Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Robert Gordon Hunter

In memory of:

Captain Robert Gordon Hunter

July 26, 1944

Military Service


Age:

31

Force:

Army

Unit:

Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, R.C.I.C.

Additional Information


Son of William and Christina Hunter, of Grimsby Beach, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 341 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

VII. H. 6.

Location:

This cemetery lies on the west side of the main road from Caen to Falaise (route N158) and just north of the village of Cintheaux. Bretteville-sur-Laize is a village and commune in the department of the Calvados, some 16 kilometres south of Caen. The village of Bretteville lies 3 kilometres south-west of the Cemetery. Buried here are those who died during the later stages of the battle of Normandy, the capture of Caen and the thrust southwards (led initially by the 4th Canadian and 1st Polish Armoured Divisions), to close the Falaise Gap, and thus seal off the German divisions fighting desperately to escape being trapped west of the Seine. Almost every unit of Canadian 2nd Corps is represented in the Cemetery. There are about 3,000 allied forces casualties of the Second World War commemorated in this site.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Robert Gordon Hunter 1– Additional Information courtesy of Annemarie Bruseker:
Captain Gordon Hunter graduated from OAC in 1936 and was appointed immediately to the staff there.  At the time of his enlistment he was assistant in agricultural economics at the college.  He entered the army in December 1940 and went overseas in 1941 with the rank of Lieutenant.  In England he conducted IQ tests at a holding unit for a time and joined the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry as a platoon commander after Dieppe.  Later he was promoted to the rank of Captain and became second in command of a company.
  • Photo of Robert Gordon Hunter 2– Additional Information courtesy of Annemarie Bruseker:
When His Majesty King George VI inspected the regiment Captain Hunter commanded the guard of honour.  He was president of the officers' mess of the regiment from 1943 until the time the unit went to France.
Born at Grimsby, August 25, 1913, he attended school there before going to OAC.  Besides his parents he leaves one brother, Lieutenant Fred C. Hunter, who returned from overseas recently after two years' service.  He had been with the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry also.
  • Photo of Robert Gordon Hunter 3– Additional Information courtesy of Annemarie Bruseker:
From a letter of consolation written to his mother: 
Gord was commanding the Company during an attack by our battalion on a small French village which was taken and held.  We were ordered to dig in and prepare for counter-attacks.  During this, the Company came under heavy enemy shellfire.  One round landed right on the edge of the trench Gord was occupying and he was instantly killed by shrapnel in the back.  During the whole operation he was a great source of confidence and encouragement to all by his fine leadership and consideration.  As always, the men in the Company had the greatest respect and admiration for him.  Your loss is appreciated and shared by us who knew him so well.
  • Newspaper Clipping– Source: Hamilton Spectator August 2, 1944

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Robert Gordon Hunter

En mémoire

Capitaine Robert Gordon Hunter

26 juillet 1944

Service militaire


Âge :

31

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, R.C.I.C.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de William et Christina Hunter, de Grimsby Beach, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 341 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

VII. H. 6.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière se trouve du côté ouest de la route principale entre Caen et Falaise (N158) au nord du village de Cintheaux. Bretteville-sur-Laize, village et commune du Calvados, est à environ 16 km au sud de Caen. Le village de Bretteville est à 3 km au sud-ouest du cimetière. Les personnes inhumées ici sont mortes au cours des derniers assauts en Normandie, de la capture de Caen et de l'offensive vers le sud (menée d'abord par la 4e Division blindée canadienne et la 1re Division blindée polonaise) en vue de fermer la trouée de Falaise et d'encercler ainsi les divisions allemandes qui menaient une lutte désespérée pour éviter d'être coincées à l'ouest de la Seine. La plupart des unités du 2e Corps d'armée canadien sont représentées dans le cimetière. Environ 3000 victimes de la guerre de 1939-1945 sont commémorées ici.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Robert Gordon Hunter 1 – Le capitaine Gordon Hunter a obtenu son diplôme du Collège d'agriculture de l'Ontario en 1936, et il a aussitôt été embauché par l'établissement. Au moment de son enrôlement, en décembre 1940, il était adjoint en économie agricole au collège. Il a été envoyé outre-mer en 1941 avec le grade de lieutenant. En Angleterre, il a, pendant un certain temps, fait subir des tests de QI dans une unité de transit. Après Dieppe, il a été affecté au RHLI [Royal Hamilton Light Infantry] (WR) avec le grade de commandant de peloton. Il a été promu plus tard capitaine et est devenu commandant adjoint d'une compagnie.
  • Photo de Robert Gordon Hunter 2 – Le capitaine Hunter commandait la garde d'honneur lorsque Sa Majesté le roi George VI a passé en revue son régiment. Il a été président du mess des officiers de son régiment à partir de 1943, jusqu'au départ de son unité pour la France.
Né à Grimsby, le 25 août 1913, il y a fréquenté l'école avant d'aller étudier au Collège d'agriculture de l'Ontario. Il laisse dans le deuil, outre ses parents, son frère le lieutenant Fred C. Hunter, qui est revenu récemment au pays après avoir servi deux ans en Europe au sein du RHLI (WR).
  • Photo de Robert Gordon Hunter 3 – Extrait d'une lettre de réconfort envoyée à sa mère : 
Gord commandait la compagnie lorsque notre bataillon a attaqué, pris et tenu un petit village français.  On nous a ordonné de creuser des tranchées et de nous préparer à des contre-attaques. C'est alors que la compagnie a essuyé des tirs d'obus nourris. Une salve est tombée juste au bord de la tranchée où se trouvait Gord. Il a été tué instantanément par un obus dans le dos. Durant toute l'opération, son leadership et sa sollicitude ont été pour tous une source d'encouragement et de confiance. Les hommes de la compagnie avaient beaucoup de respect et d'admiration pour lui. Nous qui le connaissions si bien pleurons aujourd'hui cette perte immense.
  • Coupure de presse – Source: Hamilton Spectator du 2 août, 1944

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :