Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Ian Willoughby Bazalgette

In memory of
Squadron Leader Pilot
Ian Willoughby Bazalgette
August 4, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number:
118131
Age:
25
Force:
Air Force
Unit:
Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve
Division:
635 Squadron
Citation(s):
Victoria Cross The following particulars are given in the London Gazette of 14th August 1945:-On 4th August 1944 Squadron Leader Bazalgette was "Master bomber" of a Pathfinder Squadron detailed to mark an important target for the main bomber force. When nearing the target his Lancaster was seriously damaged and set on fire by anti-aircraft fire; the bomb aimer was badly wounded. As the deputy "Master bomber" had already been shot down, the success of the attack depended on Squadron Leader Bazalgette who despite appalling conditions in his burning aircraft pressed on gallantly, bombed, and marked the target accurately. That the attack was successful was due to his magnificent effort. The condition of the aircraft had by now become so bad that Squadron Leader Bazalgette ordered his crew to leave the aircraft by parachute. He attempted the almost hopeless task of landing the crippled and blazing aircraft to save the wounded bomb aimer, and one air-gunner, who had been overcome by fumes. With superb skill and taking great care to avoid a French village, be brought the aircraft safely down. Unfortunately it then exploded and this gallant officer and his two comrades perished. His heroic sacrifice marked the climax of a long career of operations against the enemy. He always chose the more dangerous and exacting roles. His courage and devotion to duty were beyond praise. Distinguished Flying Cross, Award effective 1 July 1943 as per London Gazette dated 9 July 1943, "This officer has at all times displayed the greatest keenness for operational flying. He has taken part in many sorties and attacked heavily defended targets such as Duisburg, Berlin, Essen and Turin. His gallantry and devotion to duty have at all times been exceptional and his record commands the respect of all of his squadron."

Additional Information:

Born:
October 19, 1918 Calgary, Alberta

Ian Willoughby Bazalgette was the son of Charles Ian and Marion Edith (née Bunn) Bazalgette. His family moved to Toronto, Ontario in 1923 where received his early education at Balmy Beach School. Then his family moved to England and his education was completed at Rokeby, the Downs, Wimbledon and by private tutor. In September 1940 he received a commission in the Royal Artillery and the following year he transferred to the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve. In the autumn of 1942 he was posted to No. 115 Squadron, R.A.F. for flying duties. In September 1943 he went to an operational training unit as an instructor and in April 1944 he was posted to No. 635 (Pathfinder) Squadron as a flight commander with the rank of Squadron Leader. He earned a Distinguished Flying Cross in Italy on 9 July 1943. In 1949 a mountain in Jasper National Park was named after him. Squadron-Leader Bazalgette is buried in the military plot in Senantes Churchyard, Oise, France about twelve miles west-north-west of Beauvais. His medal is on display at the R.A.F. Hendon Museum in England. During the summer of 1990 at the Nanton Lancaster Museum in Nanton, Alberta, a plaque was unveiled by Mrs. Ethel Broderick, Ian Bazalgette's sister, and the markings of the Bazalgette aircraft (F2-T) were unveiled by Chuck Godfrey DFC, his wireless operator on the VC flight, and George Turner, his flight engineer. Flypasts included an armed forces CF-5 and an Aurora from No. 407 Squadron in Comox. Hamish Mahaddie, an RAF legend who arranged for Ian to join the Pathfinders and Larry Melling DFC, a pilot who flew with "Baz" on No. 635 Squadron were special guest speakers at the banquet. Master of Ceremonies was Duke Warren DFC.

Commemorated on Page 245 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
SENANTES CHURCHYARD ; Oise, France
Grave Reference:
N/A
Location:
Senantes is a village 20 kilometres west-north-west of Beauvais, and 8 kilometres east of Gournay-en-Bray. The village lies on the road from Beauvais to Gournay-en-Bray. In the north-east corner of the churchyard behind the local War Memorial is the grave of one airman from the United KIngdom.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Ian Bazalgette – Ian Bazalgette Victoria Cross
Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Group Photo – Ian Bazalgette Victoria Cross
Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Photo of Ian W. Bazalgette
  • Photo of Victoria Cross – Ian Bazalgette Victoria Cross
Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Ian Bazagette School – This school was named after Ian Bazagette, who won the Victoria Cross during the Second World War.  The school is located in Calgary, Alberta.
  • Cenotaph – Barrie Military Park, Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients, Cenotaph
  • Gravemarker – IAN WILLOUGHBY BAZALGETTE  VC, DFC

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Ian Willoughby Bazalgette

En mémoire

Chef d'escadron, pilote Ian Willoughby Bazalgette

4 août 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

118131

Âge :

25

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve

Division :

635 Squadron

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Croix de Victoria Extrait du The London Gazette, le 17 août 1945 «Le 4 août 1944, le commandant d'aviation Bazalgette était «bombardier-en-chef» d'une escadrille d'éclaireurs (Pathfinder) qui avait pour mission de marquer une cible importante à Trossy St-Maximin pour l'escadrille de bombardiers qui suivit. Alors qu'il s'approchait de la cible, son Lancaster fut attaqué par une volée de tir anti-aérien. Les deux moteurs droits furent complètement détruits et des incendies éclatèrent dans le fuselage de l'avion. Le viseur de lance-bombes fut gravement blessé. Comme le sous-chef bombardier avait déjà été abattu, le succès de l'opération reposait maintenant sur le chef d'escadrille Bazalgette qui évalua la situation. En dépit de la condition pitoyable de son avion, il continua vers la cible et la marqua avec précision. C¿est grâce à son effort magnifique que l'attaque fut un succèès. Immédiatement après le lancement des bombes, le Lancaster piqua presque hors de contrôle. C'est avec beaucoup d'efforts et d'expérience que le chef d'escadrille Bazalgette put reprendre contrôle de son avion, mais le moteur gauche tomba en panne et tout le côté droit de l'avion prit feu. Le commandant d'aviation Bazalgette lutta bravement pour sauver son avion et son équipage. Un mitrailleur fut incommodé par les émanations. Le commandant d'aviation Bazalgette ordonna à ceux de son équipage qui le pouvaient de sauter en parachutes. Il resta alors aux commandes et tenta de poser l'avion en flammes dans un dernier effort pour sauver la vie du viseur de bombes et du mitrailleur. Avec une maîtrise incroyable et ayant pris soin d'éviter un petit village avoisinant, il se posa sans incident. Malheureusement, quelques instants plus tard, l'avion explosa et ce brave officier ainsi que ses deux camarades périrent. Son sacrifice héroïque fut le point culminant d'une longue bataille contre l'ennemi.» Croix de services distinguées, decernée le 1 juillet 1943 London

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 19 octobre 1918
Calgary, Alberta

Ian Willoughby Bazalgette est le fils de Charles Ian et Marion Edith Bunn Bazalgette. En 1923, sa famille déménagea à Toronto, en Ontario, où il fit ses études primaires à l'école Balmy Beach avant de partir pour l'Angleterre et avec ses parents qui retournaient dans leur pays natal. Il compléta ses études à Rokeby, The Downs, Wimbledon, et avec des professeurs particuliers. En septembre 1940, il fut nommé à un commandement dans la Royal Artillery et l'année suivante il fut transféré à la Réserve des Volontaires de la Royal Air Force. À l'automne de 1942, il fut affecté à l'escadrille no 115 de la Royal Air Force et en septembre 1943, il devint instructeur avant de rejoindre l'escadrille n o 635 (Pathfinder) en avril 1944 à titre de commandant d'escadrille avec le grade de commandant d'aviation. Il obtint la Distinguished Flying Cross en Italie le 9 juillet 1943. En 1949, une montagne fut nommée en son honneur dans le parc national Jasper. Le commandant d'aviation Bazalgette est inhumé dans le lot militaire du cimetière de Senantes, Oise, France, à quelques douze milles à l'ouest-nord-ouest de Beauvais. Sa Croix de Victoria est en montre au musée Hendon de la R.A.F. en Angleterre. À l'été 1990, une plaque a été dévoilée par Mme Ethel Broderick, la soeur de Ian Bazalgette, et l'immatriculation de l'aéronef de M. Bazalgette (F2-T) a été dévoilée par Chuck Godfrey, DFC, son radiotélégraphiste (Escadrille de construction verticale), et George Turner, son mécanicien naviguant. Un CF-5 des Forces armées et un Aurora de l'Escadron no 407ont participé à un défilé aérien, à Comox. Hamish Mahaddie, une véritable légende de l'AR qui permis à Ian de se joindre aux Éclaireurs, et Larry Melling, DFC, un pilote qui vola avec «Baz» au sein de l'Escadron no 635, étaient des conférenciers d'honneur au banquet. Le maître de cérémonie était Duke Warren, DFC.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 245 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

SENANTES CHURCHYARD
Oise France

Information sur la sépulture :

N/A

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Ian W. Bazalgette
  • Photo de Ian Bazalgette
  • Photo de Ian Bazalgette
  • Photo de Groupe
  • Photo de Ian W. Bazalgette
  • Photo de Croix de Victoria
  • Cénotaphe
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Village commémoratif – Senantes
  • Monument
  • Monument – Site funéraire
  • Stèle funéraire
  • Pierre tombale – grave site

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :