziouani.
  • Successful move to Camp Faouar.
  • Plaque listing names of Canadians that passed away while serving on United Nations Emergency Force
  • Plaque listing names of Canadians that passed away while serving on United Nations Emergency Force.
Date modified:

Monument commémoratif de la Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement

Le 6 novembre 1980, le Soldat Perry Porter, signaleur en mission sur les hauteurs du Golan au sein de la Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement (FNUOD), a perdu la vie lors de l'effondrement du pylône d'antenne sur lequel il se trouvait. En 1984, le monument commémoratif de la FNUOD a été érigé en sa mémoire. Roger Ladouceur, un des membres de l'équipe qui travaillait sur le pylône lorsque le Soldat Porter a été tué, est retourné sur les hauteurs du Golan en 1984 et a joué un rôle clé dans l'érection du monument.

Le monument est constitué de béton et de pierres provenant de la région du plateau du Golan. Une paire d'éperons de monteur de lignes a été installée à l'avant. Au fil des ans, le monument a fait l'objet de nombreux travaux et il honore la mémoire de tous les soldats canadiens qui ont perdu la vie en participant à des missions de la paix des Nations Unies dans la région. Les plaques commémoratives des deux côtés du monument portent les noms des Canadiens qui ont trouvé la mort lors des opérations suivantes : Force d'urgence des Nations Unies I (FUNU I) d'un côté, et (FUNU) II, Organisation des Nations Unies Chargé de la Surveillance de la Trêve (ONUST) et FNUOD de l'autre côté, avec le Soldat Porter à l'avant qui représente également la FNUOD.

Tous les soldats canadiens saluaient le monument en signe de respect et de révérence toutes les fois qu'ils passaient devant, à l'entrée du camp Ziouani. Lorsque le Canada a décidé de réduire ses troupes affectées à la FNUOD, on a procédé à une opération délicate : l'extraction du monument en prévision de son périple de 26 kilomètres vers le camp Faouar, en Syrie, le 20 juin 2005. Là également le monument a été placé dans un endroit bien en vue près du Club 17, le mess intégré des Canadiens en poste au camp Faouar.

En 2006, on a mis la dernière main aux plans visant le rapatriement de tout le contingent canadien et on a alors décidé que le monument devrait également être déménagé au Canada de manière à ce que les Canadiens puissent lui rendre les honneurs qu'il mérite et l'entretenir comme il se doit. Le monument a été sorti du camp Faouar le 24 février 2006.

Un nouveau socle de béton a été coulé pour le monument qui a été placé devant le Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires depuis son arrivée à la Base des Forces canadiennes Kingston. Chaque année, une cérémonie y est tenue sous la direction de 1er Escadron de poseurs de lignes du Régiment des transmissions interarmées des Forces canadiennes, un descendant de la dernière unité dont le Soldat Perry a fait partie.

  • Photo : Avec la permission du Régiment des transmissions interarmées des Forces canadiennes.
  • Manœuvre délicate de démontage du monument au camp Ziouani.
  • Déménagement réussi au camp Faouar.
  • Photos : Avec la permission du Régiment des transmissions interarmées des Forces canadiennes.
  • Photos : Avec la permission du Régiment des transmissions interarmées des Forces canadiennes.
Date de modification :