Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Eugene Thomas Hurshman

In memory of:

Corporal Eugene Thomas Hurshman

May 30, 1944

Military Service


Service Number:

A/4007

Age:

23

Force:

Army

Unit:

The Royal Canadian Regiment

Additional Information


Son of William Andrew Hurshman, and of Florence Hurshman, of Lantz Siding, Hants Co., Nova Scotia.

Commemorated on Page 341 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

V. B. 7.

Location:

CASSINO WAR CEMETERY lies in the Commune of Cassino, Province of Frosinone, 139 kilometres south-east of Rome. It is situated in the valley of the River Liri immediately below the southern spurs of the central Apennines. Above it at a distance of one kilometre is the dominating hill on which stands the Abbey of Monte Cassino, founded by St. Benedict in the year 529 on the site of an ancient temple of Apollo. If approaching the CASSINO WAR CEMETERY by road, follow the Highway A2 from Rome to Naples and leave it at the Cassino exit. After passing the pay booths, follow the sign for Cassino. At the traffic lights, after a block of flats, turn right towards the locality of S. Angelo and the CWGC signs will then be seen.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Biography
  • Photo of Eugene Hurshman– This is a picture taken of my Great Uncle the day before he left  his home town of Dutch Settlement, Nova Scotia, to go over seas.
  • Photo of Eugene Hurshman– This picture is taken days before Uncle Gene left for the war. The baby in this picture is my mother, Edna Jean (Hurshman) Hiltz. She was born May 7, 1944 and was named after Uncle Gene's finance (Edna) and Uncle Gene.
  • Grave Marker– I have been told that this picture was sent home to my Great Grandmother. To my knowledge no member of our family has been able to visit Uncle Gene's grave to pay our respects. My grandfather has always want to but finances made it impossible. It is my wish that one day I will be able to visit him. Grandfather has passed away and I know these two brothers have been reunited on the otherside.
  • Photo of Eugene Hurshman– A-4007 Cpl.Eugene Thomas Hurshman was born September 12th, 1920 in Carrolls Corner, NS. Eugene was the proud son of William Andrew Hurshman and Florence (her friends called her Flossy) Hurshman of Lantz Siding, Hants Co., NS. Cpl. Hurshman came from a family of 6 siblings. Eugene’s brothers were William (Bill) L. Hurshman, and Henry Allan Hurshman, who went by Allan. Eugene’s sisters were Vera Anesley Cameron, Della I. Hare, and Georgina Elizabeth Ingraham.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Eugene Thomas Hurshman

En mémoire

Caporal Eugene Thomas Hurshman

30 mai 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

A/4007

Âge :

23

Force :

Armée

Unité :

The Royal Canadian Regiment

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de William Andrew Hurshman, et de Florence Hurshman, de Lantz Siding, Hants Co., Nouvelle-Écosse..

Inscription commémorative sur la page 341 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

V. B. 7.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière de guerre de Cassino est dans la commune de Cassino, dans la province de Frosinone, à 139 kilomètres au sud-est de Rome. Il est situé dans la vallée de la Liri immédiatement en-dessous des éperons se trouvant au sud de l'Apennin central. Plus bas, à un kilomètre, se dresse la colline où est érigée l'abbaye du mont Cassin, fondée par St. Benedict en l'an 529 sur le site d'un ancien temple d'Apollon. Si vous empruntez la route pour vous rendre au cimetière de guerre de Cassino, suivez l'autoroute A2 allant de Rome à Naples et prenez la sortie pour Cassino. Après avoir dépassé les postes de péage, suivez le panneau indiquant Cassino. Aux feux de circulation, tournez à droite après un immeuble à appartements en direction de la localité de San Angelo et vous apercevrez alors les panneaux de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Biographie
  • Photo de Eugene Hurshman – Voici une photo de mon grand-oncle prise le jour avant qu'il ne quitte son village de Dutch Settlement, en Nouvelle-Écosse, pour se rendre outre-mer.
  • Photo de Eugene Hurshman – Cette photo a été prise quelques jours avant que l'oncle Gene quitte pour aller à la guerre. Le bébé est ma mère, Edna Jean (Hurshman) Hiltz. Elle est née le 7 mai 1944 et a été nommée Edna, comme la fiancée de de mon oncle Gene.
  • Pierre Tombale – Cette photo aurait été envoyée à la maison de mon arrière-grand-mère. À ma connaissance, aucun membre de la famille n'a jusqu'à ce jour fait le voyage pour se recueillir sur la tombe d'oncle Gene. Mon grand-père a toujours voulu y aller mais n'avait pas les moyens de faire le voyage. Je souhaite pouvoir y aller un jour. Mon grand-père est maintenant décédé; il est allé rejoindre son frère, mon grand-oncle, de l'autre côté.
  • Photo de Eugene Hurshman

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :