Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Edmund De Wind

In memory of
Second Lieutenant
Edmund De Wind
March 21, 1918

Military Service:

Service Number:
79152
Age:
34
Force:
Army
Unit:
Royal Irish Rifles
Division:
15th
Citation(s):
The London Gazette," dated May 13, 1919, records the following:
For most conspicuous bravery and self-sacrifice on the 21st March, 1918, at the Race Course Redoubt, near Grugies. For seven hours he held this most important post, and though twice wounded and practically single-handed, he maintained his position until another section could be got to his help. On two occasions, with two N.C.O.'s only, he got out on top under heavy machine gun and rifle fire, and cleared the enemy out of the trench, killing many. He continued to repel attack after attack until he was mortally wounded and collapsed. His valour, self-sacrifice and example were of the highest order. Victoria Cross
Honours and Awards:
Victoria Cross

Additional Information:

Son of the late Arthur Hughes De Wind, C.E., and Margaret Jane De Wind, of "Kinvara", Comber, Co. Down, Ireland. He had served in the 31st Battalion, Canadian Overseas Expeditionary Force, and was appointed to his Commission in the Imperial Army on September 26, 1917.

Commemorated on Page 586 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Edmund De Wind is a recipient of the Victoria Cross.
Complete list of Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
POZIERES MEMORIAL ; Somme, France
Grave Reference:
N/A
Location:
Pozieres is a village some 6 kilometres north-east of the town of Albert. The POZIERES MEMORIAL encloses Pozieres British Cemetery which is a little south-west of the village on the north side of the main road, D929, from Albert to Pozieres. On the road frontage is an open arcade terminated by small buildings and broken in the middle by the entrance and gates. Along the sides and the back, stone tablets are fixed in the stone rubble walls bearing the names of the dead grouped under their Regiments. The POZIERES MEMORIAL relates to the period of crisis in March and April 1918 when the Fifth Army was driven back by overwhelming numbers across the former Somme battlefields, and to the succeeding period of four months during which there was built up, behind the new front, the army which on the 8 August 1918 began the Advance to Victory. The POZIERES MEMORIAL commemorates over 14,000 casualties of the United Kingdom and 300 of the South African Forces who have no known grave and who fell in France during the Fifth Army area retreat on the Somme from 21 March to 7 August 1918. The Corps and Regiments most largely represented are The Rifle Brigade with over 600 names, The Durham Light Infantry with approximately 600 names, the Machine Gun corps with over 500, The Manchester Regiment with approximately 500 and The Royal Horse and Royal Field Artillery with over 400 names. It should be added that the POZIERES MEMORIAL, though it stands in a Cemetery of largely Australian graves, does not bear any Australian names. The Australian soldiers who fell in France and whose graves are not known are commemorated on the National Memorial at Villers-Bretonneux.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Edmund De Wind – Second Lieutenant Edmund De Wind had served with the Queen's Own Rifles of Canada for a period of six months prior to his enlistment on November 16, 1914 in the Canadian Overseas Expeditionary Force at the start of the First World War.  He is claimed as a Victoria Cross winner of the Regiment on this basis. This photo is taken from the regimental history (1960).
  • Photo 2 of Edmund De Wind
  • Photo of Edmund de Wind – From Vol 1 of Letters From The Front By The Canadian Bank Of Commerce.
  • Attestation Paper (front) – Second Lieutenant Edmund De Wind enlisted at Edmonton, Alberta, on November 16, 1914.
  • Attestation Paper (back)
  • Service Records – Casualty Form - Active Service
  • Military Discharge
  • Medals – Photo is of E. De Wind's VC display, in the Royal Ulster Rifles Regimental Museum.
  • Cenotaph – Barrie Military Park, Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients, Cenotaph
  • Inscription – Memorial inscription honouring 2 Lieutenant De Wind at Pozieres British Cemetery.

Photo courtesy of Craig B.Cameron

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Edmund De Wind

En mémoire

Sous-lieutenant Edmund De Wind

21 mars 1918

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

79152

Âge :

34

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Royal Irish Rifles

Division :

15th

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Extrait d'un article du London Gazette, daté du 13 mai 1919 :[Traduction]
Pour sa bravoure et son dévouement exceptionnels, le 21 mars 1918, au champ de courses de Redoubt, près de Grugies. Il parvint, pratiquement seul et malgré deux blessures, à tenir cette position importante jusqu'à ce qu'une autre section ne vienne en renfort. Par deux fois, aidé seulement par deux sous-officiers, il sortit sous un feu nourri de fusils et de mitrailleuses et expulsa de la tranchée les soldats ennemis, qu'il tua en grand nombre. Il continua de repousser les attaques successives jusqu'à ce qu'il soit blessé et s'évanouisse. Son courage, son dévouement et son exemple sont des plus exceptionnels. Croix de Victoria

Décorations et titres honorifiques :

Croix de Victoria

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de feu Arthur Hughes De Wind, C.E., et de Margaret Jane De Wind, de « Kinvara », Comber, Co. Down (Irlande). Il a servi dans le 31e Bataillon du Corps expéditionnaire canadien d'outre-mer; il a été nommé à sa Commission dans l'Armée impériale le 26 septembre 1917.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 586 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Edmund De Wind est récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria. Liste complète des récipiendaires canadiens de la Croix de Victoria

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

MONUMENT COMMÉMORATIF DE POZIÈRES
Somme France

Information sur la sépulture :

N/A

Emplacement :

Pozières est un village à quelque 6 kilomètres au nord-est de la ville d'Albert. Le MONUMENT COMMÉMORATIF DE POZIÈRES comprend le cimetière britannique de Pozières à quelque distance au sud-ouest du village du côté nord de la route principale D929 reliant Albert à Pozières. Sur la contre-allée se trouve une arcade ouverte qui se termine par des petits bâtiments. Elle est séparée au milieu par l'entrée et les barrières. Sur les côtés et à l'arrière, des plaques de pierre sont attachées aux murs de blocailles portant le nom des morts regroupés par régiments. Le MONUMENT COMMÉMORATIF DE POZIÈRES raconte la période de crise en mars et en avril 1918 lorsque la Cinquième armée recula devant un nombre écrasant de soldats dans les anciens champs de bataille de la Somme ainsi que celle de quatre mois qui a suivi durant laquelle l'armée s'est construite derrière le nouveau front et où, le 8 août 1918, elle commença sa marche vers la victoire. Le MONUMENT COMMÉMORATIF DE POZIÈRES rappelle la mémoire de plus de 14 000 morts provenant du Royaume-Uni et de 300 provenant de l'armée sud- africaine qui ne possèdent pas de tombe connue et qui sont tombés en France au cours de la retraite de la Cinquième armée de la Somme du 21 mars au 7 août 1918. Les corps et les régiments les plus grandement représentés sont la brigade des carabiniers avec plus de 600 noms, le régiment de l'infanterie légère de Durham avec environ 600 noms, le corps des mitrailleurs avec plus de 500 noms, le régiment de Manchester avec environ 500 noms, la cavalerie royale et l'artillerie de campagne royale avec plus de 400 noms. À noter que le MONUMENT COMMÉMORATIF DE POZIÈRES, bien qu'il se trouve dans un cimetière largement remplis de tombes australiennes, ne porte aucun nom australien. Les soldats australiens qui tombèrent en France et dont les tombes ne sont pas connues sont commémorés au monument national de Villers-Bretonneux.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Edmund De Wind – Le sous-lieutenant Edmund De Wind a servi avec les Queen's Own Rifles du Canada pendant six mois avant de s'engager dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien d'outre-mer, le 16 novembre 1914 au tout début de la Première guerre mondiale. Ses actes lui ont valu d'être décoré de la Croix de Victoria. Cette photo a été prise de l'histoire régimentaire (1960).
  • 2e photo de Edmond De Wind
  • Photo de Edmund de Wind
  • Feuille d¿engagement (face) – Le sous-lieutenant Edmund De Wind s'est enrôlé à Edmonton, Alberta, le 16 novembre, 1914.
  • Feuille d¿engagement (dos)
  • États de service – Feuille de blessures - service actif
  • Libération
  • Médailles – Photographie de la présentation consacrée à E. De Wind VC au Royal Ulster Rifles Regimental Museum.
  • Cénotaphe
  • inscription – Inscription commémorative du Lt De Wind au cimetière britannique de Pozières.

Avec la permission de Craig B.Cameron
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Inscription

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :