Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Donald Lawrence Greene

In memory of:

Private Donald Lawrence Greene

October 28, 1944

Military Service


Service Number:

H/16145

Age:

30

Force:

Army

Unit:

Lake Superior Regiment (Motor), R.C.I.C.

Division:

(Motor), R

Additional Information


Son of Lawrence A. and Katherine Greene, of Port Arthur, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 607 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

12. H. 8.

Location:

BERGEN-OP-ZOOM CANADIAN WAR CEMETERY is located 39 Km north west of Antwerp and 19 Km after passing the Border into the Netherlands. The N11 connects Antwerp to Bergen op Zoom via Kapellen, Pulte, Hoogerheide and finally on to Bergen op Zoom. On reaching Bergen op Zoom railway station turn right onto the Stationsplein and after 200 M turn right onto the Bredastraat. Follow this road for 500 M where it becomes Wouwsestraatweg and carry straight on for 2.5 kilometres. The street name has now changed to the Ruytershoveweg and the BERGEN-OP-ZOOM CANADIAN WAR CEMETERY can be found on the left of this street. Steps into cemetery (not suitable for wheelchairs).

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Memorial– Private Donald Lawrence Greene is also commemorated on the Lake Superior Regiment (Motor) Memorial located in Hillcrest Park, Thunder Bay, ON … May 2018 ... photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Memorial– Lake Superior Regiment (Motor) Memorial located in Hillcrest Park, Thunder Bay, ON … May 2018 ... photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Photo of Donald Greene– Pte. Donald Greene, Lake Superior Regiment (motor), killed in action in Holland.
  Photo courtesy of Hillcrest High School - "Stairway of Honour" project.  Eighty-four large portraits of students from the Second World War line both sides of the 55 stairs leading up to the school's auditorium. Most of the portraits have the rank and year of death of the student. Some portraits explain how the soldier died, but many were MIA and presumed dead. Each year, teachers from the grade 10 Canadian History course take their students to the stairway around November 11th to complete a project that deals directly with the pictures on the Stairway of Honour.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Donald Lawrence Greene

En mémoire

Soldat Donald Lawrence Greene

28 octobre 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

H/16145

Âge :

30

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Lake Superior Regiment (Motor), R.C.I.C.

Division :

(Motor), R

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Lawrence A. et Katherine Greene, de Port Arthur, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 607 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

12. H. 8.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen op Zoom est à 39 kilomètres au nord-ouest d'Anvers et à 19 kilomètres de la frontière, après que vous avez entré aux Pays-Bas. La route N11 relie Anvers à Bergen op Zoom en passant par Kapellen, Pulte et Hoogerheide. En arrivant à la gare de Bergen op Zoom, tournez à droite sur la Stationsplein. Faites 200 mètres puis tournez à droite sur la Bredastraat. Suivez cette route sur une distance de 500 mètres. Elle deviendra alors la Wouwsestraatweg. Poursuivez votre route sur 2,5 kilomètres. Le nom de la rue devient alors Ruytershoveweg et le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen op Zoom se trouve du côté gauche de cette rue. Un escalier mène au cimetière (On ne peut y avoir accès en fauteuil roulant).

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de Donald Greene – Sdt Donald Greene, Lake Superior Regiment (motorisé), tué au combat en Hollande.

La photo a été offerte par l'école secondaire Hillcrest - projet  « Stairway of Honour ». Sur les deux côtés des 55 marches qui mènent à l'auditorium de l'école, vous pouvez voir 84 grands portraits d'étudiants de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La plupart de ces portraits indiquent le rang et l'année du décès de l'étudiant. Certains expliquent de quelle façon le soldat est mort, mais plusieurs d'entre eux sont disparus au combat et présumés morts. Chaque année, aux alentours du 11 novembre, les enseignants du cours d'histoire de la 10e année se rendent avec leurs élèves à l'escalier pour compléter un projet qui traite directement des photos sur le Stairway of Honour.

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :