Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Cyril George Hutchings

In memory of:

Flying Officer Cyril George Hutchings

September 29, 1944

Military Service


Service Number:

J/16294

Age:

22

Force:

Air Force

Unit:

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division:

401 Sqdn.

Additional Information


Son of George and Margaret (Foster) Hutchings. Cyril was educated at Elrose Public School, Humboldt High School and University of Saskatchewan. He enlisted in February 1941. In 1942, he was attached to the 421 RAF Squadron, before being transferred to North Africa with the 93rd Squadron. He completed a tour of operations in North Africa and Sicily and returned to Canada. In July 1944, he volunteered for a second tour and was attached to 401 Squadron in France. He was reported missing after Air Operations, in which he was seen going to the aid of a squadron of Typhoons, being attacked by enemy aircraft. His body was found by a Dutch farmer, who buried him in his field. He was later moved to the Reichswald Forest War Cemetery. Cyrils' Squadron leader wrote of him, "he was regarded as an experienced, dependable and utterly fearless pilot." Submitted by his sister, Elaine Riches of Victoria, British Columbia

Commemorated on Page 341 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

REICHSWALD FOREST WAR CEMETERY
Germany

Grave Reference:

2. D. 18.

Location:

The REICHSWALD FOREST WAR CEMETERY is located 5 km south west of Kleve. From Kleve the cemetery is located, using the Hoffmannallee from the Town Centre, which becomes the Materbornerallee. This road enters Reichswald Forest and becomes the Grunewaldstrasse. Follow direction Gennep, entering Reichswald Forest the cemetery is situated 500 metres on the left. Alternatively from the motorway 57, take exit Kleve/Goch, which leads onto the 9 N road in the direction towards Kleve. After 3 km turn left on to the 504 direction Kranenburg. Reichswald cemetery is clearly signposted on the 504 at cross roads Grunewald. REICHSWALD FOREST WAR CEMETERY is situated on the Grunewald Strasse direction Kleve on the right, 3 km from cross roads Grunewald.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Grave marker– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondence– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Document– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondence– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondence– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Photo of Cyril George Hutchings– Flying Officer Cyril George Hutchings, J/16294
  • Photo of Cyril Hutchings– Hutchings, Cyril George - Flying Officer. Born 6th January, 1922, at Swift Current, Sask. Educated at Eltose Public School, Humboldt High School and University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon. Entered the service of the Bank 17th July, 1939. Served at North Battleford, Eston and Lacadena, Sask. Enlisted 17th February, 1941, from Eston in R.C.A.F. Sergeant Pilot in October, 1941; Pilot Officer in December, 1942; Flying Officer in July, 1943. Trained at Regina, Sask., Brandon, Man., and High River and Macleod, Alta. Overseas in January, 1942. Attached Spitfire Squadron, R.A.F., with a tour of operations in Mediterranean area and Northwest Europe. Returned to Canada in October, 1943, on instructional duties. Again overseas in June, 1944, taking special training on latest Spitfire fighters, and with action over Southern France.  Reported missing after air operations near Arnhem, Western Germany, on 29th September, 1944, when his Squadron, returning from an attack, went to the assistance of Typhoons surrounded by between thirty and forty Messerschmitts. He did not return nor did he radio distress. Officially presumed dead 3rd July, 1945.  His Squadron Leader wrote: "He was regarded as an experienced, dependable and utterly fearless pilot."  From a memorial booklet prepared by the Canadian Bank of Commerce.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Cyril George Hutchings

En mémoire

Lieutenant d'aviation Cyril George Hutchings

29 septembre 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

J/16294

Âge :

22

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division :

401 Sqdn.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de George et de Margaret (Foster) Hutchings, Cyril étudia à l'école publique Elrose, à l'école secondaire Humboldt et à l'université de la Saskatchewan. Il s'enrôla en février 1941. En 1942, il fut affecté à l'escadrille 421 de la RAF , avant d'être muté dans l'escadrille 93 en Afrique du Nord. Il termina une première série de vols opérationnels en Afrique du Nord et en Sicile, avant de rentrer au Canada. En juillet 1944, il se porta pour une seconde série de vols et fut affecté à l'escadrille 401, en France. Il fut porté disparu au terme d'opérations aériennes quand il fut attaqué par un avion ennemi en allant prêter main forte à une escadrille de Typhoons. Son corps fut découvert par un fermier néerlandais, qui l'enterra dans son champ. La dépouille fut inhumée par la suite dans le Cimetière de guerre de la forêt de Reichswald. Le chef de son escadrille écrivit : « il était considéré comme un pilote d'expérience courageux et fiable. » Présenté par sa soeur, Elaine Riche, de Victoria, Colombie-Britannique.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 341 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE DE GUERRE DE LA FORÊT DE REICHSWALD
Allemagne

Information sur la sépulture :

2. D. 18.

Emplacement :

Le CIMETIÈRE DE GUERRE DE REICHSWALD FOREST est situé à 5 kilomètres au sud-ouest de Kleve. En partant de Kleve, empruntez la Hoffmannallee à partir du centre ville, route qui devient la Materbornerallee. Cette route mène vers Reichsald Forest et change pour la Grunewaldstrasse. Suivez les directions pour Gennep, en empruntant Reichswald Forest et le cimetière se trouve à 500 mètres sur la gauche. Il existe une autre alternative : À partir de l'autoroute 57, prenez la sortie pour Kleve/Goch, laquelle vous mènera sur la 9N en direction de Kleve. Après avoir parcouru 3 kilomètres, tournez sur la 504 en direction de Kranenburg. Le cimetière de Reichswald est clairement annoncé sur la 504 au carrefour Grunewald. Le CIMETIÈRE DE GUERRE DE REICHSWALD FOREST est situé sur la Grunewald Strasse en direction de Kleve à droite, à 3 kilomètre du carrefour Grunewald. Vous trouverez ci-joint une feuille d'information sur le cimetière et son emplacement que vous pourriez trouver intéressant.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Pierre tombale – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondance – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Document – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondance – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondance – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Photo de Cyril George Hutchings – Lieutenant d'aviation Cyril George Hutchings, J/16294
  • Photo de Cyril Hutchings – Hutchings, Cyril George - Lieutenant d'aviation. Il est né le 6 janvier 1922 à Swift Current (Sask.). Il a fait ses études à l'école publique d'Eltose, à l'école secondaire d'Humboldt ainsi qu'à l'Université de Saskatchewan à Saskatoon. Il a commencé à travailler pour la banque le 17 juillet 1939. Il a été employé à North Battleford, Eston et Lacadena dans sa province natale. Il s'est enrôlé dans l'ARC le 17 février 1941 à Eston. Il a été promu sergent-pilote en octobre 1941, sous-lieutenant d'aviation en décembre 1942, et lieutenant d'aviation en juillet 1943. Il a reçu sa formation à Regina (Sask.), Brandon (Man.) ainsi qu'à High River et Macleod en Alberta. Il a été envoyé outre-mer en janvier 1942. Affecté à l'escadron Spitfire de la R.A.F., il a participé à différentes opérations en Méditerranée et dans le nord-ouest de l'Europe. Il a été rappelé au Canada en octobre 1943 pour servir d'instructeur. Renvoyé outre-mer en juin 1944, il a reçu une formation spéciale sur les derniers modèles de chasseurs Spitfire et a combattu dans le sud de la France. Il a été porté disparu le 29 septembre 1944 après des opérations aériennes en Allemagne, près d'Arnhem, son escadron, de retour d'une attaque, s'étant porté à la rescousse d'appareils Typhoon entourés par trente à quarante  Messerschmitt. Il n'est pas revenu à la base et n'a pas non plus lancé de message de détresse. Il a été officiellement réputé décédé le 3 juillet 1945. Son chef d'escadron a écrit ce qui suit :« Il était considéré comme un pilote expérimenté sur qui on pouvait compter et qui n'avait peur de rien. » Tiré d'une brochure-souvenir préparée par le Banque Canadienne de Commerce.

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :